Cold Comfort

in #life5 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-689376093.jpg

Daddy-Bear!? Daddy-Bear!? Where are you?

I heard the good lady shouting over the spitting and sizzling from the pan. I ignored her calls and concentrated on the pan before me which was full of bacon and sausages. They were browning nicely.

The kitchen stank of cooked pork like a cyclists underpants after a race. The toaster popped and I walloped everything onto a plate which I then took into the lounge.

The good lady came in as I was biting into my first gigantic meaty banger. It should be noted that a banger in the UK is a sausage and not always necessarily a man's penis.

gddfchxhx_20181231153602593_20190102181245595_20190102184002997_20190103155812748_20190106160353243_20190107165616772.jpg

Wow, Daddy-Bear. That is quite the breakfast you have there!

She gazed at the pile of charred flesh and toasted bread on my plate.

I grunted at her like a Lancashire pig and concentrated on the task at hand.

She shook her head knowingly and left me to it.

Later on she came into the lounge. The Xbox was on and I was ball deep in Fallout 4. Around me was strewn lots of empty crisp packets and sweet wrappers.

gddfchxhx_20181231153602593_20190102181245595_20190102184002997_20190103155812748_20190106160353243_20190107180833140.jpg

Daddy-Bear, can you collect the little lady from school? The wee guy is sleepy and I will have to put him down for a nap.

I paused the game and glared at her as if she were a rat that had just crawled out of my arse.

Hmmph, s'pose so.

I said huffily as if I would much rather live in a video game than in this drab existence I found myself in.

You will have to leave now?

I rolled my eyes and groaned heavily attempting to roll myself up from my chair. It proved slightly harder than I thought given that I had spent the entire day eating shit. It should be noted that shit in the UK often means junk food and not actual shit because I don't think I could eat a lot of that.

gddfchxhx_20181231153602593_20190102181245595_20190102184002997_20190103155812748_20190106160353243_20190107181443079.jpg

The good lady placed a hand on my chest as I attempted to waddle past her.

Daddy-Bear, comfort eating isn't the answer you know?

I growled through the biscuit I had managed to sneak into my mouth.

I'm not comfort eating? Why would I be comfort eating.

I grouched as I tried to squeeze around her.

You have been off work for two weeks and start back tomorrow, would that be why?

She said, quite sympathetically.

Rubbish. I'm not bothered about going back to work.

I pushed past and grabbed a chocolate bar on my way out the door.

Hmmph, comfort eating. How dare she? I most certainly was not. Work Schmurk, it didn't bother me. Not one bit.

I collected the little lady and came back home to continue my mammoth mission to eat everything in the house.

Later near bedtime, I heard the good lady calling over the spitting and sizzling from the pan.

I ignored her calls and concentrated on the task at hand, groaning as yet another fetid something flubbered out of me.

Damn she might have been right, maybe I had been comfort eating.

Sort:  

I say, too many meaty bangers this festive period for you?

Hmm, the first week back at work after Christmas. Yeah I miss that like a plate of brains faggots.

Shall we see boom entering the #steemfat tag in the coming weeks? Will the beers post be littered with lo-cal offerings? Say i ain't so!

Never!! I will just also have to got the gym which means even more sorrow. Oh man this is going to be a week of shit!

I shall be a cheery soul in the morn, not, lol!

Just find the machine that you can Steem on - bike perhaps, and it wont be so painful. Could even earn a few cents whilst losing the dead rats and chocolates, winner!

At least it's a Tuesday start - 20% less working days in the week until the weekend!

I do steem on the bike usually, lol. It's often where I post on my b00m account!

I do love a 4 day week :0D it's all I do!

Best story

Cheers mate!

So Meesterboom have you turned into a FF whilst on holiday? Nothing wrong with comfort eating as long as you know you are doing it I suppose. I need some exercise after reading your post. Will we recognize you on beer Saturday or is your slightly chubbier brother filling in for you.
It's only work and how many years have you got left, Steem will boom soon. It has to as it's in your name.

If it booms, great! If it doesn't I am looking at another twenty years. Sob!

