My latest work spiral 19

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I will go very frankly.
Recently I had a bad friendship breakup with my close friend on other social platform.

I know, this is not a place to spill the beans... But it's still making me down now after almost a month, not to have a good chatting friend whom I used to chuckle with.

How to move on?
My solution is... the time I spend tapping my key pad will be more on this community from now on.
Taking the liberty of this "blog" posting style... Right now.
I hope this helps my soul.

And I made artworks.
Positive side of breakup was ironically, it liberated my mind and made a room in my brain attic!
I could think or come up with new development, finally.

So here it is.

image

33x25x20cm, fabric, plastic, thread.
This is done with paper for a draft in the first stage.
Next time I show you how.
Basically, I don't use ruler. Just fold and cut, origami style.

Then I transfer it on to fabric. Cut and sew them together.
If it needs to fight with gravity, I add plastic or interlining according to how much firmness it needs.

image
This is the bone of this spiral.
It does look like bones, doesn't it?
I gave a bit of angle to those, so.... it is has a bit of movement than straightly attached.

image
Then I sewed down those flappy thingies.
This is half way done on one side.

You know, it's normal that we artists understand that our work is almost everything. It represents ourselves.

Which means you could see through personality from it, such as:
-is it carefully /carelessly made?
-is it colorful /colorlessly made?
-has complex/ simple?
-adventurous and innovative /conservative and strict?
-theres a story in it?
-monolouge or interactive?

And all other elements can be picked up from artworks, which interestingly reflects artists themselves.

image

Artists we all have our own individual ways to create.
My way is like making a toy model, but making those pieces to start with, then assemble.

I don't really care how I look... Because no matter how good or weird I look in physical appearance, it's all here, this is me.

The artwork and images in this post is made by me, @naomipangolin.

Sort:  

Hey @naomipangolin, sorry to hear about that breakup. But I am sure time will heal. And I think your artwork, as always is really pretty. What is it made of? You have an amazingly imaginative and creative mind. You can make things from almost anything! I still remember your bottle caps bag :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @marblely, very generous. You are already helping me so much!! 😄
I'm gonna be singing that famous song too.
"let it go~ let it go~" 😄

Hehe yes, lets jam together, Let it go!!!!! Let it go!!!!

Dear Artist @naomipangolin ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow community account. Follow us for more support. The Idea of this blog is to bring creative people and art enthusiasts together and to increase the reach of Steemit - Artists ! See you soon !

Thank you so much for your attention @fineartnow! Yes, will do!

They say people come and go in our life and there is a reason for everything, one way or another. If the door closes, a window will open. Something better is being cooked...

Positive side of breakup was ironically, it liberated my mind and made a room in my brain attic!

Apparently, that is true as it made you create a beautiful art! Is that an origami or cloth you sew? I can't get enough staring at it. 😲 How big is that? Do you have a step-by-step process on how to do it?

By the way, I featured your article on my post for the Pay It Forward Curation Contest. You are welcome to join us.

Thank you for you application and kindness @macoolette!

This is made of fabric and plastic bottles I cut them so to be a structure.

Thank you again for asking the steps. I didn't think that people would want to know them... I did took few photos on progress. I will edit this post now so you could see them😊

Well, we are the same in terms of posting what we created. I used to just share the finished product until people ask something in between. I guess that tells us that people are interested in what we did. 😊

Thank you for editing your post for additional details. I admit I will still need my imagination when I start doing that. How big is it?

Its a small piece, 33x25x20cm.
My friend invited me to make group exhibition next year, Im bring it in baggage so better be small!

If you are interested to join us let me know😊
Its in Nepal.

I think that is big enough for a table display.

When will that exhibition be next year?

Yes, next year March but dates not fixed yet. I will keep you posted if you are interested.

Ohhh... I don't think I can travel overseas by that time. Thanks for the invitation anyway.

You know what? People will always find new and creative ways to disappoint us... unless we expect nothing from them. I guess Jim Morrison was right, after all: People Are Strange.

After having a few clashes when travelling around with a group of friends, eventually I found out what worked the best for me... and now I travel alone.

PS: I've found your article after reading @macoolette's entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Thank you for your opinion and wisdom @trincowski. In my case, I was traveling alone all the time... until few years ago.

So now, at my age of 40, getting to know of this disappointment which teengers normal go through for the first time.

Funny and strange things, we are.

And thanks again for reaching to my post, you have traveled quite a distance, pleasure knowing you.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you for your kind attention @esteemapp. It's very encouraging, I'm definitely happier than knowing your vote, will check them out!

