The silliest milestone ever: 11,111 followers

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Ten months ago I wrote this piece about learning to recognize and celebrate our victories and besides wanting you to read it, I also want to point out to you the payout my post got.

Go read the post and then check out the payout, I'll wait for you here, no rush.

You see, if you are a minnow reading this post, I once stood where you are; if your posts are getting cents or just a few bucks every once in a while, I was you less than a year ago; if you think top rewarded Steemians were always at the top you might be right, but there is also a small percentage of people who started at the bottom.

I was there. I don't mean to act as if I'm already at the top, I'm just saying this so you know it's possible, it's doable to be a minnow in the beginning and keep growing every day until you feel satisfaction and a sense of achievement.

One of the most important parts of my Steem life is portrayed in the link I asked you to read at the beginning of this post. Celebrating the small victories... There is nothing wrong in being happy for "silly" things; you have every right to pat yourself in the back every time you feel like you achieved something; you are entitled to feel good about yourself once you reach a goal you set for yourself.

I mean, if you don't do it for yourself, who else is going to do it for you?

It's great when we read a post that encourages us to keep trying to "make it" on Steemit but the truth is, most of the drive and encouragement we'll find in life will come from within ourselves.

That's why I'm celebrating this silly achievement. That's why even though I don't really make milestone posts (last one was 3 months ago) very often, I do try to make them every once in a while, especially when I feel like I need some encouragement.

Screenshot_20180805-194235~2.png

There you go Eric, nicely done, you have five number ones in your follower base. Cool story.

I say it's silly because having that amount of followers doesn't have any real meaning, it's just a number. It may be big but it's not a significant number like 5,000 or 10,000 or 25,000 but somehow, for me it holds a somewhat silly but important milestone. I have 11111 followers, and I want to celebrate that small, silly and weird milestone.

But hey, I would love for you to join in this little dynamic. Why don't you reply here in the comment section one of the achievements you've had in the past few days, an achievement that you might think is not worth celebrating. Share it with me and anyone who reads the comment section. Let it out, feel good about yourself.

Who knows, perhaps all we need is to read other success stories to get some encouragement for ourselves. Who knows, perhaps all this positivity can lead us somewhere :)

I will be reading all the replies and most of my voting power for tomorrow will be used to vote on the replies here, after all, we are all contributing to the good vibe, we are all part of the encouragement that may or may not come out of the comment section.

I'm not really a fan of keeping the liquid rewards of milestone posts, so all the liquid rewards from this post will go to the roadtosteemfest surprise I have prepared in a two months.

Sort:  
  • Maybe for some people it doesn't matter, maybe those around me don't realize how satisfying it is to grow on this platform, they don't know it, maybe they don't understand it but for me it has been, transcendental, it has changed my life and I celebrate that. I celebrate that every day I feel that I learn more, with each article read, with each interaction with a user, I celebrate these new virtual friendships thanks to steemit, I celebrate that this week I reached my fifties (50), eye, not of age hahahaha, but of reputation, with much effort, late nights and dedication, it has not been easy, some months ago I saw it far away, I felt frustrated, some impatience, but I could feel more convinced that I could do it, I celebrate that. Perhaps reaching seventy, as your @anomadsoul seemed far away, but I firmly believe that the momentum and breath as you expressed it in your publication, comes from within and will crystallize that dream faster than you imagined. Anything is possible with determination. So let's celebrate because it's done!
  • Quizás para algunos no tiene importancia, tal vez quienes están a mi alrededor no perciben lo satisfactorio que es crecer en esta plataforma, no la conocen, tal vez no la entienden pero para mi ha sido trascendental, ha cambiado mi vida y celebro eso. Celebro que cada día siento que aprendo más, con cada artículo leído, con cada interacción con un usuario, celebro estas nuevas amistades virtuales gracias a steemit, celebro que esta semana alcancé mis cincuenta (50), ojo, no de edad jajaja, sino de reputación, con mucho esfuerzo, trasnochos y dedicación, no ha sido fácil, hace algunos meses lo veía muy lejos, llegué a sentir frustración, algo de impaciencia, pero pudo mas mi convicción de que lo podía hacer, celebro eso . Tal vez llegar a los setenta, como tu @anomadsoul pareciera lejos, pero creo firmemente que el impulso y el aliento tal como lo expresaste en tu publicación, viene desde adentro y va a cristalizar ese sueño mas rápido de lo imaginado. Todo es posible con determinación. ¡Así que celebremos porque esta hecho!
  • logo luces

    Estimado amigo, o "compadre" como a veces te digo... o sencillamente "Eric" @anomadsoul para no decirte Jefe o Señor (como dices que te dicen los nuevos) jajaja me dio mucha risa leer eso el otro día.
    Te cuento que:
  • Tengo ya 147 días (de los cuales solo hice 3 post durante los primeros 30 días -grave error-)
  • Desde que comencé a publicar (con regularidad) he hecho artículos relacionados con la música que es mi fuerte
  • He publicado algunas veces para OpenMic, pero la competencia es dura (hay muchas gente buena, pero no descansaré)
  • Sin proponérmelo llegué hoy día a tener 51.7 de Reputación y 38 de SP (cosa que me sorprende)
  • A pesar de que los números hablan bien de mi, ya que son votos orgánicos, siento que la parte cuantitativa no es mi principal logro.
  • Siento y Se que mi principal logro es haber dejado ya una cantidad enorme de "buenas publicaciones", aunque no llevo tanto tiempo, considero que mis post le brindan "algo" a este ecosistema, es como dicen por ahí: tener un hijo, sembrar un árbol y escribir un libro, siento que todo lo voy logrando aquí. Me parece que no hay mejor HIJO que tu BLOG, al cual le aportas una gran cantidad de horas al día, no hay mayor LIBRO que los cientos de ARTÍCULOS que has publicado, y definitivamente no conseguirás un ÁRBOL mas grande que STEEMIT, donde puedas regarlo con tu conocimiento diariamente, haciendo que este árbol sea capaz de brindar sombra y cobijar con conocimiento a las futuras generaciones.
  • Ese es mi mayor LOGRO, mi meta solo fue sembrar un poco de lo que se, y mi recompensa ya la puedo ver cada ve que veo comentarios en mis post donde me agradecen por el trabajo realizado, espero sirva de legado para el futuro.