I am going that my pigging out is a temporary thing and once I start back tomorrow I come to my senses!

I can hear the jizz gym calling you.

Hehe, yeah and it's still that one!!

I was ball deep in Fallout 4.

Just one?

I pushed past and grabbed a chocolate bar on my way out the door.

Perfectly understandable. I always make sure to grab one.

Just one, of course! A gentleman must always keep one in the lookout for potential incursion!

You grab one too? Just one?

:0)

incursion?

Do you mea-.... never mind...

You grab one too? Just one?

One box, of course. Don't you?

Meanwhile, across the pond the European Christmas cookies have been reduced to fifty cents at the grocery store. The fancy comfort food cries out at us from the shelves.

Eat us!
Yes. Yes, I think I will. Just two boxes, maybe three...

There always seems to be a reason for comfort food.

Hope your day goes smoothly.

Haha, there does always seem to be a reason!!

My day has started poorly with sleep-ins and cancelled trains. I wonder what more joy lies ahead!

Did you pack a sausage in your pocket - comfort food reinforcements for a stressful train station wait? That almost sounded a bit like a dirty joke.

Meanwhile, across the pond, I was inadvertantly typing a dirty joke, when the toddler spilled her cereal, burst into hysterics, and spent five minutes insisting on eating the squished slimy cereal off the floor. It's a rough start on the home front too.

It sounded awfully like a dirty joke, lol!!

You gotta love the toddler hysterics, it's both insane and hilarious when it happens. Yesterday my daughter said the curry I had made her waslike what pigs eat. Hahaha!!

In that case pig food is delicious.

My grandmother ate pizza for the first time recently and said the toppings look like a bunch of food scraps scraped off the table and piled on top.

They are both kind of right...isn't slowing me down any :)

Haha that's a fine way to describe it but what a tasty pile of scraps it is!!

Since everything of ours are in sync, I'm happy to confirm that you are comfort eating, BRO-sizzle! And what's wrong with that?? I've been comfort eating for five years now and look at what that got me.

Oh God...

Look at what that got me...

What have I done?

What have you done!! It's never too late to undo it!! Except, well, it kind of is. :0D

I'll just make up for it then! All this stress is getting me hungrier!

----->coMFOrt eaTIng<----- even the words are - bwerp! - looking anxious.

Hehe, they are. Nightmare words! I appear to be counting down the minutes now and there is still hours to go!

I hate that feeling when my head is trying to be rational, but then I watch myself start wandering over to the fridge or food cabinet reaching for all sorts of bad, but my head doesn't stop my body! It just scolds after the fact!
I have no words of wisdom for you...except that going back to work and getting on a schedule, as depressing as that sounds, might be the answer? GOod luck, boomie.

It is the answer, oh how I wish it wasn't. I am sure the very first meeting will be a blast, lol!! Bring on the weekend!!

Banger? I hardly know her.

Said no man ever in any situation that involved having sex with a woman.

Hehe, yes indeed!

By tonight , the first day back at work will be over, el jefe will have given you some memorable words to share with us, and the sun will continue to rise in the east.
50 weeks to go, and you can do it all again.

Lol, sod the 50 weeks, I am looking forward to the floor days at Easter!

We also have ANZAC day [commemerating the landings at Gallipoli during the First World War] on the 25 April. so, 23 and 24, plus 26 as annual leave, and we have got 10 days off for 3 days leave.

That's not too be sneezed at! I feel remarkably upbeat this morning departure the trains being cancelled and all the portents pointing me back home

you can tell the Good Lady that you were all prepared to go and do your thing at the sweaty coal face, but you were unfortunately prevented, by things beyond your control, and as such, you deserve sympathy and more comfort food.

I always deserve such things! Hehe

Dang, the ladies always know what scoop is up. Though I've been known to sit around and watch movies and eat mounds of packaged 'shat', even if there is no work to return to in the near future. Maybe we are pretty easy to figure out and predictable after all. Nah.

I think we are! Easy creatures pretending to be more than that. Sometimes I am like a kid with chocolate on his face saying he didn't dip the tin!!

Or drink out of the milk bottle straight from the fridge, when 'no one is looking'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77