❓Answering Common Questions: How do I get more Votes? - Part 5: HELP OTHERS!

in #steem-help6 years ago (edited)

It may sound Counter-Intuitive,
but I Swear it Works!!

People remember those who took
time out of their day to help them!



This guide is going to be rather short and sweet...but immensely important! While I completely understand the drive of getting that next post out, trying to get people to upvote you, figure out how much you've been earning...it's easy to forget that those people giving you upvotes are mostly PEOPLE! Just like you and me!

In the previous part of this series on getting more votes we talked about building your brand and making yourself memorable. Every day there are over 10,000 new posts published! So tell me...how am I supposed to notice the one you posted?

Sure, we talked about using repetition to your advantage (like post formatting, banners, hanging out in the same chat rooms for a while, etc) where at least some people will naturally (and often unconsciously) pick up on things that seem familiar to them (like your username for instance.)

Now, when you recognize someone's username, isn't the next though "Where did I see that before," or "What was the situation where I saw that before?" Sometimes it's just from hanging out chatting, or maybe it was that private message that popped up out of the blue asking for a vote. Just between these two...I bet you'd sooner go for the one you recognized just from hanging out together.

But now...lets say in your normal hangout spot, you wanted to try something completely new like cashing out a few Steem Dollars. (The first cash out is often extremely scary to a person new to crypto!) So you ask in the chat if anyone could help you out, so you don't accidentally do it wrong and lose your money. One person says "using an exchange and a wallet," even though you're new to crypto and doesn't exactly help you much.

Then someone else chimes up, asks those questions like what country you're in (since not all wallets exchange for all countries.) Remember...you don't even know that these questions matter yet! But this person does...and is walking through these important variables for you! They stick around, helping answer questions when unsure on parts of the guide, send a screenshot or two back and forth...until BOOM!! Your money is on the way to arrive in a few days.

Take time out of your day!

So let me as now...out of all these scenarios...WHO are YOU going to remember the most? Of course it was the person to "TOOK TIME OUT OF THEIR DAY" to help you! Sure, the person that said you need an exchange and a wallet was perhaps helpful in a teeny tiny sort of way...but didn't it feel like they didn't really stop to give you the time of day? Obviously they didn't realize (or care) that you're completely new to crypto.

The one who stopped..asked questions that were extremely important and provided that little bit of assurance while stepping through this somewhat scare process for the first time.

Almost everybody on Steemit has at least one person that has been their 'go-to' person with questions or needing help!

Now sure...you may not be an expert on Steemit or crypto. But I guaranty you still have something quite meaningful to provide to others. This could mean reading through someones post and giving 'honest feedback," maybe just being there for them to vent to or whatever you can think of! What's important is to actually STOP what you've been doing or just use some of your free time...but making this direct, one on one connection is what were looking for here!

I don't want anyone to take this to mean you should be fake, or talk about things your don't really know the answers to. I want you to TRULY AND HONESTLY want to help this other person! Don't do it just because you think you'll get their votes for a prolonged period of time.

However, this is a quite natural response when taking time out of your day, to focus on somebody else's current needs!

Final Thoughts...

Yes it's important for you to improve and ideally succeed. But when you sacrifice your time, to help a fellow Steemian, not only are you going help the overall community...but you'll also earn their vote for a prolonged period of time!

WIN/WIN

And as always...

Keep your chin up...Keep posting...Keep improving!

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I get more Votes?-Part 1-Part 2-Part 3-Part 4

❓Answering Common Questions: Why do my Post Payouts and Account Value go down ❓

Click HERE for a list of All my Guides!

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem if you found this Guide Helpful.


TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Image Sources:
Helping Quote 1
Helping Quote 2

Sort:  

You are right, I remember the people who have helped me out. Sometimes I feel a bit lost around here still and it is a good feeling I can ask for help. The other way around feels good to. The few times I was able to help somebody out made me feel great to. Especially when that person took the time to thank me.

We all have something to give because we all have an unique set of skills. Lots of times we don't even realise that what we are good at can be hard for somebody else. So a little gesture can be worth a lot.

so right!!! good comment :)

I will never forget my first time to use the steemitchat and you were there to help and encourage. It was my intro post and I was down because all other intro posts were doing great so I felt like I was doing something wrong again. And then you were there and took time to read and say what you thought about it, even upvoted it when you were not supposed to be voting anymore that time! You told me that my post was a "strong one". I'll never forget you because you uplifted me when I thought being in Steemit is not for me. Plus, all the questions that you answer! :) Maraming Salamat po/ Thank you very much @sykochica :)

Very good points in your post. It's always good to have someone that you feel you can reach out to for help and there are many willing people here on Steem to do that . After all, we are all investors here and want to make this the best social media site around.

Yes, honestly keeping good morals and acquitted skill in posting is key.
Because even though there are websites which you could get your upvotes from its better to build a continuous stream of post and comments so people would be interested in your post and follow you, so they could upvote your post everyday!
and comment nice things

@sykochica HELP OTHERS! That says it all! Just imagine what the world could be if everyone cared and shared. If everyone helped each other. Nobody would be sad in a world like this.

Thanks for always trying to help new Steemians. It is highly appreciated!

Highest Regards
@lordneroo

You are right @lordneroo, that is, if all help would be great, a few days ago publish something that I would love to give me your appreciation, I invite you to visit my publications, they are few but it would be an honor to have you among my followers https://steemit.com/cervantes-spanish/@esquinacreativa/la-lealtad-the-loyalty

Reading your post and giving you honest feedback, as you mentioned in your post, is very important to me. Perhaps, because I have a huge respect for everyone in Steem community who realy does spend time to do articles, posts, novels, funny posts... Steemit became to me not only as an opportunity to make some $, but also to get educated. For example: I have never in my life read books, only at school when I had to and here I’m reading novels, posts....
Of course I have manny skills others don’t and I have been using my free time to help my friends whenever they asked, that’s what we should do, correct?
You post is great!
Resteemed!
Can’t upvote, having too low voting power at the time being, just being honest.

You have been that person for me. Inspiring me to do more and do it better. I think helping others is my key to happiness here.

I've always been learning from the day I started posting, until now and I don't wanna give up posting until I reach my goals.

Actually an advice that we should all apply in our daily life... to build a better world, as we have in the steemit community! Very nice article :) thank you for sharing !

Sabes amiga, hace días publique algo muy sencillo pero tenía que ver sobre la ayuda, si todos ayudaran seria fenomenal, aquí hay muchos que piden pero no dan, hay que revisara de vez en cuando quien te sigue y quien no, sean sinceros con ustedes mismos, hace unos días publique algo que me encantaría que me dieras su apreciación, te invito a que visites mis publicaciones, son pocas pero sería un honor tenerte entre mis seguidores https://steemit.com/cervantes-spanish/@esquinacreativa/la-lealtad-the-loyalty

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56