What to Do When Your Writing Re-opens Wounds

in #psychology6 years ago

Writing into my vulnerabilities is where I get my strength. It's a practice I've kept to for most of my life. The only periods when I didn't write were when I was deep inside depression and couldn't tell up from down, let alone the pencil point from its eraser.

Over the past week I wrote further into my trauma than usual every day. I don't know why except I'm missing my family. I am not abandoned, but I feel that way, and it turns out I'm carrying some very typical fears around the idea of abandonment. The more I've written into my sadness, the less I've felt safe. And that's a frightening thing to say because writing is my safe space. It's also very true and a hazard of the practice.

kat-j-525336-unsplash.jpg
Image Credit

I know how to mitigate the refreshing of trauma through writing. There is a very simple grounding technique anyone can use. I have shared it before, but I am going to share it again because everyone should have access to it. I'll keep it brief. This way, if you are feeling stuck emotionally or are, like me, experiencing PTSD dreams and flashbacks, you can use it right away. Here's what you do:

* Write without expectation for 5 minutes straight. Let it pour out. Do it by hand. Don't worry about grammar, spelling, punctuation or any of it. If you need more than 5 minutes, keep going until you're done.

* For five minutes, write about how that writing made you feel.



Now for an example:

Earlier today I composed a poem called "Hiding Place." It is about being abused, hiding, being found, and being told my abuse was not happening. While I was writing it, I was focused on word choices. I read it out loud to myself several times to be sure I was using a form that felt right. I spent quite awhile working and reworking the piece without really considering that I was remembering and capturing trauma. After I wrote it, I felt sick and tired. Bruised is an accurate description as well as an unsettling one. So now I'm going to check in with myself about the writing I did.

Writing "Hiding Place" made me remember being hurt and how the people who hurt me tried to warp my sense of reality to cover up their actions. I feel sad and angry, and kind of like I want to throw up. It hurt to write that piece, but it was also a relief. Every time I write it, I am letting the pain out. So, I don't feel great but I will feel better.

It never ceases to amaze me how much better I feel when I'm honest with myself. The italicized self check-in didn't make the memories or sadness disappear, but it did ground me. And the reason is this:

When we are honest with ourselves about how we are feeling, we are giving ourselves permission to have those feelings. Unaccepted feelings stay put. Accepted feelings get resolved. Because I have accepted my feelings, my subconscious is now doing the work of letting them go. There is no need to hold onto them. They have served their purpose.

I hope this technique is helpful to you.

What questions do you have about writing through trauma?

Recent Posts

Steemit Bloggers
Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Nice post

I spend most of my time writing especially at night when everyone is asleep
Just write
=)
where is everybody! Cried in the depths of it is as usual do not dare to express loudly! .. happened to the street .. What happened! Cars are dusty and dusty, as if everyone has been gone for a long time.

Looking right and north did not find evidence of ammonia, his knees trembled and his legs and shoulders relaxed and fell to the ground in astonishment ..

He did not give him any idea and his imagination yesterday did not give him any possible stories today .. Only in a city that has always felt alone in it ..

Suddenly! Quiet voice .. Where is the sound source? And the sound of the faint voice gave him hope to find some neighborhoods ..

He opened his ears like a dog, and in search of his owner, he walked in cautious steps.

The sound rises a little bit as if Anin is about to die waiting for someone to throw the certificate or extract it from under the rubble ...

The poor man ran towards the sound, and because all the doors were open he went straight into the house, without thinking about the sound source.

The first room went beyond, but the house was only a room and a kitchen. It has the largest three-room house and the third room is the most diligent of the population

He does not pay attention to that now, but that is in his interest ... I turned to the kitchen and then saw the blind ..

His heart split half and his soul was torn to pieces. The source of the sound was his poor friend, the black cat .....

This is very lovely!

Writing plays a cathartic role for me as well. It enables me to take out of my system whatever bothers me.

It can be such a beautiful release.

Thank you for this! I often neglect to write about how I feel about writing, but I think that release is just as important as the release of writing the initial feelings.

Writing has always helped me too. It's amazing what comes out when you just write and read it afterwards.

I am so glad to hear this. It can be such a wonderful tool.

This post is sponsored by @appreciator in collaboration with #steemitbloggers. Keep up the good work

One thing I find myself doing every now and then is to pour back over my writings from previous years. It amazes me how I can pinpoint the exact emotions, moods, and traumas I was facing based on my writing style and the context of the writing. Few too people understand the healing, transformative power of writing!

I agree! I am working hard on getting the message out. It's such a dream to be living a life where teaching this is my main work. :)

Congratulations @shawnamawna! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I journaled through most of my hardcore trauma work, for years in notebooks (which at some point I burned) and then for another numerous years online on live journal. It was the most healing thing in so many ways. It was also good for me to journal online, because I was able to see and recognize patterns in my life, my choices and my reactions that taught me SO much about myself.

I'm so sorry that you're having to go through this, but I so greatly admire you for sharing your process and helping others find their own way as well. You're an incredible person.

@byn, I just think you are the most amazing. Burning writing is therapeutic. Finding patterns is transformative. I am so grateful we are both steeming.

I’m sorry sometimes you are sad but your writing is very much raw and human. It’s get and I hope it helps you gain confidence for you and you definitely deserve it! :)

Thank you so much. I think there is something to writing raw. It does very much keep me in touch with the idea that I don't need to be perfect and keeps be from being hung up on "if only" thoughts.

It keeps you in touch with your real self for sure. I'm finding my real self is taking care of the other me that pops out and isn't confident or feels bad. It's taken me years, but it's happening.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84