Visiting Ventspils, Latvia. Part I - The sea, the sand sculptures, and other little things.

in #travel6 years ago

20180728_202937.jpg

Last week I came home from home. This year I have been traveling to very affordable destinations for me. Places where I have someone waiting for me. Where I have a bed made for me already. In July I flew to Latvia and then took the bus to my birth city, Ventspils. A beautiful coastal town with a lot of things to do. Especially for families with kids.

This is my home. The place I lived in until I was sixteen and the city I want to settle down in one day. It has so many great memories and my favorite place in the world is there. My countryside. This time I, unfortunately, did not have the chance to visit it as my visit was short and I gulped every moment with my brother like my life depended on it. Yes, it is like a thirst for me. My little brother is the most important thing in the world for me, especially since the time that my irrational jealousy of him was over. You know how it is with kids that are born first and later have to share their attention... But when you grow up, that little annoying ball will be like an older son to you if you raised him.

20180728_202913.jpg
20180728_202925.jpg

Countryside

But before I go to Ventspils, let's visit the typical countryside of Latvia. After all, I grew up in one and I still think these places are the most beautiful of them all. In my own countryside, we have a lot of forests and Latvia is unimaginable without these. We have birch trees that we tap juices from, Christmas trees that we choose and bring home in the winter, and places to swim in or catch fish. And yes, some of these places still have outhouses but most owners have modernized their toilets. This one here is just there so the people sitting next to the pond do not have to go to the house. Plus, the toilet inside is modern, it is just the exterior that still carries the breeze from the past.

Here I met some of my classmates for a rather small reunion. Only four people from more than twenty-five showed up. But that did not make it less fun. We made real, juicy Latvian shashlik, then had some marshmallows for dessert and watermelon on the side. I even had 4 tequila tiny shots when we played ''Never Have I Ever''. And that is huge for me as I do not tend to drink alcohol often. I had a bunch of fun here and I would suggest everyone who visits Latvia to visit the countryside. It is liberating and the air there is soooo fresh! Plus, there are a lot of places close to the nature that you can book on one of the mainstream sites(like booking.com or Airbnb) for a vacation stay.

20180729_171734.jpg
20180729_171754.jpg
20180729_171736.jpg

The sea

But this is the real reason I love and miss home. The sea. The place everyone visiting Ventspils should go to. The beach here is clean, the sand soft, the water cool but swim-able. The first day I arrived in the town after the visit to the countryside, it was cold at the seaside. You can see rain in the distance, too. It is abundantly clear here, in the pictures. Still, even though the water temperature was 12 degrees Celsius that day, people were at the beach and some even walked in the water. My feet froze doing so! This first day we went to the beach and I met my brother to see the sand sculptures.

However, after a couple of days, me and my brother, as well as a friend, returned to the beach. This time the water was 17 degrees and I took a swim. In fact, the beach was riddled with lots of people and many were enjoying the water. This is the most popular beach as it is closest to the city, but if you walk on the coast, for a couple of kilometers, you are bound to find much quieter places. Some Nudist beaches, too. But if you are shy, you can just close your eyes when passing these through. And, we do not have so many nudists so the possibility of you meeting one might be as big as you finding a shark in the water. Yeah, we do not have these but there is always a chance, right? :D

Maybe that was not a great example...

20180729_173738(0).jpg
20180729_172759.jpg
20180729_172859(0).jpg
20180729_172744.jpg
Being together is worth celebrating

The birthday, flower carpets, city celebrations

Even though we came to see the sculptures the day after they had been made, most were still in great condition. Some were destroyed or damaged but overall we got to appreciate almost all of their glory. I, unfortunately, do not know the theme of this competition but judging from the sculptures I would say it was ''Togetherness'' or something along these lines. We have this competition every year just like Ice Sculptures in winter but I have to admit that it was the first time I went to see those creations.

We also have another event happening every year. The birthday of our City. We celebrate the city festival from 3rd to 5th of August and it is truly beautiful. Unfortunately, my flight home was on the 3rd so this year it went past me. We also have a competition of flower carpets every year and they are also similar to these sculptures but in form of carpets, on the ground. A themed competition with loads and loads of participants. It is also the time when you should visit Ventspils if you can.

20180729_173059.jpg
20180729_173129.jpg
20180729_173713.jpg

Look but do not touch!

This was one of my favorite creations of the contest. The mouses look so real and cute! This was also the first impressive sculpture that we came by and it carried a punch. Also, because we came on the second day of the sculptures, we did not have to deal with a lot of people. There were some passerby's but overall, we did not have to wait a lot to take a picture or two. Sometimes at all.

My brother had an urge to touch one of the sculptures and we had to warn him away from it. After all, these things are not made of stone. Well, they are, of millions of tiny pieces of shells and stones mixed together. But a grain of sand is not considered stone in that way, right? :D So, after we warned my brother away from the sculptures and put him on the stroller duties (my friend has a baby) we did not have other incidents. And, even though I offered to help my brother with the pulling as the sand is really mean to any tires on it, he refused and was the captain of our carriage all the way back.

