SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #26

in #steemworld5 years ago (edited)

[EN]


This post is intended to cover the server costs for SteemWorld.org and to enable me to continue my development in the future.

In case you missed the first part:
SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #1

[DE]


Dieser Post ist dafür gedacht die Serverkosten für SteemWorld.org zu decken und mir in Zukunft weitere Entwicklungen zu ermöglichen.

Falls du den ersten Teil verpasst haben solltest:
SteemWorld ~ Weekly Support ~ #1

Updates


As I mentioned in my last post, my main goal currently is to implement an awesome Post Editor on SteemWorld and even if there isn't much to see yet, I've already made great progress with it in the past week. I hope that the first prototype will be ready to see the light within the next 10 days.

I was fighting with myself over how to solve the task of storing the private posting key in a secure way and I came to the conclusion that it makes not much of a difference if the key is being encrypted and cached locally or a derived secret is being sent to a server storage. I always prefer the local solution, because I don't like to see parts of my private key leaving my house, even not when it is being transferred in an encrypted state.

One could argue that the local storage could be accessed by a script (for example through XSS attacks), but the same is true for a server-side solution, because an intruder could just inject a logger into the DOM, so that the key would be read on user input, before it is being sent to the server. I think the most secure solution is to prevent any external scripts from running inside the DOM of the own page. That would imply to start videos not interactively/directly in a post and just open a new tab when a user clicks on the image (like it is the case for DTube on Steemit). I think that's the way I will go. In about a week I can tell you more.


I need to keep it really short this time, because I want to concentrate as much as possible on my coding. As you might be able to imagine, there is hell of a lot of work still to do for me...

Did you notice a performance difference on the page? I've optimized a few things and more is about to come soon ;)

Wishing you all a wonderful week!

Coming Open Source Steem Data Service (SDS)


  • Runs on Linux, Mac and Windows
  • Can be run locally or as public web service
  • Enables each of us to analyze and work with the Steem blockchain data in a simple and very efficient way (SQL and custom queries can be used too)
  • Syncing is possible via available public instances (very fast) or regular Steem nodes
  • Provides automatic downloading of already parsed data (no need to start from block 1)
  • No need to setup any database services (all file-based -> no layers in between -> lightning fast)
  • Offers configurable datasets (if you just need a DB with all transfers for example, you can run an instance with only the desired parser module 'transfers' enabled)
  • JS developers can easily implement own parser modules (just add a custom script in the modules path and the service will call the parseBlock, parseTransaction, parseOperation and parseVirtualOperation methods within your script for each block)
  • Also 'virtual operations' can be parsed (or downloaded from one of my servers that will provide all parsed datasets in nearly realtime)
  • Highly compressed data (some crazy stuff and a bit of magic involved here, more details on this soon)
  • Interfaces to other database systems planned
  • Completely free to use, will be released under MIT license

In the making


   ( A )


  • Post Viewer and Editor
  • SDS
  • More details in Coming Rewards (number of posts and comments, pie charts)
  • Improved Coming Curation Rewards
  • Thinking about if/when to start a witness node

   ( B )


  • Different views, no limit in the Posts Overview (requires SDS)
  • Account Operations without limits, custom date ranges and filters, jump to day x (requires SDS)
  • Exact (separated SP, STEEM and SBD) All Time Rewards in the Stats Section (requires SDS)
  • Rewards Overview Tool with searching capabilities (requires SDS)

   ( C )


  • RC costs calculation
  • New responsive SteemWorld that can be run locally (Open Source)

Links


EN  |  What is SteemWorld?
-> Welcome to SteemWorld.org!

DE  |  Was ist SteemWorld?
-> Willkommen auf SteemWorld.org!

Thank you for supporting my work!


Positive thoughts create a positive world. It all begins with connecting our thoughts with emotions. What we focus on is what becomes powerful. We are the creators of our world.

Much love,

Sort:  

Thanks for your great work!!

Bug spotted.
When you type a password with special chars steemworld errors with non base58 characters

The question is, if that's a bug or a feature :) The message comes from the official Steem.js library and it just tells you that you entered non base58 characters. But of course, it would be better to check the input before calling a method from the lib, so I will fix that in the coming days ;)

I see.
is Steemjs an official library?

Seems like there are different inputs - where non base58 should not occur and where they may happen.

Posted using Partiko Android

I will add a private key validation as soon as I find time for this. The Steem.js lib offers a wifIsValid( privKey, pubKey ) method to check against a public key, so it's really easy to implement.

is Steemjs an official library?

Yes, it's being maintained by Steemit and the source can be found on GitHub. I think it is still the mostly used JavaScript library for accessing the Steem blockchain, but there are already better/newer alternatives available. (for example DSteem)

Hey @steemchiller,
regarding your post editor. Will it be a library you make public? Or will it be just for SteemWorld?

