If you're new to steem or steemit and you aren't making HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS yet -- let me explain why...

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

As a new user to steemit it can be quite frustrating at first.  Let me ease the pain with an explanation of what to expect.

This is the first thing people might quickly realize.  You write a good post... you spent an hour or two doing it.  It takes time to edit, re-write, find good photos and put them in your post.

An hour to write a post? Maybe two hours?


Oh yes!  A lot of good bloggers will spend that much time writing a post.  The hardest part is getting your draft written.. then you go back and read it, and edit it again.  Then comes the clip art and photos.. that alone can take 45 minutes to an hour.. especially if you are editing and photoshopping the pictures to customize them yourself.


Ok fine... I spent 2 hours writing my post and uploading photos. Then you think and say "I put my entire heart and soul into it... I not only impressed myself with this hard work, but I hope people will love it too..."

You post it... and wait...

After 24 hours pass.. you've made 11 cents.



REALLY? I just spent 2 hours of my life, writing good content, and I got 11 cents?  Why??

I will tell you why you should spend 2 hours for 11 cents... and before I do, I want to tell you something:

  • Spending the time you did, was correct. Good posts take that long
  • Good posts don't always get paid well. So don't expect to always get upvotes even if what you wrote was really good. Most of these "dolphins and whales" of steemit (people with large wallet balances) have had this happen to them too before. You're not alone.


Now here's what you didn't realize that just happened with that 11 cent post:

  • You got 3 new followers, that love your work.  They didn't just upvote your post.  But they now have you on their feed.  They're going to watch for your next post, and because they like your work, you're going to get upvotes again, and again, and again, from the same people who like your style
  • You got practice and learned what a good quality post takes... it's a lot of time and effort, and if you're not happy with the work you put into it.. why should you expect anyone else to take notice? You're on the right track if you DO spend that much time working on your post.
  • GREED and expectation of payment is not what fuels steemit.  There is a lot of people here working hard, just like you.  The fact that someone else made $120 on their post, and you made 11 cents means nothing.  Tomorrow you might make $120 on your post, and that other person might make only 11 cents.  Not everyone wins "all of the time"...
  • Perseverance pays off...which is a complicated way of saying.. be devoted to who you are, what you want to say... eventually you will build an audience and they'll appear when you need it the most.  Don't worry.. it will happen.

Now a free tip, to all new users of steemit who want to make posts and get paid:

You *MUST* build a following.  That means followers.  How do you get followers?  

That's easy.  Visit and upvote other people's posts that are inspiring.  Write good comments on their posts and they are more likely to click your name, and see 'who you are' out of curiosity.

If some bot, or simpleton writes on my blog:

Yes, I like this

I won't bother to click their name and check out their blog or upvote them.

If a real person, with sincere intentions writes a comment on my blog:

I like this, because it happened to me too!  I want to share with you with what happened (and they write a short paragraph)... 

...then I know they not only read my blog post, and upvoted, but they also took the time in the comment section to write something specific, meaningful, and I become very thankful for it. When they do that... of course, I want to click their name and see "who is this person. what else do they write"... next thing I know, I'm following them and upvoting their blog posts too...

Here's what a lot of new users to steemit do...

They make a short post, and make 11 cents...

They make a long post, and make 11 cents...

They realize.. why the heck am I spending an hour or two making a great post with photos for 11 cents, when I can make really simple posts and still make 11 cents?  I'm just going to write LOTS of simple junk posts and make 11 cents many times, it's easier.

That's where they go wrong.  Just because your first 10 or 20 posts didn't yield a high payout doesn't mean you're not gaining followers, attraction, or you're not going to be popular in the future.


Do you realize it takes 1,090 junk posts @ 11 cents to equal one-good hot post worth $120 ?

Why do that to yourself?

But if you keep writing short, simple, low quality content, you will never see the day when your posts are going to be worth $20, $120, or even $240.... like some people make.

Be dedicated and devoted to who you are, and eventually you will get noticed and make a lot of money on this system.  Keep up the good and hard work... It WILL pay off in the end.



Don't worry what money you make today. Keep trying, keep working at it.  You will get rewarded very nicely over the long term. As long as you are not trying to cheat the system, it won't cheat you either.


There's so many people here.  The most true, passionate, and hard working people always win in the end. Don't give up!


==> Please RESTEEM this post on your blog so many people see it. We have over 10,000 new users joining each month. We don't want junk posts constantly littering the feeds. This helps everyone. <==

Sort:  

I love your post! thanks! I had been blogging in the past and built a 12000 followers in my facebook fan page. Unfortunately, I just discovered Steemit a week ago! hahahaha But I'm positive this can also work here, and much better.

Following you! :)

Excellent. As I mentioned in another comment somewhere here... everyone who shows up with a comment, I'll make an effort to visit their blogs and if they're good I'll be following you too soon... and maybe even resteeming posts... so this could really work out. :) Glad you found steemit.