Hola te felicito por tu obra de arte, hay una cancion que dice, no hace falta el que se va, hace falta el que vendra.

Recientemente tuve una mala ruptura de amistad con mi amigo cercano en otra plataforma social.

Encontré su artículo, porque es uno de los blogger de la entrada de @macoolette para el concurso Pay It Forward. Esta invitado cordialmente a participar, un abrazo.

Muchas gracias @celinavisaez.....
I will use my struggle to change and make good artwork.

Dear Naomi, welcome after the breakup to the new chapter of your life. Steemit is great and you will love the rollercoaster of blogs and info. I found your blog by @macoolette, a @pifc friend who nominated your account.
I love the artpiece and recommend that you enter the needlework group we are all lvers off needlework.
Have a great day and love steemit
greetz
britt

Thank you for your visit to my post @brittandjosie!
That is so right, yes a new chapter!!
I thought of a season but... Season will come back! Thats horrifying.... Yes, chapter, move on!

Oh and you also like sewing? I am so glad you like my work! Cheers! 😄😄😄

YES I am in @needlework and @neefleworkmonday. We are even In a discord server and if you want more info on Our challanges or want to enter a needle work you Made just look in those accounts or contact @crosheille she Will help you further along Our needling platform. It would be Great to have you!!
GREETZ Britt
And offcourse I liked your piece of art its beautiful

Oh yes, I know her too, very supportive and welcoming, and she is full of ideas for us to participate!! Thank you so much @brittandjosie I feel so happy to know we are connected, and I needed that😄will keep in touch❤️❤️❤️

I am so sorry to hear about the friendship breakup. I had one of those just a few years ago with someone I called my best friend. We were both apart of each other’s families so it hurt really bad seeing my kids suffer too.

I am glad you are able to vent, and express yourself through your beautiful art. You are a true artist not afraid to take risk with your imagination and I love that about you. I hope you find peace and healing and are able to continue on with your regular day to day activities inspite of this breakup.

This is a very unique and beautiful piece. It’s amazing how you created this spiral effect with fabric. It is very intriguing. Thanks for sharing and thank you for using the #needlework tag instead of the #needleworkmonday tag!! 😉 I really appreciate it. Hopefully everyone will catch on so we can get back to using the Monday tag for Monday’s only!

Thank you for sharing your experience @crosheille, made me feel I am not alone, but a sad one this is, isn't it? And I'm sorry I brought your sad memories back.

My face and head hurts, I guess my sadness accumulates to those spots. I am not so good at it but trying to meditate sometimes. and being couch potato does empties my mind, funny but true! No brain working there!

I do seek refuge in art and craft making too, keep my mind occupied. And positive feedbacks from you really helping me🙂. I feel "hey there is someone who gets me❤️!"
Thank you so much for being so supportive, not just now but always❤️❤️❤️

Yes it is very sad how things end up sometimes. You are definitely not alone. I have learned that everyone we meet won’t be a lifetime friend. Some are just passing through and others are here to stay. It just hurts when you find out about the ones that are just passing by.

Thank goodness for crafts!! They keep us company when we need them. It’s no problem at all, I’m glad I can be here to support you. 🤗❤️

Thank you, I am feeling so much better with your kindness❤️ I used to be solitary except for my husban and kids. It's hard to understand and slapped by this at my age for the first time... Ya... Well, after I get myself fuuly charged, I will be back with better ideas!! See you around! 😊

Hi @naomipangolin It always sucks when you lose someone due to a difference or a circumstance.

Positive side of breakup was ironically, it liberated my mind and made a room in my brain attic!

It is amazing how something painful can actually liberate us in some ways. This is one of the best lines I have yet to see. You're right though as far as how you can see a person by their art. It gives you a clue on how 'cluttered' their minds are.

It's an amazing piece. I have to admit, I would never have thought of putting together the materials that you have. Personally I am partial to spirals. There is something mesmerizing about them to me.

As you know you were featured by @macoolette for this week's @pfic's Pay It Forward Curation Contest. Keep up the great work and consider joining in from time to time.

Thank you so much for very kind response @tryskele, and glad we have a common interest!

I'm a clumsy person, and there are few things I am capable of. In this whole wide world, it is said to be getting smaller, but getting to have good friend to get connected is still not easy. I'm very glad to read your comment this morning, you made my day! Have a pleasant day @tryskele :)

You're very welcome @naomipangolin. I do agree we all need someone just to be silly with and connect with.
You have a great day too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62847.73
ETH 3173.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80