Slayer!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Well... as you can see, I have returned from IRL. Rather emotional and dramatic days - death, joy, hygge, family, sadness and Slayer.

Haven't been to a rock concert in years, so this was a fun and loud experience.


Slayer in Royal Arena, Copenhagen.

The warm up was Obituary, Anthrax (who played a great set) and Lamb of God. The crowd was completely mixed. People were between mid fifty and teenager, and as always to such concerts the aggression was on stage and it was relaxed fun among the audience. I experienced the exact opposite many years ago when I took my little sister to a New kids on the blog concert. The craziness of the female teenagers was frightening and we kept to the back. My sister was not an all-out-of-your-mind-fan, she just liked the music, so it was a pretty shocking experience.

It was a great concert, even though Dave Lombardo and Hanneman (who is dead) wasn't in the band. The group's relatively new guitarist, Gary Holt, had to be at his father's deathbed, so Phil Demmel from Machine Head played the other guitar. He didn't really do any good, but he didn't destroy anything either.

Crazy that those old geezers can still rock with this relentless energy, we stood for a while shouting but there was no encore. @evilhippie guessed it was because Kerry King's adult diaper was full.

This one wasn't in the set, so I'll play it here instead.

Sort:  

:-D

@evilhippie guessed it was because Kerry King's adult diaper was full.

That could have been a spectacular encoré ;-)

:)

How good are Slayer???
Saw them in Cardiff a month ago, and they'll be my #shirtonsunday in a couple of weeks. I was never a big fan until a few years ago when I saw them as they shared a bill with Anthrax (nothing new there). Shame they're retiring, but I guess it's pretty hot up there.
We found the whole evening pretty intense so I hope you got some catharsis out of your night, if the preceding days were as you describe.

I have been a fan for 30 years or so, and I sure can say that it was really catharsis on so many levels.

I have two friends (actually my nieces close in age to me who are my close friends) who would love this! They love this type of concert. It looks like you had a good time.

I'm really having trouble getting into a proper routine.

I am all over the place and nowhere, but I did indeed have a good time.

Me too, I'm enjoying being a sort of tourist with a house here, but am CRAVING a bit of structure...yet it is important to embrace change I know this, but a solitary introvert can become too set in a routine, part of the reason I like to split my time between continents: Gives a good ole' jolt to the patterns we set ourselves.

I know what you mean. We need the dynamics.

haha, I'd never think you are a fan of Slayer! Did they play "Angel of Death" and the trademark cry at the beginning?? Ozzy used to throw blood and entrails at the audience, you were lucky that Kerry King did not have any ideas involving diapers... I think I'll beat you though, I am going to Uriah Heep soon, their combined ages must reach the thousands!

I listen to a rather broad set of musical genres. i wrote about Slayer once... Found it: Wayback music challenge: Day 5 – Angel of Death. And they did play Angel of death as the last song.

I must admit that you have beat me. People get really old these days. It is just a matter of time before they think of how to mount a guitar on one of these:

Oh, lucky you! I wasn't able to see them here in Manila last year. But, thankfully, they will be back here in March next year. :)

It was great. You can really look forward to it.

Have never seen Slayer live. Actually I've never been a huge fan of them, he,he. But I've seen Anthrax live in Budapest (early 00s). It was in Sziget Festival where I also had the chance to go to the press conference. Must say that they were really funny guys, I laugh a lot with them on that press conference. Years later I also saw Scott Ian (Anthrax guitarist) playing with his wife Pearl Aday (Meat Loaf's daugher) in London's Barfly, and hat the chance to talk to him for some minutes. A nice guy. I think he is not in Anthrax anymore, isn't he?

I am very fond of Anthrax and has been since their early days... (almost as old as they are :) Both Joye and Scot Ian is in the band and they really rocked. After their set I was already satisfied.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13