20180729_173212.jpg
20180729_173255.jpg
20180729_173421.jpg
20180729_172842.jpg

Tourists love us!

These are some very nice creations by great artists! At least in my mind. I was told that the middle one is created by a participant from all the way away in Russia. It does not come as a surprise as Ventspils is a popular tourist destination in Summer. We have a lot of people coming from Russia and even more from Lithuania. Many have even bought properties for themselves here. During the summer, you will hear a lot of people conversing in Russian and Lithuanian. About winter, I do not remember as I have not been back home for a winter for a very long time and not many like to be out when it is cold.

Also, Ventspils is not great just for Summer holidays. If you are ready to face cold, cold weather, you should come and visit in Winter. Then the sea is frozen at the shore and huge ice-blocks have melted. In some places, wawes have turned into ice mid-way. Nature makes a marvelous art at this time. And, even though Latvia is quite flat (very) we have made our own skiing and snowboarding hill that feeds our winter sports lovers. There are many of us. This hill was built while I was little and I have spent some great times on it. And, taking it even further, these days, there are activities on Lemberga Hūte available all year round. Head over to check them out if you are planning your vacation, it is totally worth it to go through the obstacle course hung into the trees, or slide down a waterslide in summer!

20180729_173152.jpg
20180729_173228.jpg

The waterparks

These two faces were one sculpture. On one side you had one face and on the other one, there was a Sphinx. Well, almost. It looks much more Venetian than Egyptian. :D They were my second favorite sculpture before the mouses and after my own first place. The detail was made beautifully and the idea of two faces on one sculpture somewhat captured me. After all, don't we all wear at least two faces in our lives? Don't we all sometimes pretend that we are happy when we are not? I am probably reading much into this but that is the great thing about art, it speaks differently to every observer.

As I did not take pictures of every place I visited, I will mention them randomly. Just like I did the skiing hill. In Ventspils, there are two water parks. It is not that the town is big. It has around 30 000 registered citizens. But the city mayor is big on making the most of our little place. So, we have both, indoor and outdoor water parks. The indoor one is smaller and mostly features saunas. It is also only open throughout the cold season. The outdoor waterpark is the opposite, it has only one sauna and more water slides. There are not many but the place would be perfect to visit for around four hours.

Also, when I and my brother went, it was packed. The slides, however, never have long lines and they are mostly self-regulated. Also, there are mostly young families here that let their kids sit in the children's pool or hold them in the adult pool. If you are looking for a swim, this may not be the best place but if you want to have fun and slide down some slides, go for it, it is ideal! BTW, the yellow slide is the best. You can slide together with your friends as it is wide and you can make tricks on the slide as well. Jump, slide backward, etc.

20180729_173301.jpg
20180729_173644.jpg
20180729_173931.jpg
20180729_173915.jpg

We have lighthouses!

The sand sculptures were right next to the lighthouse jetty that was on the end of a long stone jetty. It is being repaired right now but if you get a chance to visit, it is totally worth it walking to the green lighthouse(The red one on the other side of the river is closed for public). It is amazing to walk where the sea meets a huge river. And, if you are lucky, you can observe huge tankers going right past you, a couple of meters away. That along with the waves crashing against concrete is an amazing experience. And, if you are at the beach, you can almost always see ships in the distance. Most of the times they look like they float in the air instead of on the water.

Also, if you ever get a chance to visit the beach, you can choose between laying down at the coast, right next to the water, or going into the dunes where there is more privacy. Remember, though, you will have to be either lucky or an early bird to snatch a spot there as many people choose the dunes over the open coastline. Also, a few steps back, behind the beach, we have a watchtower that you can get high up on and check out the city on. And, on the path to the green lighthouse, there is a non-working ship set up for observing. It is a small vessel that you can get up on and check out at your convenience.

20180729_173448.jpg
20180729_173503.jpg
Dunes behind

This was my absolute favorite sand-sculpture. It is very ''Latvian'' and shows off our Pagan religion signs. Some of you know that I have some Latvian folklore tattooed on my body but it is not just it. I love how these signs look and make you feel. At peace, somehow. Also, the face was made in a way that spoke to me. I found this work to be the best and most amazing for me as it resembles the old Latvian spirit without an error.

Also, there are most fun things to do around the beach. We have a spacious anchor park right next to it, a nature park after the anchor place, a campsite with small houses to rent, a small train that is coal powered(I think) and takes you from the nature park to the anchor park and then to the skiing hill. Wonderful places to eat and so much more. I will touch on some of it soon. Stay tuned, and maybe ask me to go to Ventspils with you! I will gladly get my ticket and show you around as I look for any excuse to go home :).

