What would I change about my parenting? (@steemitmamas Contest Week 3)

in #steemitmamas5 years ago (edited)


Unsplash

This is my entry for the third week of the @steemitmamas Contest with the topic "What would you change about your parenting?".

Change...


The birth and interaction of your first child is something that is quite an amazing experience... as both parents and child learn how to interact and grow together. It's a really exciting experience (and at times... more tedious!). However, there is a certain novelty magic to that first time, just like in every other facet of life! First kiss, first love, first @curie vote... you know that sort of thing! There is nothing more thrilling and joyful than that first time!

So, when we had our second child after a roughly four and a half year gap, there was a weird sense of deja vu... but not quite! There were things that were very similar... nappy changing, sleepless nights... toilet training (still ongoing...)... and things that were very different, such as the tricks that worked well with the first child seemed to have no effect on the second!

However, there was the sense of the familiar about the whole thing.... and this is one of the things that I'm constantly trying to change and be on guard about my parenting. I have to remember that, despite the similarity of many things, this is the first time that our little one has experienced many things... and so I need to remember and retain that sense of wonder and excitement that I felt the first time around! It's too easy to forget how monumental all the little changes and developments in the little ones can be, just because you've seen it before. However, these are huge achievements for them, and no less amazing than the first time around!

As for the other thing that I am trying to change about my parenting, it is more about the interaction with the older child. With the onset of the younger child, we suddenly had to split our time between the two... and the demands of a crying baby or a cranky toddler are quite hard to ignore. Added to this is the fact that our oldest daughter is such a calm and understanding child, and we often run the danger of forgetting that she needs attention as well. Despite the fact that she is happy to go off and read a book, draw a picture or just entertain herself... it isn't quite the same as playing a game with her father! Also, the fact that she is at school for most of the day (and both the parents having a freelance musician's lifestyle) means that much of our spare time is doing ordinary things like baths, eating and homework.

So, on this front, I want and need to make more spare time for my older girl... to do stuff just for the two of us. It might be going out to a cafe, or watching a movie... or building something together... or even a race of Mario Kart! Just something where it is just the two of us, and no-one else!



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman



steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Glad you take notice of each kid and what they need.
This is what we do as parents.
Keep on postin

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yep, we do our best!

I love that you added in there first @curie vote! I’ll never forget waking up to my first one...those were the good ole’ days! 😁

This was such a wonderful post! I commend you for taking time out to enter Week 3 because it did call for some self evaluation and critiquing. In order for us to improve ourselves we have to be willing and able to admit our weaknesses or shortcomings.

I have experienced both of these. I had to go through (and still am) all of the special milestones several times. Sometimes I even felt guilty for not being as excited as I was the first time around or for not making it a big deal as I did with my other ones. But each child is different and special and there are moments that will feel as if they never happened before. I know this for a fact having five children. Just when I think I’ve seen it all I get surprised.

I think that’s a great plan that you have to take some time out to spend with just you and your older daughter. I tend to take each of my kids individually sometimes out to grocery shop with me or pick up items. I want each of them to feel they do have that personal time and one on one with me and their father. Especially for my children that are home with each other all day, they need that time apart and to be individuals.

It sounds like you are doing a great job parenting and have some really great plans ahead. Thank you so much for your entry and for sharing with us ~ 😊

As I mentioned on your post... 5 kids! I think I would die... already with two of them, I mix up their names occasionally. With five, I would have to give up on the names, and just call them by description!

Thanks for the feedback... It was good to self examine!

Lol!! That’s so funny you said that. One day I gave up (I mix up their names all the time, especially my 3 boys) and started calling them:

Kid 1, Kid 2...and so forth. That got even more confusing! 🤦🏽‍♀️😅

Ha ha... There needs to be some sort of standard naming convention... Possibly something to do with age and model number/type!

Ha ha now that’s hilarious!! 😂

Brother, you only have 24 hours in a day, and I am sure you are doing the best you can. And, I am sure all parents who have more than one child feel like you at some point.

I am sure your older knows you love her equally as your second child. And, as you wrote your older daughter seems to be a happy child who is not missing anything in her life. Don't forget to give yourself a break sometimes as well. :)

Maybe do little more planning in the future on how to spend more time with your daughter. Either way, it seems like you are doing a great job as a father. :)

Thanks for sharing a piece of your life with us. Have an amazing day. :)

Thanks! We are all doing our best and it is tricky to juggle all the plates! But it is good to constantly remind ourselves what is important!

Splitting the time is the hardest part. Even when they do grow older.
Cheers,
Peter

... oh great.. I thought it would get easier when they could just take the car or bike out and go with their friends!

great post and entry to the contest. Having that age gap does require splitting of time. I try do a 'date night' with my 11 year old every few weeks. but you got it so bang on too about 'the first' and I think i also need to be more mindful on that.

Lovely post, shared on twitter

Thanks! Yes, the age gap makes it a bit trickier to do the same things together... there just isn't the same level of skill and understanding!

Date night with the kids sounds like a good idea, do you go out? or is it just making the time for them to do whatever they want?

sometimes we go out, lol he like to go to restrauants so that suits me. But sometimes its a movie night. we mix it around a bit

It's actually really good that you are criticizing your own parenting skills. Some parents don't even care enough to find faults in their parenting technique and think they know everything about it, then blame it on the kids when they don't turn out to be what their parents thought they would be.

Glad you're playing your part right!

It's tricky with the parenting... you do need to be self-critical.. but not so much that you are paralysed! And it is just different for different people! Best to just try your best, and hopefully if you are diligent and lucky, things will turn out right!

Well, I'm not a parent (obviously) so I can't say for certain, but I do think that trying to be the "perfect parent" itself is a really unhealthy thing to do anyway. It would do your child more harm than good because they will learn to idealize someone who doesn't feel content with their own self-image.

Contrary to pop culture, there really isn't a definitive "Parenting manual" out there.

Why?

Because both the parent and the child are individuals that have different strengths/weaknesses.

Each needs a unique set of challenges, support and sometimes, gentle/firm guidance (i.e., a two-way, reciprocal stream of love between the parent and child).

In the end, both can become better versions of themselves.

From my vantage point, it looks like you are doing a stellar job, my friend.

Enjoyed your post.

Namaste, JaiChai

Thanks... yes, that is quite right! There is no manual (unfortunately...), there is only trial and error and the best of intentions! However, most things tend to work out okay!

Thank you for using CryptoSicko!

Well done and thank you for joining and supporting my subscription based upvoting bot that provides you with daily upvotes in exchange for your spare STEEM POWER.
Delegation links for CryptoSicko
100SP 250SP500SP

Thank you for your entry to the Steemitmamas contest!
We appreciate your sharing!
Upvoted and resteemed!

20180516_002249_0001.png

Hi @bengy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.339 which ranks you at #2461 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 232 contributions, your post is ranked at #22.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01