Papa Rodin Challenges - The 100 Comment Challenge

in #steemit6 years ago

Greetings, fellow Steemians and Steemettes.

I have been here for about 20 days now and over that time, I have apparently written over 600 posts and comments. That makes for around 1 Post and 30 comments every day. A sizable amount I'd say. Since I have been here, I have also taken a closer look at the people I am interacting with and found that a lot of people who have been on here for longer than me have similar or lower numbers than I do. That got me thinking.

62566+.JPG That's me, by the way. I love these cartoonizers.

First things first

I am a very grateful man. That is why I want to take this opportunity again to thank everyone who made these first 20 days of Steemit special. I have learned a lot, applied just as much, suprised myself a little bit and had a lot of fun. Special thanks go to @sultnpapper, who taught me a lot, @abbak7 who was with me in here since my very first days and introduced me to sultnpapper, @curie for giving me a big moment of unexpected success much earlier than expected.

Without these people and many more, I probably would not be where I am now, so from the bottom of my heart, thank you all for your loyalty and support.

Putting the communication back into the community!

One of the first advises I got when I started here was to stay in touch with people commenting on my posts and get some conversations going. As you might have noticed, I like to talk and have opinions about everything, so I was very much looking forward to this. Yet the comment sections on this platform are usually quite desolated. Minnow posts usually have little to no comments. Most comments they do receive are either from bots or from people saying the most basic things like "good post", hoping for a quick upvote. The only lengthy and meaningful conversations happen around people who are around the block for a bit longer than me. I wager that this is the case because these people can hand out higher value upvotes. And I can see why that is interesting for people.

But it leaves me wanting.

Posting these blog posts is a great thing for me, but interacting with people who actually appreciate what I do or appreciating people for what they do is just as great. And more often than not, doing so can form long lasting relationships that can be both beneficial and enjoyable for all parties. Of course, I am just a minnow and my options to change this for the better are limited. That does not stop me from giving it my best though.

Making Steem great!

Given how you read the post title before you clicked this, you already know what this is going to be about. Unless you clicked this post just because you saw my name in the title. If that is the case: "Thanks! I love you back!"

I will explain either way. I set myself the target of making it from 600 to 700 posts/comments today. It is 20.33 as I am writing this sentence right now here in Germany, so I still have a bit of time and I am a fast reader. I intend to make these comments of good quality, giving every Steemian that reads my comments the feeling that I have actually spend some thought into what I wrote and put the things I read into consideration. Upvotes are a nice thing, but nothing shows appreciation as much as taking time and effort to acknowledge someones hard work.

Now is the time to act!

Of course, I am only one man. Outstanding and stunningly good looking, but still just one man. That is why I want each and everyone of you to participate.

Do you know the feeling of having hard word being left unacknowledged?
Do you want more people commenting on your blog posts?
Do you wish to form long lasting friendships with kindred spirits on this wonderful platform?

If you answered any of these questions with yes, I hereby invite you to take the challenge as well, go through your feed or the new post page and appreciate people for the work they do. Give them the love and acknowledgement they crave and I promise, it will return.

Do you think that this idea is great and has potential? If so, resteem it and spread the word. The more people join in this the better! We shall bring the communication back into this community!

Together!

Read more of Papa Rodin!

That's me!

IT'S ME!.jpg

Sort:  

35 done, only 65 to go. I slightly underestimated this task, but I won't let it stop me.

Stumbled over two posts, one from @ned, another one from @berniesanders. Between these two, I have seen much more flags for reasons I can't understand than in my entire time on here literally everywhere else.

Can anyone school me on what the deal is with that? I wanted to post there, but I actually refrained from doing that because that situation actually seemed too hot for me to touch yet.

Bernie tells it like it is.... most people don't like the truth.

I do like people posting the truth, but a lot of seemingly harmless posts there being upvoted ridiculously high while also getting huge amounts of flag, that......doesn't seem right to me, really.

I mean, it was a post about Steemits future, with me being here for just a short time, I really wanted to be a part of it, but they actually managed to make me not post there because I do not want to get unnecessary flags.

Does that make sense?

Lots of issues that this platform has is because @ned didn't do shit about it,and bearni been calling on that for a long time... But they let the platform become a wild west... You will learn over time, but if you feel like saying something, you shouldn't be afraid, just go for it, that's how you can make a difference, and people will see it.

I will keep that in mind.

Speaking what I have on my mind is something that doesn't give me trouble, but I do like to understand about what I am speaking. That was a topic to which I wasn't able to contribute all that much anyway, so it's no big loss. But it was a curious situation to say the least.

