Mindfulness Monday - Journey into being Overwhelmed

in #life5 years ago

Hello Steemians,

Hope all has been going well. Sorry about not getting a Monday post out last week. I try to have the right mindset when I write these posts. Sometimes I am inspired by a post I have read. Sometimes a situation occurs in my life and I can take a moment to look at it and see it as a lesson. Which is what today is. The feeling of being overwhelmed.

text16.png

From the wonderful world of Google and their define: feature this is how overwhelmed is defined.

o·ver·whelm
/ˌōvərˈ(h)welm/Submit
verb
past tense: overwhelmed; past participle: overwhelmed

  • bury or drown beneath a huge mass.
    "the water flowed through to overwhelm the whole dam and the village beneath"
    synonyms: swamp, submerge, engulf, bury, deluge, flood, inundate
    "advancing sand dunes could overwhelm the village"
  • defeat completely.
    "his teams overwhelmed their opponents"
    synonyms: defeat (utterly/heavily), trounce, rout, beat (hollow), conquer, vanquish, be victorious over, triumph over, worst, overcome, overthrow, crush; More
  • give too much of a thing to (someone); inundate.
    "they were overwhelmed by farewell messages"

When you look at the definition, as it breaks down these are the feelings we get when we examine our feelings of being overwhelmed.

text16.png

I admit I am hard on myself in more ways than one. I was finishing up some of my duties for @pifc. (Mind you I love the work I do there I fully support the program and truly believe if we can get more people interacting with each other we can build a stronger community.) I also finished up a few other responsibilities with another group I belong to. Again, I love the group, what it stands for and the support it gives. However, I have been put on the 'naughty' list for not following through with my promises.

text16.png

I have had crazy things happen in the past few weeks which seem to be trying to derail me from this path. I was testing a machine at work. I had no idea how it worked during the process of figuring it out, the pad on my left ring finger was squished in part of the machine. It hurt. It was really swollen for 2 days and was so purple underneath it actually made my that part of my finger look black. It made it incredibly hard to type. Typing one-handed at work was ok, but to do a post not so much. So I put out a couple of posts I thought was pretty good. They did ok, but because with all the groups I need to support others too when I promote my post. I feel completely overwhelmed. I had just read about 15 posts, I was tired almost all of these are people not associated with any group. Trying to support both groups with visiting and postings. It seems to be overwhelming. My husband last night, said I work all day then I come home and work more. He thinks I 'work' more at home than I do at work LOL.

One thing that I find myself trying to do is 'keep up with the Jones' I see people that pop out article after article read more than 20 posts a day plus putting in comments that at the end of the week equal about 30,000 words. I keep thinking why can't I do that. Umm, you silly girl. You work full time, these people don't. So I do the one thing I try to stress to everyone is, I end up beating up myself for not having the follow through on the things that I said I would do.

text16.png

So how do we fix this?
Option 1) I can just pull out of everything. Which to me is not an option.
Option 2) Drop out of one of the groups I am in. I don't want to. I know I can get this on track.
Option 3) Change my thinking. Rather than looking at myself as a failure and being beat down by as system I believe in. One step at a time and continue forward .
Option 4) Setup clearly defined schedule for myself. Putting a time limit on how much time I spend each day, so that I do not stop taking care of myself.

text16.png

I admit like so many others, the environment has been a bit different since HF20. So many people are questioning why they're still here, now that we have to work twice as hard. I believe if you put out good then you get good. I feel more like what I do doesn't matter. I could put a post with random words that don't mean anything and end up with the same result.

Just like others post a picture, no information whatsoever and get over 8.00 in upvotes. I post a picture with a fairly well written post and I get 1.00.

text16.png

Anyway back on topic Here is what I found to be a good coping strategy.
Taken from Better-Help The full article can be found by following the link.

  1. Define Overwhelmed
  2. Understand Why You Feel Overwhelmed
  3. Define Your Priorities
  4. Manage Your Energy (Sleep)
  5. Surround Yourself with Energy Builders
  6. Maintain Your Hobbies and Develop New Ones
  7. Appreciate Your Unconditional Worth
  8. Take Strides to Overcome the Feeling of Stress Quickly
  9. Engage Your Senses
  10. Make a to-do list
  11. Cultivate Gratitude
  12. Clean
  13. Delegate Tasks
  14. Learn to Say No
  15. Stop Multitasking
  16. Be Mindful
  17. Is it really necessary?
  18. Take a Step Back
  19. Develop a Strong Support System.

