Is Steemit just another get-rich-quick scheme?

in #steemit6 years ago

Some of my favourite Steemians – people whose posts I used to regularly look forward to and upvote – have dropped off the radar recently. Their accounts have become inactive and they haven't posted or commented for months, despite having appeared to be very enthusiastic, regular posters.

It could be due to a major life event, or just burning out and running out of steam… (sorry, I couldn't resist!).

Or maybe their expectations of Steemit were just too high from the outset. I'm reluctant to say that they might have seen Steemit as a "get rich quick" scheme, as that sounds vaguely insulting.

Steemit money tree thumbnail.jpeg
Source

But I wonder how many people's first impressions of Steemit are formed from looking at the Trending page, seeing some glib nonsense earning $700, and thinking… "I could do better than that!"

The disappointment comes when their carefully crafted post earns just a few cents, or nothing at all!

And if they do persist, start to build a following and actually earn some Steem… when a big dip comes around, with the value of Steem plummeting, some Steemians just give up.

There's no guarantee with any investment. Steemit could disappear in a puff of smoke. But even if it does – and I think it's unlikely, even if Ned really is powering down – I still have copies of the material I've published, and I see that in itself as an investment.

Dips can be opportunities

Wise traders "buy the dips" and invest for the long term. Even if you're disappointed in your progress on Steemit, surely it's better to keep posting, but not as frequently, or even just continue to curate, maybe with a bot, rather than dropping out altogether?

That's the way I see it anyway.

I can see where these "dropout" Steemians are coming from, as I went through this process myself. If you look at my profile, you'll see that I joined Steemit in August 2016, but didn't post anything until November 2017.

I heard about Steemit on YouTube, thought "Wow – I could make money from social media!" and signed up.

The interface was quite different at that time, and there weren't so many quality posts. I was very busy with other projects, and I just couldn't get my brain round how it worked; where the money to pay for upvotes came from. I thought it seemed a bit weird and nerdy. I quickly lost interest, and never posted.

In doing so, I might have thrown away the opportunity to be a dolphin, or even a whale by now!

I came back to Steemit last November, attracted by the success of Dtube. That's when I noticed the vast amounts of cash that many quite mediocre posts were earning – and I started posting in earnest.

dolphins.jpg
Source

By letting my account stay dormant for over a year, I may have thrown away the opportunity to become a dolphin, or even a whale. Or maybe I just postponed that opportunity…

One or two of my posts made a lot of money quite early on. This was at a time when Steem dollars were quite highly valued. At the time I didn't even realise that I'd received Curie votes - I just thought that I'd stumbled across a way to make money by doing what I loved - writing. So it was a bit of a disappointment when other posts I'd written only made a few cents.

I realised there was more to it than money

However, by then I had started to really love Steemit, and not just for the money. I was seeing the bigger picture – the decentralisation it offers, the lack of censorship; the opportunity to read and share quality material published without corporate influence and propaganda.

I also became excited by the massive level of development going on, with DTube, DLive, zappl, 1Up, Steem Ocean, Steem Basic Income… there are more projects on this platform than I can imagine, and it seems to be growing exponentially. And the quality of published work is jaw-dropping. People seem to be throwing their passions into Steemit.

It's like the early days of the internet!

Back in 1994, I was working for a company called Teletext, in London. Teletext produced television subtitles, but the medium had expanded into a TV text service that offered news features, games, "Service Pals" (a feature to link up army veterans), and most popular of all, holiday offers. My job was to produce women's interest features.

Teletext was about to become superseded by the internet. There were four of us who were fascinated by the internet at the time, and we would excitedly discuss our new discoveries. This small group included the boss of the company, a supervisor, another section editor, and myself.

I remember the other section editor excitedly calling me over to his computer to show me an online shop based in the US, offering a range of teddy bears. I thought that was a really bizarre thing for anyone to want to purchase online.

Teddy Bears.jpg
Source

The first online shop I ever saw sold teddy bears.

I remember excitedly telling my friends about the internet and getting blank looks, or comments along the line of "I prefer to have real friends whom I can talk to face to face," – the implication being that I was a sad weirdo who preferred the company of my computer to real people.

It was a bit weird. I'd been saving up, and I was preparing for a round-the-world trip. I had a Psion Organiser, and using compuserve.com, I'd put a message out on a message board, asking if it was currently safe to travel through Pakistan.

I was astonished when someone living in Pakistan posted a reply!

Psion Series 3.jpg

Source
This was my internet screen back in 1994.

