THIS IS NOT A CURATION, THIS IS JUST OLD FASHIONED ENJOYMENT

in #poetry6 years ago

This evening, during the post review show on @stach discord server hosted by @pangoli, I came across this piece of art drawn by the talented @joyart, a Fine Arts student studying at the University of Uyo.

The piece caught my attention because of the figure in the piece. The old woman had seen years of toil and possibly suffering but her spirit was not broken. She still had the light in her eyes and that grabbed me.

The drawing had been made from a photograph and you can enjoy the artist's thoughts by reading the post here.


While the show was still ongoing, I had the urge to transform the picture into words and I gave free reign to my muse and the poem below was birthed. It is an impromptu piece with little or no alteration besides editing for grammar.

I hope you enjoy the picture and the poem as much as I did.


DQmVcUwu4pNDDAZrx3AV8t2vQu3FaTkPgWDh5eNwKwHt7uS.jpeg
Photo and art by @joyart.


MAMA IS GOLDEN


Oh Mama,
What have you not seen?
Can your numbered teeth count
The faded leaves of the several seasons
That have crumbled to dust beneath your lips?
Can your wrinkled skin tell us it's story;
The fingers of lovers long gone,
The breath of moist kisses long dried?
Oh Mama, what have you not seen?

Your eyes do not speak of wars,
Of afterbirths and tiny graves
Neither do they speak
Of love's fading footprint
And the moist nights, wet with dew,
When you danced your heart,
Your jigida beads clacking with the moon,
Into the eyes and ears of the one.

Your smile enraptures the sun,
And he sits still to stare at you.
For he remembers you, young and nubile,
Tossing the land with cracked palms,
Waiting for a husband who never came.
He remembers the fading light in your eyes then,
The dark years, the pain, the tears
And behold he sees you now,
Welcoming the light with wrinkled arms,
Showing him that you are an African woman
And that you have survived
With your soul scarred but intact.

Look at you oh Mama!
Your joy puts my broken spirit to shame,
Belittles my cry for freedom,
Curses my tattered heart for its weakness.
Look at you; the wrinkled heat
That spills from the bright light
Hidden in your eyes,
The beauty of your joy
Making each scar, each sag, each wart,
A beauty mark. Oh mama!
You give me life.


©warpedpoetic, 2018


If @joyart artwork here touches you, do not hesitate to go to her blog and show support.


Hey folks, this is Oskilo's blog and he would love to read your suggestions on how to make this blog better serve you. He would like to know what you, his reader, think of the content so do not forget to leave a comment; you just might have something he needs.

Peace


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics


4.png

Sort:  

I felt as is I could see the spirit of the woman in the artist work. But then you cam along and painted her life with your words. An amazing collaboration of talent and soul. The combination speaking volumes more than either alone could ever do. ~ beautiful work.

Thank you @headchange. I was trying to bring the woman to life and I am glad that I succeeded to an extent.
Thanks for stopping by. Please do come again.

I am sure I will be back around. I am seeing some of your older posts that I want to read. I always read way more than I type. Trying to overcome that habit a little. Hard to do when I keep finding so many interesting older posts to lure me in.

😂 that is not such a bad thing, reading. I try to read as much as I can too but probably not in your class though.
You probably need to find a balance between writing and reading

Yeah I am getting to know a lot of people on here. Not so great for growing the account though. I joined the engagement league I figure that will at least have me commenting more 🙄

Oh it will pay, you are making friends and they will visit your post too whenever you post something too. Commenting is one of the best ways to get interaction.

Another beautiful poem!

Thank you dear @charisma777. I am glad you approve.

Very nice poem, I don't think there has yet been a poem by you that I did not learn something from, of, or about - - Today - - A string of beads worn around the waist by Nigerian women - - Jigida beads. I thought it might be beads, but of course I had to look.

Yeah those beads used to be really popular. I don't think they were it much these days. I would not know though, I don't go about checking women's waist. 😂
Thanks for coming around @bashadow. Always a pleasure when you visit.

Damn Oskilo, That's incredible how you can paint such a provacative picture with words just by looking at that picture. You are truly talented my friend. Keep up the great work!

Thank you @jbreheny for your support. I will definitely keep putting out my best efforts on here as long as you reading and enjoying then I am making something worthwhile.
Thanks for stopping by. Please do come again.

You had a a perfect go with those words and i love that... Thanks so much for shari g my art, I'm grateful

You are welcome. It is beautiful, what you do.

Between the feeling of the artwork and poetry the emotion is almost unbearable.

I too would first notice the beautiful, joyous eyes...Though some of that unbridled joy must be bittersweet without question.

We cannot change what happens in life only how we react to it.

There is a similarity in these 2 fabulous works of art both you and @joyart told the story of those eyes with a feeling that shows depth of understanding....

Ugh! I am usually so good at choosing the right words but am struggling to explain myself right now...What I am trying to say is not told with words but feelings, I hope you understand me.

Your words are written with your heart as is that picture...those eyes.

My friend this is the best way I can explain it to you.

I felt genuinely moved when I looked at the old woman who is the subject of the piece, when I read your words in context to the woman I heard a clicking sound like the 2 belong together. Your amazing poetry made my heart fly and sometimes hurt too...Bittersweet...The story of a life.

Creating a feeling, an emotion in another is a rare and precious gift. Thankyou, thankyou both for sharing something that felt personal.

Take great care :)

Hello dear, your words are completely understood..... I mean it's amazing how easily those words stick to the heart and even more touching looking through those eyes........ This poetry speaks volumes of what cannot be fully analysed with just words and I'd say it's a huge thumbs up from me to @warpedpoetic

WOW the art is beautiful, and your poem! Blew me away. You have a great way with words. Your poetry is art. Thank you for sharing this with us.

Thank you @foxyspirit. Thank you for stopping by my blog and for letting the poem reach you. I hope to see you again.

These your words are soo nice. Nice one my troublesome friend. Indeed you are a poet

Thanks my new friend. I am glad you like. Do come again.

This is such a great write warpedpoetic. I admire how you put the image into words. You made that woman more beautiful in our eyes because of your poem! Great job!

Thank you @dawnshere. I was trying to share what I saw, the history behind the wrinkled, you know? Most times when we see the aged and elderly, we think they had never loved, they had never danced, they had never stolen kisses beneath a big moon, but it is not true, is it?
It was that memory I was trying to capture. I am glad you liked it.

The memory was truly captured in your writing.

At some point in our life, we've had quite a few sweet moments back when we were young. ^^

Yes we do. It is good to remember them and even tell of them so the memory will live on

The things you could do with a single picture.. Proud of ya buddy!

Thank you @victordaniels. I am glad you liked it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11