Favorite Pencil and Timing

in #art6 years ago

After taking several days off from sketching (and spending a good amount of that time admiring other people's artwork), I awoke this morning with a headache, in dire need of coffee, and thankful for the sun. To help rest my eyes, I decided to pick up a pencil and sketchbook and do a little doodling. I could not, however, find ANY of the trusty #2 pencils I keep in my office. (Thanks, children, for stealing my pencils to do your homework.) I opened up the Pro Art pencil set that a friend gifted me, and chose one of the regular pencils at random. It was a 3B, and it is now my favorite. My lines look great (to me). I finished this first sketch in 20 minutes.

0226180930a.jpg

Fearing it was a fluke, I timed myself doing a second sketch. 20 minutes later, again, and it looks just as good as the first.

0226180942.jpg

What a big change from using a #2, as I did here

0215181036.jpg

I may never use another pencil again. 3B for life!!

Recent Posts

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Visit me on

Sort:  

You are right! Drawing relaxes the body and focuses the mind.

It does! My headache even feels a little better.

Nice, you are a woman with many talents @sumayyahsaidso x

Thank you. It's been a struggle for me to embrace the "artist" label, as my first love is writing, specifically fiction. Thanks to some amazing people, I've thrown myself into several expressions and mediums.

Glad you took some 'me time' :) Hope your headache is better!

The Excedrin finally kicked on, so I can move without the room moving with me.

I have seen your sketches and I liked them. You inspire me to get back and draw again. I have not done it in a few weeks now. Thanks!

Glad I could help in some small way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99