Have you seen my teeth? - Comedy open mic #36

in #comedyopenmic5 years ago

Man it's hard being me sometimes! It's not funny, I'm serious, it Really is hard. I mean… being an awesome son, a fantastic brother, a super-hero dad, a mischievous grandad, an aspiring #comedyopenmic author, aannnd a perfect husband really can be stressful.

Don't get me wrong, I love being me and I do my very best at it. Sometimes though, things just don't go quite how I anticipated.

2AAD330400000578-3167391-image-a-33_1437333521900.jpg
(google images)

Take the other day for example. There l was in full blown 'Perfect Husband' mode, vacuuming the bedroom. I was hard at it for what must of been about 3 minutes when Henry, the vacuum cleaner, stops without warning. Henry is a few years old now. He took over from Hetty. He gets exercise most days, and I thought, ah! I'll fix that then! I fetched a screwdriver and in no time at all, Henry was in bits all over the bedroom floor.

Just as I started inspecting the motor, Wifey walks in. "What you doing?" she asks. "Henry stopped working, I'm trying to see what's wrong.." I replied. With that wifey says "Did you check the fuse?".

I paused briefly thinking, - Damn! Why didn't I think of that?! Then, fighting to hold on to 'Perfect Husband' mode, and trying to sound somewhat technical, I replied "Yes dear… umm, I think the motor brushes have worn out… or it might just be a dodgy connection", and gave the motor a poke with the screwdriver.

Wifey left the room. I'm guessing, but I think I got away with that. I put Henry back together, changed the fuse, and finished vacuuming. Whether or not 'Perfect Husband' status remained intact, I have no clue. Personally, I think I deserve bonus points for enthusiasm.

Or another time

It was morning… I woke up - that was awesome. Not that I didn't expect to, but you never really know for sure until it happens.

Actually no, I'm not gonna lie, I was woken up. It was wifey poking my ribs - "Oi" - She likes to call me that sometimes. - Then came an other poke followed by "Oi… Jas" - My reply was of course a typical man reply - "uuha!"

Next came the question - "Jas… have you seen my teeth?"

Now because I'm partially deaf, I wasn't too sure if I heard what I thought I'd heard. So I repeated my responce, but with a little more effort - "uuhaye!".

Again wifey said…

"Have you seen my teeth?… I can't find them!"

It was louder that time, and yes, it confirmed that I did hear what I thought I heard. Much to wifey's disgust, I let out a little giggle.

"It's not funny!!!"

She insisted.

Apparently, wifey's husband can sometimes be a bit of an insensitive ass. So as I turned to face her, I carefully reshaped my face from the impending grin that was trying to form, in to what I imagined to be a 'concerned' expression.

Where did you have them last? I asked.

For those that may have not click on yet, we are of course talking about wifey's dentures.

same-day-teeth-surrey.jpg
(google images)

Wifey: "I had them in my bag, but I remember thinking I should take them out and put them somewhere safe... I've checked all the places I would of put them, and they're not there."

Insensitive ass: "The last time I can think that you had them, was when I went to the dentist."

(Wifey came with me that time, and of course, she has to wear her dentures to the dentist.)

Wifey: "No, tuh! I had them after that!"

Ok I thought, obviously she's put them in that super safe place. You know, the place you put things, the special place, the place that's so safe you can't even remember where it is yourself. Yeah, I bet she put them there!

Having said that though, wifey isn't the absent minded or forgetful type of woman. She's often telling me - "I don't forget anything!" - usually when we're bickering because I may or may not of done something wrong. Yeah… bye bye Perfect husband status.

The Special Place

Right then, that's simple, all I need to do is figure out exactly where her 'Special place' is, then I can find her missing teeth. I'll be in her good books… the teeth finding hero!

After breakfast I set about my task. Finding the special place. Nothing else mattered. I was determined to be Man of the hour! Her Knight in shining armour!

I started in the bedroom. Searching. Looking in the wardrobes, drawers, jewellery boxes, tubs, pots, everywhere and anywhere I thought 'the teeth' might fit. Couldn't find them anywhere.

Shit! Where the hell are they?! I preceded to the bathroom, again searching every nook and cranny.

Nope, not there!

