interlude 130714

in #poetry6 years ago

This poem originally appeared on Sumayyah Said So.


Image Source

and people wonder why my smiles are forced
and why tear tracks stain my cheeks
why my fist stays clenched and why my heart stays broken
into shards sharp enough to slice me in two
i’m a Black man’s daughter
a Black man’s wife
a Black man’s mother
in this country of injustice and inequality
i fear for my life
and the lives of my sons
and wonder if i should keep them under lock and key
hide them in their room
until they turn 21 but
can i ever really set them free?

Recent Posts

Sort:  

So powerful! The reality of living while BLACK is so real. I can't imagine being a mom to Black boys, because the truth is, they have to go this life alone at some point. But what a scary thought it could be.

Yes. Mine are currently 11 and 14. And my nephews are 15 and 20. There is so much fear.

Such difficult ages because this the range where they realize that they are feared in this world for no reason, and they learn that the can behave the same as others but it can be perceived so different. Best of luck to you and don't let the news scary you too much. We can only believe we have given them the right tools and pray for mercy everyday <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87