How I will Double my Blog Traffic in 6 Months - And You Can Too

in #marketing5 years ago

Last week I did an update post on how business was going, and I mentioned I had a target for my traffic.  The aim is to get 20K views a month by the end of the year.  Last month I exceeded my target of 10K by over 10% and I am really hoping to keep the momentum going.

Anyone can set a target, but achieving it is a different ball game.  It involves setting a plan and implementing strategy.  I learned the hard way, and you probably did too, just because you build it, doesn’t mean the people will come.  Getting traffic to a website is a little harder than its cracked up to be, especially the right type of traffic.

On Page SEO

The strategies I use have been tried and tested.  They have worked for other and have worked for me in the past. 

So far this year I have focused on content.  The aim of that was to feed Google and the many other search options people use these days.  On page SEO. Keyword rich, and plenty of long tail keywords too.  I published a number of ‘cornerstone article’, which are basically long form articles. Cornerstone articles are your best content that is informative to your audience

You can see an example here  and here and here  of the cornerstone content I published this year.  Obviously every article can not be a cornerstone article and where possible you should have plenty of internal links between cornerstone post keywords and other post on your site.

With On Page SEO good, the strategy for the second half of the year is off page SEO.  I need more people talking about The Excel Club.  I need more people linking back to The Excel Club and the published cornerstone content.

Influencer Networking/Marketing 

Have you ever had an influencer share your content?  It’s a really awesome way to get views and traffic.  And what’s even better is if you can get an influencer to do a guest post on your blog or to accept a guest post from you.  

For the next number of months I am going to heavily focus on influencers.  I spent a good portion of yesterday compiling a list of influencers that I would like to work with.  I collected their websites, social media accounts, real names and emails.  I’m interested in those producing content on the same topic as me.  Those with more traffic, more followers and a better ranking.

The strategy is rather simple.

Every day I will share their content.  Retweet their tweets and share their Facebook posts.  Content sharing by itself is not worth too much so I will ensure I add a comment too.  Something useful, maybe that adds a little value.  If the opportunity arises, I will ask them questions and just really engage with them and their content as much as I can.  Form a relationship, build a little trust.

If you are new to influencer networking, it can take a few months before you strike that relationship and build trust.  However, once that relationship is formed, you can then ask the influencer about guest posts.

OFF Page SEO

Producing guest posts on someone else’s blog is a fantastic way to get backlinks, and if you have selected your influencers well, these backlinks will probably have a higher ranking than your own.  This is awesome for building off page SEO.

Having influencers publish a guest post on your blog is also fantastic for traffic.  This influencer is going to share this content to their followers bring new and fresh eyes to your site.

I won’t be waiting months to ask all these dudes about guest posts.  I am both confident and experienced and well to be honest, before I found steem, I was in contact with many of them anyway.  So, for me its re-establishing relationships I let go off when I found steem.  

I am hoping within 3 months I should really see a good impact from this, and I look forward to reporting back and letting you all now how it is going and if it's looking like I will reach my targets.

Sort:  

I gave up on my blog a long time ago when the traffic was low compare to what I was expecting

It can be hard starting out and a lot of work goes into building a blog with traffic. The reality is, I'm a tiny fish online, but I hope one day I wont be so tiny

I save this one. Thanks for sharing 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

you are most welcome, glad you found it to be of value, thanks for stopping by

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

These are good suggestions. Thanks for taking the time to create this material. I'm working with a new streamer now whose content is a lot of fun and whose show has a lot of potential. But he tends to get maybe a little overwhelmed thinking about his future goals while still in the setup phase. I'll link him to this post because I think he'll get a lot out of it.

Me heart you long time!

hay @allseeingewe , yep it can all be a little overwhelming at the start, but after a while it falls into place. thanks for sharing this with him, I hope he sees some value in it

This is wonderful information, @paulag! And it’s so sensible. It might sound challenging for those who don’t yet have a website, niche, or ability to write those cornerstone articles, and those things do take time, so they are excellent starting points!

Reading this, I realized I have completed all of those initial steps and am sitting on an opportunity to grow readership on my site. I need to continue adding valuable content and launch my off-page SEO plan. Thank you for this great info! I have a great basic understanding of what to do, and you’ve inspired me to get on it. Also I will check out the cornerstone articles you mentioned and give you my support. I too need to return to the outside world and incorporate that into (or alongside) what I’m doing on Steem.

I just paid a visit to your website, and I love what you are doing. it's actually really hard to find 'bloggers' on steem. I noticed that you dont have steem comments enabled on the WordPress side. I mention it because it could help you incorporate steem and the outside world more.

Im not as activite on this account on steem as I use to be for the very reason I wanted to incorporate steem more with what I do. So focusing on the excel club and using steempress gives me the best of both worlds.

What forum/social media do you have most success in ?

I use to get a lot of traffic from Google+ until they closed down. I ran a community there which I moved to FB when they closed. however the traffic I get now from FB I have a very high bounce rate with so I dont want to bother there too much any more.
I also get good traffic from linkedin, but I find the communities are poorly run and its just link dropping, and hard to engage.
What I didnt cover in this post, as I was keeping it for another post is the other side of the coin and being an influencer, so stay tuned, because I will have more on that another day :-)

ok, thank you ... i don't really try for followers, but the funny thing is my youtube subscribers keep growing even though I haven't posted for two years, but I do have 155 videos there so i guess people find some of them interesting enuff to review more than once.

i don't use FB or Linkedin anymore (my Linked in page was always weak), but I follow about 30 people on twitter that I check. I find following much more than that is meaningless/just for show.

I dont really worry about followers numbers either, obtaining an email address is way more important, followers are really just the very very start of the funnel

hmmm, I agree of what you're saying. Yes, that's a wonderful idea but what is not, are the people if they're interested to learn from it. Even if they'll know that they can learn from it. They still refuse to use that learning's and stop the basic step's. It's not easy, but where can they find an easy way. If there is then why we're doing hard.

So in my opinion, hardwork and knowledge are the key's to achieve success.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well said! Salute you. You are one of my idol in steemit, looking forward what is the best dear. @paulag.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @paulag!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 8.067 which ranks you at #18 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 166 contributions, your post is ranked at #26.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Your follower network is great!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I have only just started to read about SEO and the potential to drive traffic. What would suggest for a rookie like me to learn more? Thanks for sharing and wishing you success!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11