Next up, I entered the living room. There on the sofa was wifey's bag. I looked at it. Thought 'Hmmm!', quickly followed by 'No, I daren't look in there… she's checked in there herself'. I continued around the room, searching for wifey's elusive special place. (Hey, come on, you know what I mean!).

Running out of places to look, I glimpsed wifey's bag again out the corner of my eye. Just sat there on the sofa. I couldn't resist temptation any longer and headed over to take a look inside. I reached out and grasped the bag. Like magic, wifey appeared in the doorway, "What are you doing?" she says. (Yes that is her favourite question to ask me!)

Thinking quick, I put her bag on the floor and shoved my hand down the back of the sofa cushion. "Looking for your teeth" I replied. Poof!… she was gone again. I continued to rummage down the back of the sofa. I found a few things…

A pen
A fork
Some old tissue
A 20 pence coin
Half a chocolate biscuit
Two hair grips
And something I can only imagine use to be part of a Cadbury Cream Egg.

a99e77ca74010a1cbe64bb8fe0df340e.jpeg

Src

Still no teeth

Sadly, I was running out of ideas. I checked everywhere I could think they might be. I still hadn't found them and it was way too late to clam the title, 'Man of the hour'. It had been at least two hours and counting since my search started.

And…

'Knight in shining armour', ha, who was I kidding! I gave it one last push and poked around in the kitchen a bit. Nope, I failed. Head hanging down and face poised with a sad expression, I went and found wifey to give her the bad news. "Sorry My Gorgeous, I can't find them anywhere!"

Well that was it… I could almost see the temperature of her blood raise a few degrees. Then came the outburst…

"I bet someone took them!"

I didn't want to fuel the fire with a remark like 'Don't be daft!'. I'd never get the knight title that way. So I opted for a more gentle approach and said "But who would want to do that?

"I don't know... someone who wants to wave them around in front of their mates thinking it's funny!"

I stood there for a moment thinking and, to be honest, there are a couple of characters in our family that I wouldn't put it past.

Remember 'The Rebel'

20181004_232249.jpg

Anyway…

It was three days. That's how long the interrogations lasted. Over the next three days wifey cornered everyone…

*"Have you seen my teeth?, No! Well where are they then. Somebody must of had them! They're not in my bag or anywhere else I would of put them! Are you sure you haven't seen them???… don't lie to me!"

It was the same line of questioning for everyone. Even if they didn't live in our house, she went to theirs. If at any time during the previous week, they had paid us a visit, they were in for it. It didn't matter who you were, wifey didn't care. She started with family, then moved on to friends.

After the three days of intensive interrogations wifey announced, "It looks like I'll have to go back to the dentist and get some more then…. But if I find out who took them…!"

Day Four

That was the day it happened. Again I was woken with the poke in the ribs thing. "Oi… Jas!…" Shit, is it morning already!?! I was enjoying that dream, I thought. "Jas… I found them!" Wifey said.

Ok, so during the wake up process, I'm no genius… "found what?" I replied.

"I found me teeth!" She says.

What happened next was weird. The voice in my head was saying "well I'd given up trying to be the teeth finding hero anyway!", but the voice that came out of my mouth said "That's great dear!… Where were they?" (That was sweet. Why can't I do that more often… I'd get in a lot less trouble.)

Wifey's reply, "They were in my bag!"

I'm saying nothing except… "Huh, that's weird!"


Nominations:

Hmmm, I've picked on @dandays in me previous entries so this time I'm gonna switch it up and nominate his favourite Steemian @puravidaville.

And for nominee two… @weirdheadaches


If you'd like to take part and what more info, the rules are HERE


Thanks for looking

Until next time - Stay safe

Regards and best wishes, Sivehead

Sort:  

Hi sivehead,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating. (They generally have no sense of humor, as the saying goes, those that can't do, start contests and judge).
This will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied. (That being said, you are free to adopt any position you wish - we can recommend pantsless with beer in hand.)

Judges:

If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

My father had dementia and dentures so I spent at least half my life searching for them. My very favourite pastime was throwing the contents of the rubbish bin out on the ground and going through it. Joy!

Ha, sounds like heaven. It just reminded me of when I was about seven. My dad had a denture too. We were in a cafe having a snack. I was sat opposite dad at the table, when all of a sudden, without any warning, he sneezed. His denture flew out of his mouth, ricocheted off the table and bit my ear. It was hilarious.