There were no online images on my screen at that time – it was just text on a black background. I spent the next couple of years on and off travelling round the world, and in those few years, the world wide web took off exponentially.

But as we all know, the corporates began to reassert control of the internet, with a few enormous players pulling the strings.

Is Steemit the new internet?

I think it would be excessive to see Steemit as "the new internet", although in some ways, given the level and variety of development on the platform, it seems to be going that way. I suspect that other Steemit-type blockchains will come along, maybe improving on the concept. EOS might take things to a whole new level. But I think Steemit could be paving the way for a new era of decentralisation.

There are so many quality posts of all kinds being regularly published on Steemit that it would be impossible for one person to reward all of them, even if they had an enormous amount of Steem Power. That's why communities are so important – communities like The Steem Engine, The Alliance, MakeItHealthy, the SteemitWorldMap.

Make_it_healthy_Basket_Logo.png

Communities like Make it Healthy serve an important purpose on Steemit.

Working with communities is the best way not just to build a following for your own work, but to find good content to curate, as curation is an often overlooked aspect of Steemit. And it's a great way to meet like-minded people and make new friends.

This is another way that Steemit reminds me of the internet in the early days. I would welcome better search and organisation facilities to help people manage the content and find material that interests them. But I'd hate that to be a Google-type system that becomes the overarching controlling power.

Google solar system.jpeg

A good search engine for Steemit would be brilliant, but not one that wants to take over the world.

Another thing I love about Steemit is the more equal voice it gives to people living all over the world and from all walks of life. I think that aspect of the web is being lost, with the increasingly centralised control of social media and search engines, so that what you see in your news feed is based on your previous "likes" and interactions.

The monetary value of Steem is comparatively higher in less "developed" countries where the cost of living is lower, and as a result I think people from those countries are more likely to stick around during the dips. Their accounts will perform better in the long term. This is another way that Steemit could be seen as an equaliser.

Steem Basic Income – paying it forward

I often find that I'm too busy or disorganised to look into even a tenth of the projects on Steemit that I'd like to investigate. One of these is the Steem Basic Income scheme, which I first heard about a couple of months ago, but I've only just got round to investigating further.

This project sets out to award a basic income, in the form of regular upvotes, to Steemians, so they can publish their passions, without worrying about where the next upvote is going to come from. To participate, you buy "shares" – one for yourself and one for another Steemian of your choice. You send one STEEM (not Steem Dollar) to @steembasicincome, and in the transaction memo, you put @[name of the person you want to support].

As with most worthy projects, I can see a few potential flaws and abuses – but at the same time, it's a positive idea which will hopefully give many under-rated accounts a boost. And I think its "community engagement" premium (awarded according to the amount of engagement undertaken by the recipient) should make the scheme less susceptible to bot abuse.

I was recently nominated for a Steem Basic Income share by @sultnpapper, and I would like to pay the compliment forward to three Steemians who I think are producing great work, but not getting the attention they deserve. Despite this, they are sticking at it, and not giving up – and I hope that continues to be the case!

And the SBI award goes to...

The first Steemian I am nominating is @hafizullah. He lives in Bangladesh, a country I have never visited, but the short videos he publishes regularly on DLive and sometimes on DTube give a really interesting insight into life there. I find them really fascinating, and very entertaining.

hafizullah.jpg

It's not yet possible to embed Dlive videos, so the link to the video is here

Another video producer whom I think deserves a much bigger audience is @percyjules. I'm very impressed by the quality of his work, and by his engaging and professional delivery. I think he could be a DLive star of the future if he keeps at it and doesn't get disheartened. Not that he shows any signs of doing so, despite the fact that his videos have not been getting the attention they deserve.

Percyjules.jpg

PercyJules: a DLive star of the future? Link to the video here

The third recipient is an account that came to my attention after posting an intriguing comment on one of my posts. When I looked at @artzo's account, I was very impressed by the quality of his writing. Art Zo has been a Steemian for almost a year, but posts sporadically. However all of his posts are interesting, insightful and beautifully written. He clearly sees Steemit as a platform for self-expression and possibly long-term investment rather than a get-rich-quick scheme.

I like this attitude. Rather than trying to beat the record for amassing Steem Power, actually enjoying Steemit for what it is, not taking it too seriously, posting at whatever frequency suits you, and having a life outside it.