    Gracias amigo, por permitir expresar estos sentimientos genuinos con libertad en tus comentarios (que lee tanta gente).
    Te mando un fuerte abrazo y éxitos en tus caminos nómadas.



    PD: He aprendido mucho aquí, creo que llegó el momento de enseñar y compartir lo que soy y lo que se.

    Again...
    THANK YOU!

    Nothing wrong with silly. I remember when my first car rolled over 100,000 miles when I was in high school. I was driving myself and some of my buddies home from school. We pulled over and did a little stupid victory dance on the side of the road (we didn't have cell/camera phones in those days, else I would have taken a few shots), and then got back in and went on our way. It was silly and I haven't thought of that for years. But I have just enjoyed the sweet, fond memory of it because of your post. So, there's value in both, I think. Thanks!

    Congratulations dear @anomadsoul on this success)
    11111 - this lot of 1’s is a beautiful number! )
    I have only 876 followers now - as I write this comment,
    but I'm happy and I like this my number) Its three figures coming in a row in reverse order)
    And I was so happy, when you gave me a large upvote for my post about my kids and sport 3 days ago!) Thank you again)

    Sometimes Eric the silliest of milestones are even the loveliest, yeah you're a guy who doesn't really look at the random milestones just like when you hit rep 70, I commented on one of your post reminding you of the fact that you'd hit 70 rep, but the truth it with hitting 11111 followers I recon you will celebrate hitting rep 77 lol those beautiful odd numbers hahahaha.

    What can I say man, how do I say congratulations in Mexico? you're a limelight so far that's shone across many places, keep up the good work and once again forget the odds 😀😀 it's an incredible milestone

    congratulations for your 11 thousand followers is a significant achievement.
    My biggest achievement was when I made a publication telling my life here in Venezuela after I made the post it had already been 3 hours and I had not voted for my publication so I decided to go to sleep the surprise was greater when I get out of bed and go to the computer to see who voted my publication and I see that it has 100 votes and 54 sbd in reward for me was shocking and my publication is usually always at zero.

    Congratulations on the milestone achieved but then I tend not to value having much followers as a milestone for two reasons

    • Three months back I discovered that whenever I posted using busy.org i always get immediate followers up to 10 to 15 and looking at their accounts they are not more than 15 to 30 days old, so i don't have value for followers.
    • Having followers is not the main thing but having followers who contribute to your post either by comment or upvote.

    My achievement that might look small
    I got a writing contract from a steemian who pays me 2sbd for writing a 200 word article and currently he gave me some links to his old post on steemit, for me to copy them out into a word format and proof read them and he is paying me 25sbd for that

    Hola Eric
    No puedo esperar a que publiques en español para comentar.
    Realmente agradecido por tus palabras, no solo en este post sino en el post de hace 10 meses.
    Ciertamente es muy importante celebrar las pequeñas victorias. Entendiendo que poco a poco la victorias serán cada vez mayores, en dinero, en retos superados y sobre todo en mayor satisfacción. E inevitablemente invitándonos a obtener un nuevo reto para optar por una nueva victoria.
    Como invitas a compartir un logro que quizás pase desapercibido, aporto el siguiente.
    Con el auge de steempress, conseguí tener un blog, y hacer un par de publicaciones. Y gracias a los acuerdo entre steempress y cervantes, mis publicaciones fueron tomadas en cuenta. Sé que no es gran cosa pero primera vez que recibo votos de ellos en 7 meses en steemit. Y debo admitirlo, me alegró mucho.
    Un abrazo y saludos.

    11139 now - as I write this comment, Congrats :-)

    I won't say that I am doing badly here on steem blockchain. I may just be a red fish (not even a minnow) but I have had few posts that have earned more than ten dollars. I know that it is not a very big amount, but to me as a newbie red fish it is a big amount.

    The best thing about steemit is that people here respond. If you show them your work, they take a look and reward you accordingly. It may not be the fairest system (as a lot of people like to cry) but it is a damn sight better than all others out there.

    I consider myself lucky to have been able to find this place and to get to know some decent human beings. In the process I get to earn some Steem tokens. Frankly, life looks far more uplifting here than a lot of places that I know of.

    Let,s assume that there are a little more than 1M steem accounts. This means that you are followed by at least 1% of all Steemians. I wouldn't call this a silent milestone! That's just amazing.

    Well I will be writing my morph from red fish to minnow this evening or maybe tomorrow. This was a goal since I did start my Steem journey in the beginning of the year! So, yes I will do a little happy dance when I do see "Minnow" in my busy.org frontend :)
    The most important thing to keep being motivated is to set achievable goals. They may not be too easy to achieve and not too hard. Compare it with high jumping by lowering the bar too low you can just step over it, while putting it up too high you already know that you will never be able to jump over it!
    Next goal is 750 and it would be a dream if I can reach this before the end of the year!
    Cheers,
    Peter

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.28
    TRX 0.13
    JST 0.032
    BTC 60625.76
    ETH 2898.84
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 3.62