Sort:  

Yes, you can absolutely be somewhere in the middle between these two. However, you should still tend a little bit toward one of them. I am not a complete extravert myself, but I am more an extravert than a introvert. Although, I absolutely hate small talk :) You can try this test - it is not a scientific tool but it's fun to make and could give you an insight.
Thank you very much for pointing to my shameless misspelling of "steemstem"! I would have never noticed it if it wasn't you!

I've quickly taken the Eysenck’s Personality Inventory test. Here's the result. Does it mean I'm tilted towards extroversion? 😂
Or maybe I should take the test again though. Taking a test inside a noisy bus doesn't sound too cool though, lol.
I'll bookmark this test and send it to my friends to have fun. Though I know some of them would doctor the outcome :D

Thank you very much for pointing to my shameless misspelling of "steemstem"! I would have never noticed it if it wasn't you!

It's an honour

Yes, according to this test (which, again, is not a scientific instrument and it's not even the full version of Eysenck personality test (the real test has over a 100 items)) you tend to be an extravert. This means that your level of tolerance to external stimuli is high and you don't get exhausted by social interaction or whatsoever very easily. You could chat with a lot of people at a party, you would enjoy it and you would feel very excited about that. If you were an introvert you could still chat with a lot of strangers at a party, you will enjoy it at first but at the end you will feel rather exhausted than excited. I am curious, do you find this relevant to you?
You are lucky to have such a low level of neuroticism :) I am pretty sure that mine is higher ;)
Don't forget that this "extraversion-introversion" thing is just a tiny piece of the big picture of personality. There are many other personality traits, which combine with these two and make us unique. Yes, we could be born with a predisposition to behave and react in a certain way, but we have the one ability which makes us quite different than all the other animals on Earth - we learn all the time. So, as @joeyarnoldvn says, we could learn how to behave more like extraverts/introverts (and enjoy it!) and still be an introvert (or an extravert) inside :)
If you like taking tests, this one is far more sophisticated. It still has introversion-extraversion scale inside, but it's combined with a few more scales and personality traits :) We could compare the results. Still not a scientific tool! :D

This is absolutely helpful. I'm really appreciative of this.
I'd come around more often :D

Hey @insight-out
Here's a tip for your valuable feedback! @Utopian-io loves and incentivises informative comments.

Contributing on Utopian
Learn how to contribute on our website.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Thank you, very much!!!

In that test, you got a 22/24 making you mostly an extrovert. You are probably a social butterfly like me at least more so than anything else.

Lol. Yeah! I'm in for fun :p

I'm not really sure about my personality trait though. Maybe I'm a combo of introvert and extrovert, lol. Is that even possible?

I feel the same, that scale between "introvert" and "extrovert" can't be a one-dimensional line. I thought I was an introvert, but I love travelling and seeing new places, and I often enjoy meeting new people more than what I enjoy staying with old friends.

Hi, @tobixen. Thanks for bringing this up. Actually, people find themselves at the extremes very rarely. So, for instance, you could be a 60% extravert and a 40% introvert and that is quite common. As I mentioned in the previous comments, there are other personality traits which combine with this scale. One of them is sociability. They seem to be very close, but extraversion-introversion scale addresses how your nervous system reacts to environmental stimuli. If you are an introvert, you could still enjoy meeting people, but you would get overwhelmed more easily.

Great post btw @insight-out. There is actually a term for those who exhibit both traits it is called ambivert.

Thank you, @jasonbu. You introduced yourself as a "wanna-be-an-extrovert" type, which is quite fun. You made me smile. I should add it on my list of personality traits :D Many people could find thmesleves there :) Thanks for mentioning the "ambivert" type, many people find themselves in the middle of the scale and that's quite normal.

LOL, I completely forgot that I did that. That's exactly how I feel and operate. In my position, I need to find my inner extrovert, often - but it's exhausting. I definitely identify with your husband. Again great post. People don't really understand the true mind of an introvert - your post helps.

I find people misunderstand and often think I'm bored or not interested in an outing or event. In reality, I'm am but I'm usually consumed with expending a lot of thought and energy in trying to figure an angle to get out without damaging my career or friendships(mostly my wife's :-) friends). Constantly calculating how long do I have stay.

It's great that you've worked out a mechanism to deal with it. Key is doing things together. My wife and I actually plan outings giving me specific times that we would leave or to check-in with me. At that point, we either leave or extend. It works well allowing me to focus on the event and interactions.

LOL, I should definitely read your comment to my husband! He wouldn't believe it that there are actually people out there who behave in the exact same way as he does! :D
I am glad you and your wife found your way through it. It's not an easy task, for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63759.51
ETH 3318.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91