And talking of having a life outside Steemit, I'm off on another sunny long weekend hillwalking jaunt, so I'll probably have no, or very little internet contact and therefore no, or very little Steemit until early next week! Until then... Steem on!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Fantastic post brother! Lots of insightful points. I too think of the time I threw away. I was going to join last fall, not a tremendous amount of time but it would have easily given me a 6-7 month headstart. Wish I would have done it but I’m here, kicking ass right now. Lol

I will say you are correct in that when prices dip...activity follows. That stinks but I’m just chugging along. Not stopping. This year is my year to go for it 100%. Hopefully it pays off for all of us here. Still think we are all early to the party...

Thanks for your comment, @blewitt. I'm optimistic like you, and like you say, although it's annoying to think how much time we've wasted, we're all early to the party so let's party on!

Exactly. I wonder what it will be like in a few years. It has so much potential and I hope the word about it can actually get out a bit more.

You did an awesome thing @natubat , and that's really true, Steem can actually be an investment if done correctly; however I will still be powering up not because for self upvote, but to enable more support for others, including trying out to delegate to community bots that yields some return enough for me to be strong enough to actually be a community bot supporter.

Those who will not last long are probably looking this as short term solution (in their point of view), and not many out there still understands or acknowledge the change where it is becoming cashless in this world moreover they still have more faith in fiat than to see this as a parallel opportunity.

I really have to look into Steemit basic income soon as I have been procrastinating to do so due to so much things on my hand in the real world; this will be really a good encouragement especially for stay at home moms and also senior citizens just to spur their creativity of expression in writing or video making even.

Keep it up!

upvoted

really good read that was. I think you're spot on with why people come and then go due to the artificially inflated trending posts. I had the same experience of a whale vote on an early post of mine when steem was high. it was another month till i realised why that post did so much better but i dont have unrealistic ideas about my steem rewards now.
i enjoy using the site so much more, its been great for my creative practice too just writing about what im doing.
also im from the UK, you worked on teletext HA no way! i remember as a kid dancing around with my brother to the silly music whilst my dad checked the football and weather on it!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 182 (7/01/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thanks @thesteemengine! Much appreciated :)

Thank you for a really nice read @natubat! I often have the same question. I too started Steemit in 2016 (in July). I was pregnant at the time and didn’t really have the patience to wrap my brain around the learning curve. I posted a few times , felt alone and decided it wasn’t for me. I didn’t come back until the following year I’m 2017 after I had my baby. I then took the time to “learn” all about Steemit and how it’s mainly about community and relationships. I feel I have prolonged my chances of becoming a dolphin too but I am enjoying the journey and the people I have met along the way.

I think the longer people stick around they realize it’s more than about money.

May I ask how you keep the copies of your posts? I’ve been thinking I need to do that.

I think it is 50/50 on this. Several people come here thinking it is a get rich quick. Other people come here pushing day after day to write quality post, meaningful comments and eventually just don't have the time to continue. I too have had a lot of friends from Steemit stop posting, myself included. I think that if you have the time every single day with multiple hours a day, yes you can accomplish and a lot on Steemit. When I wasn't working, I spent literally all day and night on Steemit. For me now Steemit honestly isn't worth those hours anymore. I have seen several other popular users say this as well.

With that said though, I do think that in the long run we can't really go wrong with keeping up with our accounts whenever we get the chance. Every little bit does add up.

Steemit has sure added some good zeroes to my bank balance but we all know that there is more to steemit than just the blogs and the upvotes. The relationship with other steemians is something no one can ever take from us, dip or not.

Understanding this will give you more reason to want to stay in a community that makes life beautiful while adding value to it.

Now, @ned might have started this, but he truly isn't responsible for the people I have met on this platform, and no dip can take that away from me.

Well said @klynic. I totally agree!

Thank you very much for nominating ans sponsor me on Steem Basic Income though I don't know about the Steem Basic Infcome.

And really I am very happy to hear that you are impressed and interested to visit my country Bangladesh after seeing my post.

If possible, please give some idea about the Steem Basic Income.

You are always most welcome to Bangladesh.
@hafizullah

I hope I can visit Bangladesh someday @hazifzullah, thanks. The best way to learn about @steembasicincome is to join their Discord channel - also read the FAQ here.
To participate you have to either be nominated by someone else or pay 1 Steem and nominate someone else. This buys each of you one share, and you each get one partial upvote per post - look out for votes from sbi and then a number.
Someone nominated me for Steem Basic Income so I thought it would be good to pay it forward and encourage the type of content I like to see!

Wow! Its really great initiative.
And hopefully, I will nominate one within short time.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

My reply is no

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

And you are correct! No prizes though.

@natubat Thank you for not using bidbots on this post and also using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87