Til the time when time exists

in #thoughts5 years ago

I took this photo yesterday from outside the hospital before I went to have the necessary blood tests in preparation for my treatment next week. The water is so calm because there is still ice covering parts of the lake just out of shot.

The good news for my treatment is that the schedule is moving to every 6 weeks instead of 4 which is nice because it means I feel really terrible 1/6th of the time instead of one quarter.

Once my wife finishes her studies, I am looking forward to spending some time getting into shape again. It is going to be getting harder the longer I postpone but currently, I don't have the time or energy to do much physical activity.

I bought some exercise bands for home recently but I haven't spent much time using them and, definitely not enough to make any real difference other than maybe psychologically prepare me for getting back to it. Once upon a time I was a 5-6 gym training sessions a week plus a few runs between kind of person.

This year, I think I am going to start sprint training a little more regularly and see if I can improve my explosive strength. I know I can get back to pushing heavy weights pretty easily but, what is the point? Two years ago I was benching 135 kgs (~290 lb) yet didn't really feel fit doing that, just bulky. Now the bulk wobbles - it must be because I am, "big boned".

I'd like to drop 10 kg from my frame and that isn't going to be an easy process but it is achievable over time with consistency. The consistency part is the problem as currently there is no time to either exercise or eat well enough. First world problems - So much food I have to actively trim down.

We don't actually eat takeaway but after prepping everything for our daughter, there isn't much time or energy left to cook a decent meal for ourselves. We actually only get to sit down to a meal together maybe once a week due to our current schedules.

I have thought of doing one of the update posts for fitness like @anomadsoul or @steemmatt but, no one would ever visit my blog again if they saw me shirtless. Eric is lucky he is so handsome. =)

One good thing about being so busy over the last years is that when I do finally have the space and 'normal' routines, life is going to seem pretty easy I think. It has kind of been like battle testing of a sort and while there might be a few scars, the is also spoke thick skin.

My daughter fell asleep now so I can move onto another post on the laptop. I don't think I'll ever like working on the phone.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone while humming "Summertime" to my daughter)

Sort:  

I always have this hatred for hospitals my God! The smell, but I must say it's a brilliant view, I'm looking forward to seeing you fit up again I think keep track with actifit

I am looking forward to moving a little :) not sure about actifit for sprint training though :)

Well you could start very little then no stress

Very beautiful the view from the hospital ... What do you have? what is that treatment for? I hope it's nothing serious.

I have had a chronic inflammatory bowel disease for 25 years and 2 years ago started having infusion treatments to try and control it.

Oh ok, is that like irritable bowel syndrome?

ulcerative colitis.

Oh, okay. I will pray for you. Be fine.

I may also be making friends with exercise again soon, it's been too long.

It is worse for you as you have to lift the weights higher off the ground :D

:) I've used that excuse before, but really, I'm not built for lifting. I got pretty good on the rower, long limbs seemingly more useful there.

Fitness is so critical for energy, vitality, metabolism, slowing aging, injury prevention, confidence, and countless other benefits. Benching 290 is impressive. That means you have the genes in you and just have to invest in them again. I completely understand the concept of being shy about posting pics because Eric's beauty is very intimidating. As for me, I mainly did it to put myself on the chopping block to have a reason to change things quickly, a tool to hold myself accountable to something because I don't have anything else that would do that.

I say you start tomorrow. Do 100 reps of something a day. Find a way. The first step is the hardest. You can do certain things like exercise bands, push-ups, sit-ups or air squats virtually anywhere to start waking things up. When you body's muscle memory activates and you feel some strength coming back, well, you'll have the fire lit again and start to accelerate the process naturally.

I completely understand the concept of being shy about posting pics because Eric's beauty is very intimidating.

This is what holds me back the most.

The muscle memory is there somewhere, I just forget where I put it. It won't take long to get into the swing once swinging - at least I am pretty confident in my head on that :D

Is it time again for your infusion. It seem to have come so fast this time.

Time gets us all. You just can’t accumulate it. As soon as it gets here its gone.
I have been working out if thats what it can be called. Ever little bit helps I suppose

Time flies by these days and when it comes to dong something, even if it doesn't help, it is something at least :)

Doing something is always better then doing nothing.

What’s the saying
When good men do nothing evil prevails

When good men do nothing evil prevails

It reminds me of a conversation that I had a few days ago. I should write about it as it was very interesting.

Two tricks: low carbs and Intermittent Fasting! They have worked wonders against my genetic disadvantage (insulin spikes). I would also include @actifit but we have been done that road already!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Two tricks: low carbs and Intermittent Fasting!

Low carbs I have done (had trouble maintaining it but was at 70 grams a day. I intermittent fast daily between meals. :P

When your routine becomes easier everything will seem simple. Time is a problem for most of us today and in your case quite rare. I am hoping you will end up with more time to spend on yourself and your family at some point soon.

It is going to hopefully be a few more months at most where it is this bad. Let's see what arrives though :D

but, no one would ever visit my blog again if they saw me shirtless

Looool... Well it can't be that bad.

Yay for prolonging treatment schedule! Does that mean your body's coping better so you don't have to go in as frequently?

Good luck with the exercising stuff. Maybe you should take before, during and after photos for yourself even if you don't want to share with everyone else. One thing my friends and I always complain about is that it's really, really hard to get fit and ridiculously, unfairly easy to get unfit XD

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.289 which ranks you at #222 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 208 contributions, your post is ranked at #10.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77