Lol... don't forget to tie a bell to the door for when he starts to wonder

Poor old git died last week but I did have an electronic tag on him which alerted me if he went beyond the permitted zone. Very handy!

Thanks to @dandays for sharing your stuff, he always say you're funny as hell and he was darn right!! That was hilarious!

Once I've found a smaller bag inside my wife's bag, but I never dared to open that one...Who knows maybe it just infinite bags

Ha ha, I can just imagine. It's weird for me though. I sware Wifey's got like a seventh sense or something. Every time my hand is in a close vicinity to her bag, she appears like magic. It's damn spooky man... even when it's not halloween.

That was hilarious!

Thanks @edprivat, for having a weird sense of humour. I appreciate it!

Edit: Thanks for the resteem too, that was most kind of you.

Lol my pleasure! Great content deserve to be seen!

Oh its all about teeth!
I'd love to have no teeth I guess?
To avoid spending toothbrush and toothpaste?
And I'll just have it all in one, eating and drinking at one time through smoothies? lol
It would be fascinating!
It would be a happy life especially when I get to a hundred years old or more!

Hehehe...see you at 100

Oh yeah!
Watch me baby!

Ha ha. The thought crossed my mind too. I could save at least 10 minutes a day not having to clean them. And then there's all the time spent trying to dig all the bits of steak out from the little gaps between them.

Lol, that gif is great! 👍

Oh yeah!
I also grow my beard now to save time shaving them lol
Pretty cool dude!

bald bearded.jpg

Haha. Wifey doesn't like me in a beard. I can get away with a once a week shave before she starts complaining though. I can't help it if she likes my baby soft skin against her body when we're...

Yeah I know... NSFW!

Oh yeah!
I guess most ladies don't like beards.
And seldom employer accepts a job to a person with long beards I guess.
Bearded people are somewhat weird but missionaries and other communities allow it.

Really the teeth was in the bag the whole time?
Wow
Super husband!
That was funny

Yeap, they were there in the bag. Apparently there's a secret hideaway place in there that they had fallen in to. Who knew!?!

Lmao
Yeah
Who knew?

Could you please check her bag to see if my motivation to get things done is there too? Thanks.
Always disappears, the damn thing.

Ha, I'll ask her too check... if it is though I might need you to send over a couple of SBD to cover postage back to you. 😜

Hahaha :D That made me laugh. When she asked you what you were doing and you dropped the bag before inspecting it carefully I thought that they will be there. This is how it always is :) And BTW: Next time, go to the bag first. There is EVERYTHING in a woman's bag :D especially things that you wouldn't expect to find there.

I can imagine your wife searching homes of family members and friends and blaming everyone :D

If there is just a little bit of reality in this story then I must say that you are a great couple and you must have fun every day :D

Yes, i think you're right about the things you find in a womens bag. Wifey's bag weights a ton. The thing is, she can never find what she's looking for!

Reality in the story!... well there might be a minor embellishment here and there, but for the most part, yes it's a true story!

I would like to know what your wife thinks about that 'minor embellishment' :D

Lol... me too! She doesn't know I've posted that.

By coincidence I found the important papers I was looking for the same way your wife lost her teeth. It was a tough search going through different places around the city to find the damn documents (I have been traveling a lot with them). Turns out it was just in a separate compartment placed by friend I previously asked to have them on my suitcase.

My suitcase had a lot of compartments.

I kinda felt dumbfounded at how much time I wasted making a fool of myself. So I guess when you said

"Huh, that's weird!"

Felt exactly like that.

This was a great idea @sivehead from the intro about the greatest husband, all the way through. Great entry! I laughed out loud a few times, promise. It’s cool when I see comedy posts now I’m actually starting to recognize the judges. Come join us on discord already for the however many times I’ve said that to you.

I’ve picked on @dandays in me previous entries so this time I’m gonna switch it up.

I’m still calling you out every.single.time just sayin! 👍🏿

Good luck @sivehead, I hope this one does you real well.

edit Hey my man!! I left that message before your @curie visit. Congratulations.

I laughed out loud a few times

Then my job is done! 😁 I can sleep easy tonight! Thanks man. As alwsys, it's a pleasure receiving your support.

Moral of the story you'd still get stuff if you sleep...so sleep 😏

Oh I'd love to but i keep getting poked in the ribs, lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99