My Gardening Adventure: Basic Tools

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

2018_0217_151856_007.JPG

Harvest Moon taught me about some of the farming tools actually. I had completely forgotten about that 'Home Economics' class back in high school or I just didn't take it seriously. And nobody was really into gardening when I was a child. I don't have the top-notch gardening tools due to my limited budget, but what's important for now is for me to be able to remove the weeds and scoop the soil. It is really easy to go overboard with purchasing gardening tools especially with the latest modern equipment that promises convenience and ease of use. It's really fine to break a sweat, get down to the soil, and get dark under the sun unless of course, you're a sweet, fragile thing.

I actually got some of my basic equipment from home depot and $1 store. These things won't take up a lot of space and don't really cost a lot of money. So if you're planning to grow your own food, you can start with some of these basic gardening tools.

Top image from left to right:

Shovel

I didn't manage to get an expensive heavy duty shovel but this is good enough for now. If you're a big man, you probably need a bigger and durable shovel that you won't be able to break. But I think I'd still be able to slowly dig a grave with this.

A shovel is a tool for digging, moving bulk materials (soil, gravel, snow, sand etc.) and for lifting. I need this tool to be able to get a huge amount of soil. I'll discuss soil quality and ph level in my next post.

Rake and Hoe

I found a dual hand tool - rake and hoe. I don't need a big tool for my little gardening. A hoe is an ancient agricultural hand tool used to remove weeds, harvest crops and clear the soil. You really need to work a bit to clear those weeds as they keep on coming back. It's time to burn some fat!

The hand rake is a very useful gardening tool for collecting leaves, loosening the soil and removing dead grass. It is mainly used for general purposes in agriculture but it might also be good for self-defense. In case you need to rake someone's face to save your life.

Hand Trowel

A garden trowel is like a scoop with a plastic, metal or wooden handle. It is used for digging small holes, breaking up the earth, mixing fertilizers and for transplanting plants to pots. I think this is a very important tool for gardening indoors.

Organic Compost

Compost is the key ingredient to organic farming and for building fertile soil. You can use this to mix with your soil. I'm going to discuss this later as another topic. I don't really want to buy a plastic bag of organic compost all the time. Since I have a huge front yard here, I'm just going to make my own compost pit. It's kind of hard to dig but I can do it with time and patience.

I think compost would be an interesting project that I really want to feature here. Call it my compost adventure! If only everyone composted their garden and kitchen waste, the world would be a cleaner place. And people would all enjoy more organic gardens.

Garden Pot

When I was a kid, I used to see a lot of primitive clay pots. I actually learned to make a clay pot when I was traveling in Uruguay. But this seems more expensive now. I got a little plastic pot for starters. Actually, I don't really need to buy. I have seen locals using discarded plastic containers, water barrels, 2-liter soft drink bottles and other reusable materials for their plants. Just make sure to make enough drainage. Those plastic bottles can also be used to water your plants.

Now all I need is to go out and scavenge to get some free gardening materials. It seems odd but I don't really care what people think. Now if only everyone scavenges and reuses, the world will be a better place.

Sort:  

I can't wait to start my garden. It is still well below 0 degrees and there is a foot of snow on the ground. The end of May is when I can start a garden in my neck of the woods... I will try to remember to blog about it.

I made some pretty cool containers that grow plenty of greens every year. Good times.

I made some pretty cool containers that grow plenty of greens every year. Good times.

Little greenhouse can be cool!

They are nice too, because all summer they are just salad generators. You can have a salad every day with what is grown in the yard. It is the best.

I'm not a fan of crunchy salad so I like to cook, stir fry or grill the veggies hehe.

Good too see your ready to go, expecting big things ;) ! Wow you home economics classes sounds interesting my were just making draft excluders and sewing. And the teacher thats a whole post in itself what a grumpy woman, she didn't like me at all.💯🐒

lol sewing. Those grumpy teachers are the reason classes are not fun at all.

But I wish I could have taken those classes seriously lol.

She was a terrible teacher she only helped the kids she liked. The rest of us we left to do our own thing, but of course this always ended in detention! 💯🐒

Hahaha good times for you.

I had fun yer but the detentions were always fun haha 💯🐒

And so we're off on a diabolical growing adventure... Your post is like the martial arts of gardening! lol

As I mentioned before, this inspires me to return to some level of vegetable growing, myself. I think I'm going to use the container method, though. Tomatoes, a few green peppers, and perhaps the garlic trick you showed i an earlier post. Those are the main veggies I use regularly.

Right now, however, my back yard is covered in a fresh coat of snow... Ugh.

I hope you could share your gardening expertise lol.

@papa-pepper is running a hops give away right now. I know hops aren’t a staple to eat, but he usually does other ones like peppers and things. Excited to see how your first harvest turns out.

I will check out his posts.

I'm excited too, thanks!

Hot Diggity Dawg:

Diggin' my neighbor's grave.

hahaha Harvest Moon is the best xD

Harvest moon is so educational lol

Oeeee this is going to be such a winner I can tell you already. And you know why? Im doing the same :D Taking left over veggies and replanting them. At the moment I didnt harvest anything as yet, but that is not even so much the point as yet. The growth itself is rewarding. You also live in a warm climate, watering everything enough is a big challenge.

Tip of the day, make up removal pads are perfect for growing seeds on in the beginning ;)

20180219_071042.jpg
These peppers are still with their roots on the pads

Thanks for the tip! I have just been following online tutorials and youtube lol. But it is really rewarding seeing my plants grow. I really hope to harvest them someday!

You will! Just some daily attention is required hehe

So finally you started initiative to cultivate your own food. Thanks for introducing us with some basic tool. Keep sharing. All the best @diabolika

Awww thanks!

You are most welcome

I'm thinking of growing some ganja in my backyard tooooo

That's a good idea lol.

Old is gold And these materials are so nice and good in work their life time is also good these are very strong and are good use in gardning Thans for sharing these tools
God bless you Hope you will share more intersting things

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65