Tidying up my knitting without Marie Kondo

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)

pinterest steemit titelbild(1).png


Last week I whined about my second sock… and I think this whining got on my own nerves: I could no longer listen my own inner voice, it was too annoying. Solution: I started the second coral sock. I am still on the leg, but it is growing slowly.
This brave step into the direction of tiding up my unfinished projects inspired me, and I dared to dig deeper into this said box of shame. I found a crochet cardigan for which I started ages ago to write a pattern and a knitted cardigan which I improvised with the Miette cardigan in mind. (You will never guess… I found approximately 10 more unfinished things which I discretly will cover with the cloak of oblivion 😅)

Kopie von old neckline(18).png


And now you know why I called this post ‘tidying without Marie Kondo’ :-D I stumbled per chance over her books I think half a year ago. And I was instantly amazed, as I loved her way to treat inanimate objects with love and respect. I am no expert, but it reminded me of Shinto and so I wanted to know more. I found out that she is super famous in the USA and Japan and perhaps soon in Germany too, as there is currently airing a documentary series about her life changing work.
After reading her book, I know the cloak of oblivion is not one of her principles :-D And my tiding up my unfinished objects no real ‘tidying up’ as Mari Kondo would propagate it.

Kopie von Soziale Medien – Design ohne Titel(4).png


Nevertheless, seeing her on TV (and naturally your supportive sock comments) motivated me to tackle some of the most unpopular works (in my universe) needed for knitted and crocheted garments:
Knitting the first sleeve
Knitting the second sock
Knitting the second sleeve
Sewing sleeves
Sewing in yarn-ends
Sewing buttons on
So, now you know my hierarchy of dislike – I started with mild and ended with gag. While reading my own list, I wonder why I do not have a wardrobe full of vests :-DDDD


Design ohne Titel(169).png


I proudly can present the finished crochet cardigan… buttons, sleeves, sewing all done. Only the pattern is still not ready. Sadly, I am not sure if I still understand my own notes on this pattern, as I have written them really long ago.


Design ohne Titel(168).png


And I finished sewing the sleeves of my Bobbilette cardigan (Miette with bobbles and some other changes). The buttons - although already chosen - are not done yet and the vast amount of yarn ends creeps me out. But I have hope that my motivation holds some days and I will tackle these tasks. If not, I will cast on something new and watch Mari Kondo tiding up some rooms :-D


Thank you @crosheille for iniciating and @muscara, @shanibeer, @marblely for hosting the #needleworkmonday. If you want to see more beautiful projects with yarn, fabric and most of all needles, follow @needleworkmonday. Or even better grab your needles and keyboard and join the #needleworkmonday community.


needleworkmonday.png


Want to see more_Follow me neumannsalvaor visithttp___neumannsalva.de_(1).png

Sort:  

I love your rosy cheeks!!! :)
And I love your pink cardigan (the one you were wearing) and the green striped one and I love your basket full of your projects!! 😍😍😍 I am sure you can finish all of them in time to come. I need to remind myself too, to finish my projects :D

My cheeks are actually hectic blushing :-DDDD The sewing was a bit stressfull. And thank you so much for the compliments - it is so motivating to hear someone loves the handmade items. And I am little bit proud of myself as I really finished both jackets this week. I think I will boast about this tomorrow :-DDDD
Do you also have a basket/box with some unfinished objects? I can imagane as you can sew so well, you perhaps have many friends and family giving you projects :-D

I like your blushing cheeks! :)
And you should be really proud of yourself!! I would love to knit like you. I do wish we could teleport to each other's homes and I can sit down with you, learn from you! I am always intimidated by classes in shops because they are usually a group of ladies who are quickly click clacking away their needles and talking about goodness knows what. So stressful!
I have bags of many unfinished projects! Haha. Actually, it came to a point that they just lie all around my craft room. I really need to sort it out. I started last week and I hope to continue. I think it is important to have a clean or organized craftspace. Just that, it takes a lot of effort to keep it clean or organized :D!

You can finish all the things! Good job of starting the sock!

Thank youuuu <3 But it so slow, I really must learn to knit faster (or better even - I should learn patience)

Haha! I have a big cupboard of things like this. Every so often I bring all the bags downstairs and leave them by my chair so they will get done. And then, before I can complete them (after all, they have only been sitting there six weeks, no time at all), we have visitors coming and they are all tidied (not Marie Kondo tidying, I now understand) back into the cupboard!

I love the pink cardigan, it has all the features I like - low neckline, boxy cropped shape, nice not too tight sleeves. It looks lovely on you, and the colour is beautiful. Which stitch have you used for it?