Hi - just me - showing up

Thanks for the inspiring article, all goods points. do you think focusing on one area like cryptocurrency is better? starting out I've just been writing about many unrelated topics that i'm interested in and see what works!

Primarily yes. All the time, no. Your primary audience will be interested in one particular topic. If you vary too often and too frequently, you will lose your primary audience I think..

..but occasionally feel free to deviate once in awhile to mix things up. Just not too often is my recommendation.

cool. thanks for the quick reply and the advice!

Hey I wanted to let you know that what you are doing here is a good idea. ;P

Wow... You can even make money on a comment... Way to go... You have 16 votes on your comment... That should give people a heads up... Anyway, if you have time, feel free to visit my place and read a Post or Two...
@pocketechange

I just gave you another Upvote for this comment... lol... Have a great day...
@pocketechange

Now you know that followers in facebook are useless. If you have that followers in steemit, wow, you will be greatly rewarded.

Totally agree!!! Facebook has this funny algorythms that once you have more than 10000 followers, your posts are no longer so visible to them, unless you pay to promote them.
Hopefully this is not happening here ! :)

There's no way steemit will be asking for fee. In fact, its the opposite. Steemit is giving us what facebook could not give.

That's one of the reasons why we love it, init? :)

@omwith consider inviting your Fb fans. Some people who bring in their own crowd become whales over night. Best of luck to you!

...that's a great idea!

I was on facebook for years, and I kept getting unfollowed for saying things that were true, but which people didn't like. Now I'm on Steemit, and I keep getting more followers, and getting paid for saying the very same things. Have you ever had one of those realisations that you've been hanging around with the wrong crowd, simply by virtue of having met them because they live close to you?

This is so AWESOME! I have the same thoughts about FB, and especially when those old time "school mates" came around after years of no contact asking to follow and be followed because some digital online algorithm connected us using our personal data. Thanks for your comment @anarcotech Glad to have found Steemit!

I totally agree with you! It seems to me that since in Facebook we keep family, friends and other acquaintances, we tend to be politically correct most of the times, and not always express our opinions as they are.

And yes, I also had this experience as you describe it! I think this is the challenge, in general, letting go of the things and people (or in this case, the social media!) that do not fit into our current values or interests.

Funnily enough, i often found it challenging to be politically correct. I actually think i've probably got more in common with steemians ive never met than some of my old faceschmuck friends.

I left Facebook 18 months ago when they started removing anything politically incorrect, or news stories they didn't want seen that I had posted...

Yeap! Their double moral is quite incomprehensible...!

I'm certainly with you regarding facebook. Just in the process of leaving/exchanging contact details with friends on there. I even felt compelled to write a poem about it! (random I know). https://steemit.com/poetry/@perceptualflaws/goodbye-facebook-an-original-poem

Haha this is spot on! I am now following as I like hearing home truths about the world. I will probably agree with most of them.

you lucky being :p ...you should say "fortunately"

This is brilliant! Straight to the point and east to read. I love how you've worded everything. I even went to read your comments and you have that many, it crashed my app and I therefore had to restart the app and search again!! Sometimes it's actually nice to read a post without too much jargon and steemit talk, especially being a new steemian!! Thank you. I look forward to your future posts 😊

Absolutely. There is a cumulative effect of sticking with it. I left for a couple of months and when I came back, all my peers were miles ahead of me. Won't make that mistake again. Stick with it guys!

Condra --- just look at this blog... he's a prime example of good content. :) I can come up with a list of 20 memorable people from the early days who seemed to have a talent in writing good stuff and condra is one of them. Whoever reads this, click on his name and look at his blog. :)

He does a lot with photography and gadgets... but his posts have real meat to them. That's the type of stuff many people are looking for..

I'm not just saying it. I really did miss the @condra posts. Glad your back. You are really a piece of what I love about steemit.

I can prove it too... I never unfollowed you when you were absent, and when you came back, I was right there to greet you. Yeah! You're good .... :)

Thank You @intelliguy - just followed @condra - I have similar interests and his posts are awesome - just skimmed through a few - but will read them at length.

Hi Condra - just followed you

Thanks!! I follow then! 😜

Great post. Yes, building a following is the key. There were many times that I thought of giving up too, and I've had my fair share of '11 cent' posts.

At least you got 11 cents,sometimes my posts get $0 lol

I had 11 cent posts before myself. It's hard to see it happen. I never understood it. When I finally learned "why".. it's only fair to share it with everyone too.. After a long time at this, none of my posts make 11 cents anymore. So in the concept of pay-it-forward -- I'm paying it forward. :)

I know that you posted this a long time ago, but I wanted to thank you because I really needed to read something like that. As you wrote, it's disappointing to see that other posts have more votes than yours even if you are trying hard. I'm new here, so I'll be constant and patience. Have a nice day!

Thanks for this.. it helps me to want to continue to write things like this... You're lucky you found it early on.. many of us had to learn the hard way after banging our heads against a wall. lol.

