Ten years back and forward

in #thoughts5 years ago

After a bit of a schedule mix up and a cancellation due to client illness, I have a few hours of the morning free. I was already driving to the customer so now I am sitting in a shopping center an hour before anything opens. There is a cafe or two that open early for the workers to grab breakfast so, I at least have some coffee to get me through.

This photo was taken in a Tokyo Subway a little over ten years ago. Is ten years a long time? I was in Tokyo for a week with my ex-girlfriend after spending a month in Australia visiting family. That was the last time I was in Oz. Since then, we broke up, I lived a few years of the single life, I met my wife, sold my apartment, got engaged, started a business, bought and renovated an apartment, got married, had a child, cared intensively for her, lost all savings, went deeply into debt, began writing, started medical treatment, got a new job... the list goes on.

Yet, I still remember taking that photo.

In ten years of life a lot can happen but, it really is a very brief slice of a lifetime if we consider that on average, it is only 1/8th of life and less than 25% of a normal working career. Yet, those same ten years are 1/8th of a life and 25% of a working career and can have enormous impact on the future forward, not just for oneself but for all other people associated.

My hope is that the next ten years of my life, the space between 40 and 50 years of age is going to leverage all that I know as a foundation and build upon it so that the following remainder of my life is in better condition. Not only that, the next ten years will affect the remainder of my wife and daughter's lives too meaning that hopefully for them, they have access to opportunities that wouldn't be available if I didn't spend those ten years developing.

In my experience, ten years is a very brief time even though looking forward a decade it seems that it is so far away. Looking back ten years it however feels like, where did all that time go, where was it spent? While I think that I didn't waste all of the last ten, I do think that I didn't use it anywhere near as effectively as I could have and definitely didn't use what I knew as well as I could have. I should know better know though, right?

Obviously over the last two years of Steeming, I have spent a fair bit of time considering aspects of the world that I was largely ignoring previously because, the platform essentially forces one to think about it. Whether it be the technology or the economy, to not spend time learning on Steem is to avoid these things on purpose, a position of proactive ignorance.

Perhaps like the girl in the photo, rather than looking up and seeing what is available, we are too often in the habit of looking down toward our toes with a screen to break our vision and entertain us. That is fine if that is what one chooses to do but if afterward people complain about and blame others for their life position after having actively avoided investing themselves into their own future, it is a weak position.

I might feel like there are many reasons why the last ten years of my life have left me in a poor position but I must admit that regardless of the bad luck involved, looking back I could have done more with the resources I had available. But, that is not a lesson learned unless looking forward my behavior changes to better use the resources I have a available to me now and to come.

Rather than regretting how I could have invested myself in the past, I have to think about how I am going to invest myself now and reinvest myself tomorrow and the day after too.

Ten years - I could be broke or worth a fortune.
I have some control over which direction it goes.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

It doesn't pay to live life thinking on regrets too much - you may end up spending your precious remaining time regretting and not living thus repeating the mistake of wasting your life.

Time to forgive yourself and form a plan.

To start with be selfish have a day and go walk about, pick a random place nearby that's along way away, so 10 Miles...pack a day bag go for a walk and think. When you walk with destination in mind, with a purpose there is joy at the end of the adventure - allow yourself to have joy mate.

All the best.

Your stream of consciousness into ten years reminds me so much about my life, how things can definitely change a whole lot and how pictures can depict a whole lot, ten years into the future? I guess our actions now plays 100% role.

Every move is affected by past moves and affects future moves.

Every move is
Affected by past moves and
Affects future moves.

                 - tarazkp


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Haha, accidentally haiku strikes whenever you least expect it!

Obviously over the last two years of Steeming, I have spent a fair bit of time considering aspects of the world that I was largely ignoring previously because, the platform essentially forces one to think about it.

I know you are a very curious, restless and above all sleepless beast as I was once. Therefore because of that, it's exactly why I will never tire of repeating that you should rest and sleep as much as you can while you can. The times nowadays are changing to a much faster pace and acceleration than they used to. And I know very well why I'm telling you this.

Perhaps like the girl in the photo, rather than looking up and seeing what is available, we are too often in the habit of looking down toward our toes with a screen to break our vision and entertain us.

Yep! that's right. And being you still a youngster, I really would want you reach the point that you can watch them looking down toward their toes but from the other side of the screen for your exclusive own entertainment instead. ;)

Therefore because of that, it's exactly why I will never tire of repeating that you should rest and sleep as much as you can while you can.

Too many interesting things to play with :)

I am not much of a voyeur but, I could have a conversation with them :P

I am not much of a voyeur but, I could have a conversation with them :P

Haha yes, I've also heard that you are even more restless when you talk than when you write. But I bet you also know that we always will be able to acquire much more knowledge & wisdom if our interlocutors keep their hell shut up staying off guard as to not interrupt us when we are peacefully observing and scrutinizing them quietly from the distance. LoL

Hang on10 years does go fast, 50 years goes just as fast that is when I was in my second year of high school and the social life was fantastic ,love life was moving faster. I try not focus on what I could have, should have and would have happened though life. Just try to remember all the good times. This gives me a happy life to the day and you my friends try to see what is happening good at this moment. Then after another 40 years will be able to laugh and be comfortable where you are today. Always remember on those days when the sun is not shining, your wife caught you up in a trivial argument. The dog messed in the living room, that the sun is shining somewhere in the world.
Thank You and have a wonderful day.

Our past determined where we are now. Decisions now will have an impact on where we will be in 10 years..

Youth is wasted on the young. : )

If I could go back 20 years knowing what I know today....

I would have had a lot more sex.

That is what it is all about. Sharing what you have !!!!!!

Ten years still seems like ages to me 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

Time is relative to the suffering involved :D

Ten years - I could be broke or worth a fortune.
I have some control over which direction it goes.

You've done an awful lot already by gathering STEEM, now we just wait for the Moon now we just post even more before the rising prices :D

Ten years sounds like a long time but not really. You can definitely change your fortunes in 10 years and hopefully they will be rich ones. I think 10 years is long enough for Steem to do something and if it doesn't you will still be a massive account by then and be worth a small fortune anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94