(S)wordplay

in #poetry6 years ago


Image Source

(s)wordplay


heap empty praise upon the page
and purge the sincere word
from tongue and tablet
from lip and pen
from biography to epitaph to dirge
speak only the scripted
the pre-approved consensus
the faux that masquerades as bona fide
and preens and parades
in common spaces
muddling the genuine with the ersatz
and remixing the meaning of truth

15 July 2018
Sumayyah Talibah

Recent Posts

Sort:  

I love this poem so much, my steempower is low so I sent you 0.272 SBD to show my gratitude for this poem. Thank you for all you do @summayyahsaidso.

Oh! Thank you!

Oh!!! You have blessed my day with this. You are so awesome, WOW. I was looking for the next Steemian I wanted to curate and You are the one @summayahsaidso. This is a masterpiece in short. Thank You.

Oh! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75