Trying out busy.org

in #newbie6 years ago (edited)

I'm totally, acutely, painfully aware that I know nothing (yet)

This is my second post so I'm still a very tiny morsel of plankton (which looks like this:)
image.png
Source: http://blueplanetsociety.org/2015/03/the-importance-of-plankton/

Therefore, please bear with me if I offer the odd piece of nonsense that makes me look like I don't know what I'm talking about (and if it looks like that it's probably true). But at least I try, and I know a little more every day, after every single post I read. At the moment I have to concentrate the limited time I have on learning about this whole new and exciting world. So I apologise for not being as responsive as I'd like to be to some very nice people's posts who have upvoted and commented on my introduceyourself post a few days ago. One member, @honeysim, even entered my post in a payitforward contest for which I'm super grateful. I looked at every person's profile though and tried to develop a bit of a radar about what kind of people I want to follow, what interests me, and which are actually real people and which are not. Getting there, slowly... In any case, I am humbled by every contribution that was made and will follow up more actively as soon as I get a better hang of things.

Busy.org

While looking at the profiles of people who followed me (thank you to every one of the twelve of you), this post by @riverflows caught my eye: https://steemit.com/busy/@riverflows/why-i-prefer-busy-org-to-steem-com

It literally described all the little things I found a bit bothersome while writing my first post on steemit. You know, not VERY bothersome, only a little, and certainly not enough to not wanting to pursue this. But when I read this post about @busy.org, I certainly felt like someone had read my mind and it made me want to have a closer look. So I did. First of all, the train analogy was great and made it easy for me to understand that busy.org runs kind of parallel to steemit and is not competing with it. If I get this correctly, the two even assist each other to grow. This was important to me because I've already grown fond of the steemit community and grateful to its founders, and I wouldn't have wanted to already jump off the wagon and onto another one. What I didn't learn from this post was how it actually works with the signup and posting etc.

I then found the original train analogy (or at least an earlier version of it) here: https://steemit.com/steem/@mediavoice/explained-steemit-and-busy-org-using-this-analogy but her original story on media.com (link is in her post) describes it better. From that I learned that if you write a post in busy it will automatically show in steemit and vice versa. Cool, very helpful piece of information, basically enough for me to sign up to busy.org and give it a try. So I enthusiastically wanted to make an account but encountered another slight hiccup (no doubt due to my general lack of blockchain wisdom). Without any explanation or '?' or help button to click on, there popped up a window from something called steemconnect, asking "Do you want to authorise the STEEM account @busy.app to use your posting role?" I had no idea what that meant, and if I've learned one thing, it is not to agree to something I'm clueless about. So I looked it up and after reading this post https://steemit.com/steemconnect/@busy.org/introducing-steemconnect-by-busy-identity-authentication-authorization-for-steem-blockchain-s-apps, I felt confident to click that "Continue" button. And sure enough, there it was, instantly. A beautiful new profile, similar but different to my steemit profile. I like them both but I do find writing a post a bit easier here on busy. Yep, I wrote this post on busy and am now hoping it will really appear in steemit as well once I post it.

Is it weird to say I felt rather accomplished after that? Haha, I picture some of the truly accomplished folks shaking their heads right now (if I can get any of those reading this far). But hey, everyone has their own milestones to climb. One of my goals is escaping planktonhood. As much as I appreciate the role of plankton in feeding the whales of the world, I don't particularly enjoy being described as one. Having said that I'd probably like to just skip the next one... Nawww, just kidding, happy to do things step by step!

Steem Basic Income

Another concept that caught my eye is related to something I support generally and would therefore love to be part of here as well. I found all the information on @steembasicincome but I don't know how people can find someone to sponsor them into it. Is it pure luck to get picked for sponsoring, or is there something specific one can do to increase their chances? Or does someone like me, at the stage I'm at now, have no chance to get in? I'd love to hear some advice in the comments as I think it's a brilliant concept, well worth supporting. I've read and heard about several plans and proposals of universal basic income, mostly visions at this stage, and I believe it would make a huge difference in the world. Anything that can reduce poverty and homelessness is positive, and at the same time I believe it would increase productivity and creativity, and definitely general health and wellbeing. I will definitely try to get myself up to speed with the happenings in this area.

Now I wish everyone a happy Mother's day. However, please spare a thought for those who had to endure the loss of a child and for whom this day is therefore a recurring source of unspeakable pain. My heart is breaking today for two of my friends who were cruelly put in this impossible situation. I am eternally grateful that my own are healthy and kicking, but it teaches you to take absolutely nothing for granted. Hold your children close, tell them you love them, and appreciate the beauty of every moment!