Keep chugging a long. Worry more about the future than what you see happening with your account today or tomorrow. Nice meeting you and I'll take a peek at your blog to boot. :)

This is absolutely true! There seems to have been a lot of people expecting to get big rewards on their first post here, but just like on any other website like this, you need a solid amount of followers before you get any real payback (unless you get lucky with a whale vote!).

Whale votes are nice, but they show up once in a while and you can't depend on them. I remember when @timcliff was something like reputation level 54 and I was level 62, and I totally knew he going somewhere.. and sure enough he did. I'm level 65, and I think he's atleast level 71 now...

That's the way it goes. Some people excel at this place and other people just give up early. :)

Totally true! I spent about 6 months on the website posting and posting and posting. I always tried to create content that added value. I also spent tons of time reading other people's posts and contributing to the conversation. For months, all of my friends were actually making fun of me for spending time on "that website" since I was spending pretty much all my time here and making practically no money. I kept trying to explain how it wasn't about the money I was making today, but that I was working on building a following, and if the people in the community and I could make the platform better, that the coins I earned from the site could one day be worth a lot more. None of them believed me, but 6 months later I finally got to the point that my posts would pretty consistently pay more than $10. Now (almost a year later after I started here) making more than a hundred dollars on a post actually happens quite often. New users might join the website and look at my blog and wonder "how is that guy making hundreds of dollars per post". If they look at the posts on their own, they might not see many differences between what they do and what I do, but if they realized how many zero payout posts and engaging comments I made before I got to that point, they would see what it takes :)

Thanks! That's inspiring! I've spent more than a year building a website about yoga and creativity. I had worked hard learning on my own to build my own wordpress, learning through tutorials about the basics digital marketing and social network. I built a 12000 followers fan page in facebook, I manage to get some authors contributing to my site with their articles...a looooot of effort! But I hardly get monetize any of this, actually the opposite, I spent money on domains, plugins, fb ads, etc
I wish I had knew steemit before...!!'

So many of you are an inspiration. I mean, just look at your comment . That took effort and thoughtfulness. I just did my intro post yesterday. I created a few pieces before that to gain my balance and a few since. I made my own little proprietary spreadsheet to stick to so I can comfortably get to a solid position in steem down the road. It took me 5 years to build the website I always wanted. Things worth anything take time. Small bites will still finish a big sandwich. Love the likemindedness in here. Good stuff.

@timcliff this comment should be the official testimonial for newbs like myself, so inspiring.

I AM FIRED UP!

Thanks for sharing your journey.
#GetRichOrDieSteeming

Yeah, they are very unreliable, but they can go a very long way to motivate newcomers here :)

Thank you for this exposure to what can make someone earn well on steemit. I really believe that by following your blog posts, newbies like myself would have the opportunity to earn a decent income from steemit

You might wonder what this guy doing on a 6 months old post? or, more importantly, how did he found this? - well, google lead me here. Up until i was halfway through this post, i was really frustrated of the outcome i'm getting for my posts. I work hard, i research a lot to come up and complete an article - and there's rarely anything. I'm not talking about only money, I want people to read - If someone reads and lets me know his/her thoughts about the content, I'd be quite happy. But it wasn't happening either - and that frustrated me and made me question whether my spending so much time and energy is the right thing to do. at first, i was pretty consistent about working here, but my enthusiasm died down eventually and i had become quite irregular here on steemit. i still haven't come to my full rhythm. then i found your post and it has given me new hope - so, thank you for that. I'm already feeling a new hope and energy inside me. :)

  • ps: would you be so kind and checkout my blog and tell me if i'm doing it the right way. I could really use the help of such an experienced steemian :)

Sure, I'll take a look simply based on your genuine comment, and resourcefulness you took to do some google searches to find this post. I always appreciate those who do their best to help themselves first (by searching for answers) and then asking for additional help is the right way to do it.

thanks, this really means a lot. I really want to do something meaningful here on steemit :) and I'm glad that you took the time to read my comment and give an answer. thank you so much :)

Great post and very helpful. I found you post when I was waiting to get accepted to steemit (finally got in Friday)
Been trying to follow your advise, slowly building my following and trying to write good post.
followed and upvoted

Thank you. You'll do well considering now you're armed with the first bit of information that will help you not get frustrated. Each follower and each vote will slowly increment you into a successful position in the long term.

Another reason to avoid the short low-quality posts is, I am viewing this post today, some 10 months after it was first published. I found it via the search and your advice has motivated me to follow you.
I'm opting for the long-term strategy every time.

Thanks.

Most people give up too easily, or they start doing bad things which seems to pay well initially until their reputation catches up with them.... and then the attract whales who ruin their account and downvote it to low rank numbers.

There is no get rich quick scheme here, and those that try, always fail.

If you're proud of your work, and you are patient, people will slowly discover you over time, and you'll build a strong following.

Thanks for the comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48