The art of Shitposting?

in #shitpost6 years ago (edited)

No, I don't mean you, regular Shitposter, you are off this category, yours is not art.

Recently I've seen some of the best content creators here on Steemit - some of them with whom I've chatted a lot about this subject - shitpost.

I did it quite recently, perhaps you saw my post called drunk Eric.

But you see, this is why it is called art, because shitposting is something - in my perhaps full of myself and egocentric opinion - reserved only for those who continually create the best content they can. Those who day after day spend hours preparing a post and strive to always have top quality content on their blog.

Those who, when they post something below the quality they have their audience used to, receive a handful of direct messages from their friends. Messages like "wow, nice shitpost man, you really overdid yourself this time!.

That happens only because this behaviour on these people - myself included - is something that sets off those who follow us and perhaps have us as role models.

Are we losing faith in the system? Do we feel like we are falling behind compared to others on the Steemit race? Did we realize it doesn't matter what we post, we might get rewards on the post?

After all, a lot of people vote for the person and not the Steemian and, as we have other people used to our top tier content, they might not even check out our posts, because they are certain we create good content.

Well, some people might think one of these reasons are behind that lone shitpost surrounded by all those great posts we try to create but, to be completely honest I think it's something quite different.

I've only done 1 or 2 shitposts (according to myself, altought I may be wrong according to you, sweet reader) in my whole Steemit life and I don't plan to do another in a long time.

The reason I made that shitpost I believe it's the same of those top content creators that have done it in the past: Sometimes you just want to share something small, something simple, an idea or picture that could be considered as low tier content, but you don't do it because you have a quality status to mantain. I know I've done it, I could post 5 times a day everyday but I don't do it, because I want to keep my average post at least great tier.

The thing is, during these past days I have learned that if you create awesome content day after day, you are entitled to shitpost once in a while - this while being one every month or two, at the minimum. This doesn't mean I'm encouraging you to do it, but let's stop being hard on ourselves, if you feel like sharing something small, a developed idea that you think is low tier, a set of photographies without any text, do it. Give yourself a break, it's not like you are going to shitpost every day - I certainly hope that - but also, that one shitpost is not going to destroy everything you've created over the past months or year.

That's the reason I've voted some of those shitposts I saw the past weeks, because the authors deserve a break after making top posts after top posts.

What do you think? Am I delusional? Do you concur with this idea? Is this something you can get behind?

Oh yeah, I'm talking to you, top content creators, I would like to hear your take on this, I'm not talking to the regular shitposters, those can go shove their bad quality content up their blogs.

Sort:  

Captura de pantalla 2018-05-26 a la(s) 18.16.05.png

Lol sad but true regarding some people :/

AMEN to this!

Have we ever talked about this subject before, or are you just exactly on the same page with me on this? So weird!

You know I create a lot, and post a lot, every day, varying content, mostly photography related, and I use the majority of my day for making that, and making it better. It is quite tiring at times and I definitely shitpost here and there to give myself a little break.

I'm so happy that you, as a very big and known user, have the balls to say out loud that sometimes you just want to share a simple selfie and call it a day!

mmm you sexy beast :P Not only beautiful, but smart and witty!

I'm sure that comment was meant to go to @anomadsoul! ;)

If I feel like heck I just need a break or something just taking way to long for me to get out I’ll toss up something sweet and short. A 50 word story or a short update. I’m also a nobody and I rather have a few blogs a week than just a single one or none at all. If I go missing for a week(s) working on a longer term post people tend to forget about you and move on when you’re a little nothing.

I get push back. People unfollow, stop auto upvoting, make a comment about it. It’s whatever in my eyes they can do what they choose. Even more so when that’s the only comment they have made on a blog in months of mine. Content that is different that’s not like everyone else takes a while in both going out and getting that fresh experience and creating it.

I can’t every day put out a 3k word blog with a dozen or more photos or screenshots. I can’t pour 10 hours into a single guide for a game daily. Sometimes gasp my content is less than 1k words with just a couple of photos or screenshots.

It would be soul crushing to try and every week to put in 60 hours into a single game playing it to boredom. Then create that amazing game review with 30 or more screenshots that’s 4k words long. Making other game reviews look like they took all their screenshots in first hour of game play and then wrote based on information they found off a site. Do I wish I had the energy to put out that kind of game review more often? I sure do. I tend to try and break something like that up over course of several weeks so I can enjoy other stuff.

Everyone wants to rush and get something out that same day well that great if your happy using press release screenshots and just write a review based on press releases with an hour of real in game time played.

End of the day I have varying amount of time put into a blog and effort. Some stuff could take me a week(s) to put together or longer. While other stuff just that day. Most days I just want get out and comment and enjoy other people’s content shit or not. Hard to do if your always working on that next “big one.”

You know, I think I'm with you on this one. Day after day, week after week, trending is filled with the most mindless crap imaginable. Those who try their best to post solid content continually deserve to put out the odd shit post without being called out for it.

I'm glad those Steemians are at least sticking around ;)
As there is always a chance that things might get better someday when it comes to quality content.
Personally I gave sbd in almost all of my shitposts, because I kinda felt bad otherwise. However, it really sucks if a quality post is undervalued too much, so a shitpost can even out the losses. :)

I was having similar dilemmas about my progblogs, I try for weekly with them but have been skipping a lot because I figured they qualified as shitposts because I haven't made any discernible progress and I feel bad for the people that have me on autovote or curation trails for whatever reason. Recently decided I would just post it weekly as I'll probably find something to ramble about why I didn't progress as much as I wanted, and maybe they'll forgive me because I post so erratically anyway? XD

And in your case and most of the other people I watch, your shitposts are still better than all the other shitposts out there anyway XP

goatsig

How many times do I need to tell you that you're too hard on yourself? ;>)

Probably all of the times? I'm trying to be nicer to myself but I have a variant definition for nice XD

goatsig

El tema de realizar post de calidad, que aporten valor es una parte muy importante de nuestra vida aquí en Steemit. Creo que todos le dedicamos bastantes horas a lo largo de toda la semana a nuestros post y a veces solemos subestimar la importancia del descanso o de los post sencillos. Muchas veces, incluso los sábados y los domingos, continuamos con la mente ocupada pensando en que publicar, cuando publicar… Especialmente nosotros los nuevos que queremos comenzar a tener presencia aquí.
Si creo conveniente que las personas que de verdad crean contenido de valor para comunidad puedan tener sus “shitpost” el problema es cuando todas las personas comienzan a convertirse en shitposters (Y creo que al igual que yo lo has comenzado a ver mucho por aquí)

Now I'm thinking I should start shitposting every once in a while, instead of having weeks without any post..

Vote my shitpost man i'll vote yours

Does it counts for Shit-comments too ?

If everyone tries as the other commenter says to hang with better people than you, i see a problem, because then people who is better than me will be trying to hang with people who is better than them and would not want to be hanging out with people like me who is not better than them, because they would ...

Damn it that's complicated...

Does this qualifies as a shit-comment already?

I was doing something and needed a break and Gina told me you posted...

EDIT: I mean nothing bad about the other comment it just gave me a good conundrum to ramble about...

I pretty much agree with you: it doesn't matter once in a while... the question is what's an acceptable ratio:

  • 90% quality, 10% shit?
  • 80% quality, 20% shit?
  • 70% quality, 30% shit?
  • or proportionally more shit?

Actually having 30% of your posts 'shit' sounds like a too high a percentage.

Freudian slip here maybe:

The thing is, during these past days I have learned that if you create awesome content day after day, you are entitled to shitpost once in a while - this while being one every month or two, at the minimum.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00