That's it for today, more coming soon...

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem. Your busy posts do appear on Steemit (and many other related pages that show information posted to the Steem blockchain). In fact, I'm reading and responding on Steemit.

If it helps, you can think of Steem and Busy as different 'wallets' that you might use for bitcoin. Same blockchain, different user experience.

The easiest way to find sponsors for @steembasicincome is through contests. There are usually a couple dozen different contests every week. Most members post their contests into #steembasicincome, but there are also regular listings published:

https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@steembasicincome/steem-basic-income-more-great-contests
https://busy.org/steembasicincome/@steembasicincome/steem-basic-income-more-great-contests

Since you're using Busy now, I included both links and you can see that the content is basically the same, even though the post was originally published on Steemit, not on Busy.

Thanks for this super-helpful comment! I will enter a contest and see what happens. Being so new, I see all these different things that one can do and although the information is usually there, I feel so much better about trying things if someone (a trustworthy, real person) tells you something is a good thing and exactly what it's for. So, thanks heaps, I feel much more confident now to enter one of these contests. I wanted to ask if you can enter more than one at once. I assume you can only be sponsored once so it would make sense to only enter one at a time. But I'm sure I'll find this information myself.

Actually you can be sponsored multiple times and can enter more than one contest.

Hi @ydraz! @dreemsteem suggested that we feature your post on the Welcome Wagon! If you'd like to see what we said - Check it out HERE!

Thanks, this is awesome! I'm just looking at it now and at some of the other post that are featured and I've found some that I really like. Great work and thanks so much for including me :) BTW, I saw the post where you ask about the design of the signature. I must say that I like this one here best, which was no. 2, but I think that's only because I like it in one line. It seems everyone like the funny font on no.3 so my suggestion would be to use that font with this design.

oh thank you!!! Be sure to make that a separate comment on that post!! If your name is chosen - you'll win 3 SBD :)

I'm glad that you found other posts here that you like! We will be offering THREE of you a chance to go through our "crash course" next week, if you're interested! :) and if not - we will still love for you to visit our pages and get as much help as you can! The course is free! :) Just requires that you are ready to learn and have fun with us! :)

by the way.... I was wanting to get another share of SBI - happy to put your name on the other end :)
When I first got my share - it was someone doing the same for me.... so there you go! :) Just so you know - they said there is an enrollment delay of 2-3 days right now. So you'll probably start seeing their vote after 3 days :) There is your new SBI!!! Enjoy! :)

OMG, thank you so much. Wow, that is awesome, I'm blown away right now! And I'm going to do the same for someone else new as soon as I can do that. Still learning what it all means and the things I can do to best help others and myself as well. I did not expect this whole experience so be so rewarding, I'm quickly getting addicted to watching everything unfold. So exciting! Thanks again, can't believe I'm now a proud member of SBI, you made my day :)

hehehehe yeah - no problem :) Steemit is pretty addicting hahahahaha you might have to join Steemit Anonymous LOLOL

but... i'll warn you - i was a member. it didn't work. hehehehe I'm more addicted now than ever before LOLOL

Haha, you are so funny. I followed you so I don't miss any entertainment by @dreemsteem, lol!

hehehehe well there is a LOT of entertainment by dreemsteem LOLOL

I'm not sure how much of it is intentional on my part. I think people just enjoy laughing at me. hehehe

but that's ok - because laughter is the best medicine!!!

Happy Mothers Day!!! Really glad to help and set you off on a squirreling journey

Please dont hesitate to ask.. you can PM me on Discord anytime if you have a query.. if I dont know we can discover together!!!

Thanks, great to know there are such helpful people here :) I still have to look up what Discord is. I have to take it one thing at a time, otherwise it gets a bit overwhelming, but I love getting tips and hints from people who know more than I do! I'm really enjoying it so far, just wish I had more time. I'm supposed to work on a thesis but this is more fun, just a bit of a guilty pleasure at the moment. Planning to have more time one of these days!

Ah.. life is busy! [email protected] is my email.for steem it x

Nice job!!!!! You're getting around so well and learning on your own too!!!!

Happy momma's day to you also!!!today was a lovely day for me 😍 hope yours was too hehehe

The best thing about busy is the slider!!!!!! When you reach 500 SP on steemit, you get the slider for your vote! (So you can use more than the 10 votes per day without depleting your voting power)

Looooooved busy for that! Hehehe

If you're at all interested in some help, I'd be more than happy to come alongside you! Just let me know 😊

And if you'd just like to ask questions as they arise.. That's fine too! Happy to help! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12