I love your method :-D We (my husband and I) also have a bit funny 'tidying' routines when in a hurry aka guest are coming: he puts everything on the top of cupboards and I put erverything beneath the couch or cupboard :-DDD The space in the middle is very tidy ... But better don't look up or down :-D

And with the cardigan: Thank you so much and I am happy that you like it. I used mainly hdc. But if you are interested I can send you my cryptic notes (or if I find the time the revised notes) and you can try it out? I still hope to make a proper pattern out of it :-)

I will wait for the proper pattern. That will encourage you :)
I am the same with the don't look up or down, but mainly for cobwebs!

That reminds me of the sweater I started to knit during the last winter Olympics. Well, I stopped working on it during said Olympics, too. Only the last parts of the sleeves to be done (I didn't know how long they should be) and two rows around neckline and bottom edge... Should be dine fast... Perhaps I get the bag out this weekend...

Posted using Partiko Android

I so feel with you (I may or may not have another sweater on a cupboard which needs the cuff of the sleeve frogged and done anew...perhaps next winter :-D)
I send you finishing motivation 💞💞, and if your sweater is only a bit like your socks, scarfs and hats, it will be amazing (and I am curious to see it)

I really like that raglan cardigan, @neumannsalva.

I have also been trying to sort out and declutter for a while, especially after the flood last year :D. It's been a slow daily process. I'm taking my time and I do have the deepest respect for things. I also consider deeply where things will end up - charity shops mostly.

I do like the concept of a cloak of oblivion - I may need to borrow it at some point.

urghhh the flood.... I can imagine that this has led to a vast amount of work. And sometimes if you must move things anyway, it feels really good to revisit these things. And you are right with the respect, it is so easy to forget, that everything needs raw materials, work and time. I am often enthusiastic about a new dress, a new book, a new cup.... although I absolutely have enough. I am still learning in this regard. The same in giving away - I am very much attached to things, I feel like they are alive (I know....a bit strange) It is easier for me to give things away if I know that someone will like and use them.

And with the cardigan: so happy you like it. I still want to write this pattern down... but if I am too slow with the publishing/posting and you would like it, I can send you the notes <3 Although I am sure you do not need them, as it is not complicated.

The cloak of oblivion is improvised, I made it mainly with single crochet, but the yarn is very special. It is called 'extrem speculative infrared' 100g/1.000.000.000.000.000.000 m.

Hey there.. great post. I need to do the same thing. haha!
I am tweeting this one.

Thank you so much for the support!!! And yes, tidying up is tough - I blame creativity :-DDD

I was surprised to read Marie Kondo's name in the title but first of all I'm happy to see you smiling in the first photo @neumannsalva :) And "Bobilette" .... your sense of naming is ..... I'm laughing alone in kitchen now :D

It is always very satisfactory for me, if my humor is understood :-DDDD as I am often not sure, if it translates into another language.
And with the smile... my father is fairly ok right now and I try to use the time. (I hope I will not freeze again, when something changes).
Sending you hugs <3

Congratulations @neumannsalva! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 39000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Seeing you today smiling in this post made me smile too! 😊

Your finished cardigan is lovely!! I love how it fits comfortably on you!

I laughed while reading your list because I saw the word “sewing” three times and we know how you feel about sewing! 😄. Good for you for going for it anyway and buckling down to get some unfinished business finished! 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

I so love those shades of green together!

You are always in my thoughts ~ 💗

Yes, it was a good week as my father is okeyish now. I only hope I will not freeze again, when something changes. Right now, there is so much to do with health insurance coverage... As so often you must send everything triple and they try everything to not pay (for example the drives to the doctors, surgery etc...) With the diagnosis my father automatically is severely disabled, but the insurance wants one expertise after the other. I am writing and mailing for them, and I have no idea how someone without family should do this...
And with the sewing... I had a mood boost. The rain suddenly stopped here, and we have spring temperatures which lightens everything a bit. My favourite fabric store has everything on super sale and I plan some shirts, sweater and skirts. And in this rush I thought 'why not finish my knitting' :-DDDDD
Sending you sun beams <3

Wow! how amazing!!!! I remember some works from your box. very beautiful yarn and green and coral. it will be awesome clothes !!!! you finish the work with the sock much faster than you think. hands get used to the new work quickly and you no longer notice how the work is nearing its end. pink cardigan sits on you great. You look very stylish !!!! I really understand you about dangling ends of yarn .... it's terrible !!!!!

This is so amazing, that you remember my unfinished projects :-D And as it is so warm here the coral colour fits so well - its like spring. And thank you so much for the compliment. And with the yarn ends: I was brave :-D I finished the striped jacket.
I hope you had a wonderful week <3

Thank you, my dear! I hope all is well with you !!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01