SteemPeak Takes Another Step

in #steempeak5 years ago

@steempeak
https://steempeak.com/


steempeak-logo.jpg

12 days ago I wrote fighting-spam-on-the-blockchain. We can directly control how information is presented to us with the full power of customized front-ends.

@lyndsaybowes and @canadian-coconut really went to bat with this idea on the SteamPeak discord server:


https://discord.gg/yBvzf4


Now, less than two weeks later, SteamPeak has added a feature that lets users mute accounts, not only for personal filtration, but also for all followers.

Basically, SteemPeak is forcing users to opt-in to this new feature with an opt-out escape option. You will automatically trust that the owner of the blog knows who to should be muted. You may opt-out of this new feature at any time or even just temporarily view comments that have been blacklisted at the bottom (similar to Steemit).


growth-spurt.png

Growth happens is spurts.

I think this is great initiative by the @steempeak team. They are beginning to break away from the other front-ends by giving users more control over their own content. This is a great move to continue distinguishing @steempeak from other front-ends.

However, it's moves like this that are really just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to front-end diversification. We can control everything, from comment order and visibility, to custom trending tabs that integrate information from multiple accounts simultaneously.

In a couple years we are going to be looking at curation thinking: "Wow, this mechanic makes no sense," because payout value isn't the thing that actually curates posts and gets them viewed. What gets posts viewed is however the different front-ends choose to do it. Just because so far they've all chosen to go the "highest payout wins" route doesn't mean it's going to be like that a few years down the road.

If I may suggest something truly silly:

0:45
My MySpace page is all totally pimped out!
I got people beggin' for my top eight spaces!
Yo, I know Pi to a thousand places!
...


Steem has been accused of being the "Myspace of crypto" far too many times for my taste. It might be fun to lean into that. Any front-end could pretty easily implement the whole "top eight spaces" thing that MySpace had going.


207818-weird-al-yankovic-got-people-begging-for-my-top-eight-spaces.jpg

A simple custom JSON operation would signal which accounts users wanted in which place. This could be a good way to add useful analytical data to the blockchain. It could increase networking and perhaps even strengthen the network effect itself.

If anything it could be a fun joke.
Yep, look at us, we are MySpace now.


social_media_icons.jpg

We are the Myspace, and the Facebook, and the Instagram, and the Vine, and the Twitter, and the Snapchat, and the Tumblr, and the Pinterest, and the LinkedIn.


We can program a front-end for all of these different features, and we have the built in value woven into the very fibers of the platform itself to fund development ourselves, without being sponsored or bought out. We own our own platform. Nothing like Steem has ever existed.


Posted using @Steemit (lol)

Sort:  

I can see the high value of the ability to block you discuss here, albeit in limited applications - such as your particular cited experience. For myself, I hope to not use it, and can't think of a time when I would have. I have not been in the circumstance you were, however, and had I been I would have used it.

Still, I fear many will over use this, and free speech will suffer as a result. Too few are eager, or even willing, to discuss with folks that disagree with them. I am eager, however, because I want to be right, and only people that disagree with me will prove when I am not. Only when I learn I am not can I change my mind and get right!

Thanks!

I just wrote an article about how the quicker we get an interface that sorts on something other than price, will help decrease the usage of bid bots. People will always use them for one reason or another, but it would definitely be a step in the right directions.

Posted using Partiko Android

Posted using @Steemit (lol)

Great article til I got there naughty boy. It's ok though, @steempeak has added a new feature too, where we can make them a beneficiary on our comments, so I will do that here :) They will get 100% of this comment's rewards.

Screen Shot 20190208 at 7.26.43 PM.png

Prior to their new update I was using steempeak.com about 30% of the time. I have been using steempeak.com for ALL of my blogging this last week, adding them as a 12% beneficiary on my posts.

Their efficiency in doing this update was startling, their team is super cool and I hope they succeed in all ways. I am certainly going to try my best to help them.

I personally don't have anyone muted and I enjoy the speed, reliability, and consistency of Steemit for now. I don't expect this to last for long.

Sometimes I use Busy with the "busy" tag to get a small upvote, but that would have just been insult to injury in this case.

If a front-end wants me to use it they'll have to provide functionality that makes the switch worth it. I have faith.

In the end the freedom to choose is the real winner.

Haha using another of the new features i see... Well you got a good vote of me because of it.

And yeah it was pretty funny the posted with steemit thing.

Let's send that comment to the moon hahaha :)

Seems like a good solution. I gave up trying to view comments on some posts and instead went to the authors replies and scrolled through that to get to the comments worth reading. I wish they would implement it here as I only use Steemit.

Well we're about to give the authors yet another interesting tool to use on steempeak.
(p.s. do you think steemit is going to do any more development on steemit.com? Honest question)

I don't foresee new developments here. I came to realize the purpose of this was as a demo for others to understand what was possible. I think it probably surprised them when others didn't see it, didn't flock here to build and release them from being the central funding behind things long before now. It wasn't that long ago they were talking of maybe doing away with this site and only running wallets.

I keep waiting for a site to come along that isn't secretive. I notice none of the sites popping up even have an about us page, a how to reach us page, a who we are page, etc. I get people want decentralization, but I want to know who I am trusting which doesn't seem to be a big deal for what is competing with Steemit or those who are testing them out.

We are the Myspace, and the Facebook, and the Instagram, and the Vine, and the Twitter, and the Snapchat, and the Tumblr, and the Pinterest, and the LinkedIn.

We are legion!

This new Steempeak feature seems awesome, need to connect myself to it to start using it... it's useful now, but when the next bubble starts and we get a rush of new accounts and new active users that's where this new feature will really be useful and shine!!

e own our own platform. Nothing like Steem has ever existed.

Unfortunately, most people don't understand this, most people think Steemit.inc is the owner of STEEM... that's like saying Satoshi is the owner of bitcoin ahahah, even this deep in the bear market we still have a long way to go to teach the new adopters and non-tech geeks how this whole thing works...

"Posted using Steemit"

Shame on you :)

I’ve just recently heard of Steempeak, but I’m going to give it a shot. I like the way Steemplus works but I don’t like that it uses Steemit.com from what I can understand.
Busy is ok but I experience quite a few bugs with it so it’s frustrating.
Hoping Steempeak works well. I’m glad there’s so many options though, including mobile. I’m digging Partiko.

I like the diversification that we have now though! I think we are starting to hit off on the innovation for the chain, who cares what they refer to us as. MySpace was the top of its time but couldn’t adapt, I think we can.

Posted using Partiko iOS

MySpace was the top of its time but couldn’t adapt, I think we can.

You're really hitting the nail on the head there. Steem is bound to adapt because it is a permissionless system. No one has to get the green light for an idea; they can just do it.

The way that front-ends continue to evolve with the feedback of their active communities is encouraging and demonstrates how the ecosystem will also adapt to the thoughts of the community. I think that this tailoring will make Steem a great social platform in the future as it will not have true limits on ways to engage which occur on most centralized alternatives.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Edicted from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11