Hey.... Does any of this look familiar?? It should it's 90% of what my Mindfulness Mondays have been about.

text16.png

Let's see if we can get some chat started over this. NO SAYING I'M SORRY. That is my only stipulation. Life happens and we need to learn strategies to get through it. As far as my Steemit world. I am not sorry for any of it. If I am 'sorry' about anything, it is that I am not more consistent. Hopefully this does not mind numb anyone. If we each learn part of it we can be better support to each other and the ones we love.
text16.png



Pay It Forward Contests

SB_new.png



IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg
Steemitcentral


Asapers.gif
ASAP'ers


Picture_20180513_211411075.jpg
Dustsweeper



manna banner.jpg
Earn passive Universal Basic Income


banner

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)


Thank you for your continued support, Love

tryskele (1).gif

Sort:  

I wouldn't beat yourself up so much. This happens sometimes it is hard for me to keep up with all the groups I want to support here. But if we always do what we can they will be okay. No group expects anyone to always be here. We all have lives outside of steemit and while we all love this place it should always come second to many things. I hope you have a great night

Thanks @stever82. That is something I have really been working on. Just being nice to myself. I think being in touch with others is highly important.

I hope you have a great night too.

Feel gutted when I don't get the reward back for giving my effort instead of just copy pasting stuff and using bid bots, hope you succeed here dude.

Well Dec is my Steemiversary. So I'm sticking it out. I just feel the harder I work the less success there is. Thanks for sharing @shaheerbari

Don't cut anything out, just put it on a bigger rotation. If you can't get it all done in one day take two to do it. You shouldn't give up anything you enjoy but the enjoyment would seem to be pretty much negated if the sense of being overwhelmed has crept in, so spread it out a little more and get back to enjoying it.

Thank you @sultnpapper. Thank you, It makes much more sense than spinning my wheels trying to get everything done in a shorter period of time. I love it when someone opens my eyes to a different view.

Just a suggestion that has worked for me.

I feel you... Sometimes I wonder the same. I waste a lot of time making a post... and I get a few couple of $, at most. Then I look around and I see posts that add no value at all... and they're earning over $30.

The Bidbots are ruining this platform. I hope Devs find a way to make Bidbots extremely unprofitable, so that crappy content stops being promoted.

So glad I'm not the only one. If what I post is really crappy, I wish someone would tell me. The comments I get are completely opposite.

Hi @tryskele!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.491 which ranks you at #6410 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 13 places in the last three days (old rank 6423).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 243 contributions, your post is ranked at #157.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hang in there! Glad your finger is OK (is it OK now? I assume so). I have also been struggling to keep posting lately. I decided to only write when the motivation hits, as well as keep my contest going. But I understand you have more obligations, so I imagine your situation is more difficult.

Yeah finger is fine now, no blood blisters or anything and it's back to normal coloring. It healed very quickly. That's kind of what I have been doing. Something is triggered and I post. I had a self commitment to post daily and was doing great until HF20. I think it messed with our structures and it's just getting back on track. It's my passion that keeps me going. I feel I need to be more organized. So If I spend an hr a day I should be able to handle what I need to do without sacrificing other parts of my life. Even though tonight...it stretch to 2 hours LOL. I'm just starting this part of it so I think in a week or 2 I'll get it more managed. Thanks so much for stopping by @dollarsandsense, I truly appreciate it.

Many years ago I realized that there were always going to be people who were smarter than I am, quicker, richer, etc. So I stopped looking over my shoulder. I stopped worrying about what I didn't do, and tried to appreciate what I could. Maybe that's a formula for failure....but I've done OK and I'm really peaceful. Give yourself a break. You do so many good things, some of them on Steemit--and probably more at home. Appreciate yourself more. I insist :)

Will do @agmoore :) I think part of work is carrying over too. It's like you make one mistake it seems to carry through everything else because you're trying too hard to do everything perfectly.

The appreciating myself has been a work in progress. Most days I improve. Learning to say no and taking time to myself. Thank you for reminding me of this.

Congratulations @tryskele! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

aww @tryskele, I'm beginning to think that this is a very similar journey for many here. As you know, I've recently backed away from here and at first it was difficult, but then I just cut myself some slack and decided I'd do it only if and when i felt like it. You're so right; we cannot compare ourselves to others here. Even though I'm retired, I'm no longer interested in spending countless hours on my laptop.

I love interacting with others. I helps me a lot. It sounds bad, I think HF20 was a trigger for so many, then to have their flow and routines changed it hurt them. Made them start questioning everything. People with mental health problems need to be actually have a routine, it keeps the brain on track.

I admit it affected me a little, but it affected me enough that the issues I deal with this time of year crept in. It's not the holiday thing. I taught my kids a long time ago holidays are for enjoying each other. What are you going to remember when I'm gone? The fact I spent $200 on you for Christmas that 'one' year or are you going to remember the times we played games, cooked and spent time together.

Actually over the years, I have pretty much stopped 'celebrating' I didn't have me kids the holiday didn't exist that year. Now they're both grown and on their own it's just me and the hubby and phone calls. So we do things for us to remember, we cook and enjoy our time.

It's usually Oct/Nov for me mainly due to my birthday and more reminders of the past and failures and just some bad shit.

I've been watching TV. I haven't really done that for about 5 years now. Silly me LOL.

I always find TV is a killer and shitty social media like Facebook does the same thing to me. It makes me think that I'm supposed to have so much more than I actually do, then I remember that it's somebody's job to make me feel like that so I go out and buy some more things lol as my dad would say, turn off the boob tube 😊

I hope things pick up for you; this time of year can be so tough❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98