I like your posts and this one in particular.
I have joined steemit a bit before you and my initial idea was to post photographs from time to time to see if others would like them. I entered some contests (@killerpix, @czechglobalhosts, @photocontests, @derangedvisions, #bwphotocontest) and I won a few of them but now I have the impression that this approach is kind of reaching its limit.
Being rather introverted, I don't feel like posting long articles but I realize that you have to interact with others if you want to gain (and keep) followers.
Some kind of public commitment (like your 100 comments challenge) is certainly something which could push me out of my comfort zone, maybe I should stop hesitating and just do it...

I absolutely agree on that notion. We live in the day and age of the internet and communication. If we want to make things happen these days, we have to network, finding people who share our visions and work with us towards making things happen.

Yesterdays experiment definitively yielded some very interesting results from me. My follower count increased by about 10 to 15, received lots of updates and found a lot of content that I actually intend to keep reading more of in the future.

In fact, I am so pleased with how this went that I intend to make this a regular habit of mine in the future. Doing this at least once a weak seems to be a good starting point. It is also good for my brain because it practices processing information fast and efficient.

You have a real challenge waiting for you, just check the end of @sultnpapper s last post... It actually involves real prizes from @comedyopenmic and you will get to know lots of great, fkt-up too, people ..you should check them out..

By the way, I see you trying the voting bots, it's all good, but a waste... You will get back about 40% less of what you spend on them = a waste of SBD that you could use it to power up ur vote.

Ah, only 54 posts ahead, 53 after this one. Still going strong. Once I start getting more responding messages, it will get much easier and faster, too.

I have had mixed successes with bots. SBD prices are also super low right now, so I seem to get decent value out of it now more than ever.

That will only work if you had no voters/curators... If you didn't know... the payout after 7 days splits, 75%to the author 25 to curators, so only after that you can see that you get less than what you spend..

Oh yeah, I do know that. I also know that the first half hour after posting a blog post has different algorithms behind the distribution. I think the first 3 minutes give 100% of the vote to the Author.

Didn't knew about the first 3 min thing, but that's not important to me at all, I don't deserve anything, I just wanna be!... here...

I get that and it is the same with me as well. But the main takeaway from using the bots for me was that I hoped to increase my range with them for a bit. I also gave resteem-services a bit.

I actually want people to read what I write and interact with them as much as possible. Time will tell if that strategy works out. If it doesn't, I won't cry because of the SBD and I still get some Steem Power out of it, so it is not huge deal to me.

This marks the end of my challenge for today!

700 Posts. It took a bit longer than I expected, but it was worth the time. I wasn't rushing through it anyway, so I am quite satisfied.

In the 3-4 hours it took, I managed to reach my goal leaving comments that had actual relations to the posts I was replying too. I also got some replies back every now and then in between, so this was a big help as well of course.

While actively searching steemit for interesting content, I also stumbled over @themarkymark, who is streaming right now and gave my post a big upvote! Thanks a bunch for that again. @acidyo was also present and gave me a big upvote as well, so many thanks to you as well!

I haven't checked how many followers I had before, but I think that I gathered 4-5 more during this challenge as well, which is awesome as well.

The most important thing though is that I got in touch with a lot of people, both people I already follow as well as new people and a lot of content that I wasn't familiar with.

If you haven't done this by yourself, I can highly suggest to give it a try.

With that, I will leave Steemit for today, but I will be back with another post tomorrow. Until then, thanks for being a part of this and enjoy your day!

Feeling the after-effects of the challenge even today.

Almost made another 40 replies today without actually going for it just because I received a lot of replies to comments I left yesterday.

After having managed another 100 yesterday, I just happened to do it again today. I also crushed the 300 follower mark! Progress is being made!

Another 100 Posts in one day, 1000 posts in total cracked within the three weeks of being here, 400 of them over the last four days. Quite ridiculous if you think about it! I also got 7 more followers, so that is nice as well.

I wasn't actually planning for this, but apparently, I happened to double down on my own challenge!

Went from 700 to 800 since yesterday. Mostly by replying to answer I have received from my efforts yesterday, but I was also on the look out for new and interesting things.

I definitively do not intend to make this a daily habit, but I will make it a weekly thing at the very least.

I came across you today, commenting on two of the people I follow, and in a way that shows you read the post. So congratulations! This approach and the fact that you have some content that interests me, means you have a new follower. Though I have to say I don't get all the way through my feed every day, so can't promise how many of your posts I'll actually see!

I am very glad that you recognized that and to have you as my newest follower.

My posts aren't going anywhere anytime soon, so don't mind missing them. You can always read up on them later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05