The scarcity of time and finding a balance. My eternal struggle

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

IMG_8142.JPG

This issue may sound familiar to you. You want to do 100 things, but your day just isn't long enough.

My daily struggle is to balance my time between my day job, working out and doing stuff in "real life" with friends and family, all while being active on Steemit. I have loads of people I want to actively follow and engage with, in addition to writing or filming my own content. But somehow it seems impossible to do it all in one day. I sometimes wonder how others are doing it, living their regular offline lives, and also being extremely active online.

The pressure to produce...


Many Steemians drop off the face of the platform because of the disastrous crypto market. They see no more value in posting so they just stop, but this is not my case.

Many times, I tell myself Eve, you need to sit down and write something, but it's not the motivation that is lacking

I feel that if I don't post at least every other day, my blog will lose value, I will lose credibility as a "serious" steemian, and my viewers will forget about me. I become nervous when I reach day two after my last post, feeling the withdrawal from that rush you experience when you publish new content. The Ginabot alerts telling you who upvoted you, and who commented. It's addictive.

I admire those who are able to be extremely productive online and offline. I know it's possible, but I would have to sacrifice sleep (which is a no-go for someone like me who likes to sleep at least 8 hours per day), or become a hermit. I did fall into this trap a few months ago, and have decided that I simply can't do it anymore.

Time that is wasted, never comes back.


You'll tell me that writing and creating content here is not wasting time, and perhaps I didn't choose the correct words. What I mean to say is that it's a trade-off. The hours that you choose to spend online are inevitably lost elsewhere.

On Sunday, our internet connection broke down for most of the day, and I found myself wondering what the hell I should do with my life. It's scary to see how dependent we have become of the internet. It was cloudy and it threatened to rain, which is why spending the day at the beach was out of the question. I had to occupy myself at home somehow.

I couldn't watch a movie because Netflix requires an internet connection. I couldn't read the usual quantity of steemit posts, which I usually catch up with during the weekends.

I felt frustrated at first, but then decided to do all the things that I had postponed before, and that were long overdue.

These things included cleaning the house, catching up with friends with a real phone call, walking my dog for longer than just 5 minutes, making a new batch of deodorant. I had run out several days before, but had been too occupied to bother making more (no worries, I always have a commercial one in reserve, so I didn't smell...). Taking care of myself is also something I've neglected to do (waxing my legs, proper skin care and other stuff I normally never do when I'm in a hurry). I even worked a little in the garden, after making a new fitness video, which is something I meant to do for a while but always put off doing. Finally, I also got to reading a book I had bought a while ago and never finished.

It felt good!


It was great to be disconnected for a few hours and do things in the real world. The internet frees us in many ways, but it also imprisons us in others and traps us, keeping us away from forming relationships, taking part in social activities, or from simply being otherwise productive.

I wondered, when was the last time I invited a friend for lunch or dinner? With my connection gone, I suddenly felt the need to see people. Relationships require work, and once you stop putting in the effort, they fall apart. I know that spending time online is what keeps me from being a better friend sometimes. And it's not just me! All you need to do is look around the room when you go to a restaurant. How many couples do you see glued to their phones without actually talking to each other?

You might tell me but Eve, on Steemit we form real relationships and friendships too!

While that may be true in the long run, and especially after meeting people IRL at events such as Steemfest, these are not the people we would call when we need a favor or when we need a shoulder to cry on. At least not yet. Again, relationships require time and effort. Most of us live on opposite sides of this planet, hence we couldn't count on each other in the event of an emergency even if we wanted to.

Sometimes I ask myself who my real friends are, here in Bocas del Toro where I live. The thought is quite depressing, because the number I come up with is extremely small. But isn't that all my own fault? If I socialized a little more, if I had accepted some of the invitations that finally stopped coming, if I spent less time online, could I fill that void? Probably. I will just have to find out at the expense of my Steemit reputation staying glued at 63.


What about you? Do you struggle with time, motivation and balancing your real life with your online one?


eve signature.png

logo+join

Sort:  

I have the same issue, it's most of the time my short term comfort leading the way which is not always best. One of the things I should do more is think about what the absolute best thing is I can do at any given moment and just do that. It would certainly result in a lot less time online.

yeah, that's a good approach =) May try that as well =)

Yes to all of it! There are so many things in life vying for our attention that it is impossible to give each of them the same amount at all times. I think we all tend to have trouble finding the best balance in the midst of it all. For me it seems to change week to week sometimes. If I'm busy at work one week, I may spend more time online because I need alone time at home to recover and recharge my introvert batteries. Then another week I may be busier with friends and family, then I end up being scarce on here.

I have learned not to be too worried if I don't post as frequently as I would like. I miss interacting with everyone when I'm not as active, but in the end I've found if I don't have time to post I can use that time to comment instead. I think we all understand the challenges in being really consistent, so I can say for myself I don't hold it against anyone when they are not posting as much. I may bug you to see where you are because I miss you, but not to be pushy about it. Then again I have trouble enough sometimes reading or watching all the posts I would like, so to be fair I actually kind of enjoy when it is a little more quiet!

yeah I just need to set priorities and abetter schedule..I do everything freestyle, and then I end up not having time for anything. I also get lazy LOL. But I feel SUPER guilty for not interacting more, and you're one of those people I feel guilty about ahahaha sorry!!!!

I actually made a list on Tuesday for once and that really helped me knock out some stuff. I think I'm definitely one of those people if I write it down it is more likely to happen. At least we usually cross paths on Discord every few days, so no worries. :) I feel like I'm always behind in at least one group on here. I think I've kept up with my vegan foodies pretty well, but have been neglecting my running buddies. After doing the plank challenge I got a little burnt out on the fitness end of things, so I need to pick that back up again. Maybe I'll think of something fun to kick off the new year!

yeah same here...I've neglected the fitness stuff too lol. didn't really stop, but I'm not training as often as I would like and not blogging about it either. Will start again soon

Hahah was it you to whom I've sent a picture of me and my flatmates, absolutely scared spending whole day in the garden on sun when internet wasn't working? :D writing on the wall and making our own Wilson as if we were in Cast Away movie? :D time without internet is the most scary one...we just sat 4 hours with colleagues in restaurant beim Torggelen (I guess u know what's that) and I couldn't wait to get back online :D

And yepp, I feel the same about missing a day on steemit :D

Hahah the explanation about the commercial one :D btw I've noticed that if you don't use deodorant for couple of days you kinda stop stinking that bad :D at least I feel that's the case for me :D hahah weird topic

Posted using Partiko Android

ahahha yeah I remember LOL. Was cool though to be withoutit for a few hours, no?

About the deodorant, maybe you got used to your own smell? aahahahaha just kidding....I actually heard that might be true. I just can't stand being without it, it drives me nuts =)

hahah I knew you'd say thaat :D I deffo hope it wasn't the case and hope people around me would tell me :D

I probably spend too much time on Steem :) I try to get as much as possible done in a day but I find myself prioritising the things I like doing above things that are crucial (but that I don't necessarily like doing). This is a bit of a problem because that's a kind of procrastination that can be dangerous.

If my Internet died for a day, I don't know what I'd do haha.

ahaha I hear you, I think I spend too much time on Steem and not enough at the same time. Yesterday I sa a post by @nathanmars asking dtubers to post at one video per day and commenting, and I thought to myself "oh no...I totally suck if I can't do that" ahahahah. Oh well, I can't change my reality...

You got a 8.46% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @evecab!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94