Hi @reggaemuffin! I've planned to make SteemWorld open source in future, but there is still much to do regarding to cleaning up and restructuring my code. Also my SDS needs to be finished before I can publish the whole thing.

I'm not sure, if it would be possible (without much additional work) to create a library, because there are many things which are connected to the SteemWorld base, settings etc. I will try to separate it as much as I can from the rest. In about a week or so I can tell you more ;)

Sounds good :)

I'll stay up to date on your progress then ;)

Really i am waiting for it.

I do try to keep my comments upbeat, as I feel you are solving problems and making life on Steemit better for all of us. However, for 2 weeks now, I find that I cannot recover my delegation using your site. I enter what I want (a smaller delegation so as to recover some of it), I get asked whether I am sure, then I am told to wait...and then I'm at the first box again. I've tried going through the loop a few times, but it does not help. Is there somewhere I should enter a password? Cannot think of what else could be causing the problem (PS Used Edit / EXIT and Delegate buttons, but none work.)

Whenever you can take a look, I'd appreciate it (I hope I am not wasting your time...as it crossed my mind that maybe the problem is not with your page, but with Steemit.)

Ok, let's try to solve that...

Does there any error message show up after the 'please wait' hint appears? If not, then there is definitely something going wrong. You could try to open the developer console (F12 on most browsers) and take a look at the logs in the 'console' tab. In case of an error, there should be something logged in red text color in the console.

Did you enter your private active key or do you use KeyChain? If you should be using KeyChain, please try to deactivate it in Settings.


Edit:

Now I remember... The problem in your case was related to not having enough mana to delegate and the displayed available amount was negative, right? Does there still show up the same error message?

Sorry for taking so long to answer, but your question about password rang a bell...but I could not find out the truth directly, so I had to create a new OS. I've just come from there and there I see a box open asking for the Active Key.

It does not happen here anymore, so maybe it is a virus? I'll have to unistal and re-install Firefox, though I did reinstall, going 2 versions newer (can only use up to v49).

Re your edited comment: That problem went away and I was able to delegate...but now I am trying to reduce my delegation, so mana should not enter the equation - I think

An interesting fact I just saw: In my wallet, I check on SP. The box dropped, but it does not include an option for delegating!!

I cannot imagine what kind of fault or virus this could be - I have not seen any other complaints either.

I have to install a couple of programs on the new OS. If then I can delegate, I'll treat it as being just my problem and I'll re-install

I really appreciate your always being willing to help. I've just been asking for help on another matter for over a week (on steemit) but because I am an ignoramus (I presume) I did not even have one answer, so I know how special it makes you.

Hey. I wanted to ask you if it would be possible for you to add stats of incoming/outgoing payments from various sources related to STEEM in the stat page.
Essentially what !bookkeeping is doing.
Im interested in the games SteemMonsters, Drugwars but you can add stuff like bots, delegator payments like with Steemhunt, actifit, wherein, etc.
Would that be difficult to do?

That's a great idea and I hope somebody will end all the comment spam soon simply by building a website for these @bookkeeping and @sbi stats. I don't have time for that currently, otherwise I would add such a feature directly on SteemWorld.

Some people already began to put the '!' commands into their default comment signature. If I would have enough power, I would flag them all to zero, because I think it's insane to store comments with daily stats in the blockchain. People didn't get that each comment adds to the overall server maintaining costs.

Thanks for your idea! Hopefully somebody will hear this :)

Please use one of the following keywords after !bookkeeping:

drugwars steemmonsters magicdice steemslotgames steembet moonsteem

That's pretty funny that you're arguing with yourself over key storage, @steemchiller. :) We've all got to answer to someone at some point, including ourselves.

I have to agree, it probably doesn't make much of a difference—either way, an attack can happen. But, like you, I also prefer local storage, XSS attacks aside. It seems like though, a hacker would need to know that a user is accessing data using a locally stored key, or go straight to the server so the script can download from it? Just trying to walk through what would be more likely—finding out that I'm accessing my key locally from my end, or from the server I'm connecting to it with?

I'm glad to hear that your focus is now on the post editor. Really looking forward to see what you come up with.

Thanks, as always, for all you're doing with steemworld. :)

You are doing it really well @steemchiller in my humble opinion.
Yeah I’ve noticed some good changes on speed which is a difficult point to solve in any web project without investing huge sums of money.
Keep on the great work! and thanks so much for your efforts on building extremely useful tools for us.
My best wishes for your week too

Thank you for keeping SteemWorld running for us, and I am waiting on that Post Editor! As a former professional copy editor, working in a platform that does not allow real time editing is the one thing that makes me nervous about Steemit! However, it is good to know the problem is already being solved!

I am back again, and happy to see the progress. Wish you all the best my friend @steemchiller

Thanks for your many efforts and tireless creativity @steemchiller! I hope the slowly uptrending price in the Steem token is helping fund your work a little better... I know it must be a struggle for you to keep up with all this AND pay for "life."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87