I will write another post on my home-city and I will add some interesting facts about it. For example, we have our own currency, separate from euro, just for the city. You can get discounts if you pay with it and you can earn the currency in a fun way. I will elaborate on it. Most likely, in the weekend.

I love this place more than anywhere else. It is beautiful and there are so many things to do! A true city friendly to locals and tourists alike. Clean beaches, fun times, and everything your heart desires.

IMG-20180801-WA0022.jpg

I know I have a funny smile. Also, I will reveal what I was posing with within the next Ventspils post. I cut it out of the picture here to keep you guessing! You can leave your guess down in the comments if you would like :)! A hint: it was a vertical photo.

Have the best day! Today, tomorrow, and forever.
Linda

Sort:  

I really love these sandsculptures, and I love the love for Latvia and especially the love you show for Ventspils. What you are posing with ... Maybe something showing the name of your city "Ventspils"?

Thank you! :)

No, this is a more of a quiet suburb area so there are no names for towns displayed. It is something alive on top of that electricity pole :) Something that can be seen everywhere in Latvia during summer.

I was really surprised that Baltic Sea is very swimmable in terms of the temperature. I was in Oslo in August 2015 and ended up going to a beach there and it was much warmer than some beaches in my home country (Turkey)

Yeah, it is because of the ocean connection that the Baltic Sea has, it is thin and not a lot of water change happens. Coincidently, Baltic Sea is also the second most polluted sea in the world as not much fresh water flows into it. It is a double edged sword.

That could be true since the water in Oslo was very muddy.

Thanks for taking us with you on your trip to visit the beach and the sand sculptures - they are amazing! We have lots of snow sculptures in in Saskatchewan Canada but not many sand sculptures that I've seen. Thanks also for sharing about your country, it makes me want to jump on a plane and come visit! My guess on your picture for your next post is a windmill that feeds into the power lines. Is that correct?

Yeah, we do ice sculptures in winter when it gets very cold. I haven't seen them in real life either as they are made in another city but looking at the news, on them, they look as amazing and more so as you can go much more detailed with ice.

No, it is not a windmill, unfortunately. We do not have many of these. It is a creature that is very popular in Latvia an you can see it on almost every electricity pole all summer long :D Especially going to the countryside. But I loved your guess a lot! :)

H-m-m a creature. Is it a vulture? or I see storks are very common in Latvia. Is that what it is?

Yes, it is! I also made a second post where you can see the pair of storks in their nest! :)

Okay- the Mayor should totally hire you to do the city publicity for them- your love for your home just shines out of every single word and photograph! You've made me want to visit so much- I would love to swim in the sea in the summer and see those wonderful frozen waves in the winter. Even more than that, I'd like to sit with my sketchbook and capture the tankers as they sail past!

My fave sculpture was definitely the mice on the cheese- brilliant!! Oh- and you have a lovely smile.

Thank you for giving me a beautiful holiday through this post.

E

Haha, I also loved the mice a lot, they were very professionally made :)

I am happy that you liked the post and yes, it is true, I love my home very much as it is guilty of giving me many wonderful memories. I hope to go back very soon and make my life there :)

Also, it is not so expensive to get to Latvia and find a place to stay in. And, I am sure you would love to at leat see the sea, it is captivating! However, not everyone is ready to swim in the 17 degrees ''warm'' water so I must warn you that it is not very warm :D It sometimes is warmer than that, though.

Thank you for the amazing comment!

Such beautiful skies in many of your photos! I've never been to Latvia, even though my father was born in Rezekne and I have relatives in Jurmala. One day I'll get there!

Oh, it is amazing to see someone with roots from Latvia. Where were you born? And, were you taught the language? Just a little bit? :)

Oh, and BTW, your name is very Latvian :)

Ventspills is a very nice place.
All this green land is a sign of natural beauty.

I understand when you talk about a rushed travel where though you wanted to explore more, someone is telling you it's time to go.

This whole sea looks nice for a hangout, as someone walks through the sand.

To talk about the scalp ture, yes the mouse indeed looked very nice, even the faces. All these art pieces are worth a look. They tell a story.
Thanks for the pictures.

Yes, I had my plane tickets bought so I could not linger any longer but I am sure I will get to go back soon again. :)

It is great to be at and play games with your friends with. There are places by the sea where you can play Volleyball with your friends so that might be great fun!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you! :)

Hi lindahas,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks, guys and gals! :)

What a great post. I love all of those sand sculptures. Your childhood home looks peaceful, natural, and very clean. I hope you have a wonderful time visiting.
steemsig.png

Yeah, my time there was wonderful! I got to spend time with my brother and that is all I could have asked for :)

I did not know you are a Latvian. From your photographs you share, you have a beautiful country.

Born and raised :D It is mentioned on my steemit account :)

Thank you! I find it to be very wonderful and it is home to my heart, so it will always be beautiful for me :)

I love the Baltic Sea everywhere. What a beautiful post, Linda! 😍

Thank you very much! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98