ADSactly Literature - Comic Books Edition!

in #comics5 years ago


src

Hey @adsactly readers,

Today I thought we’d switch it up a bit and not talk about theater or comedy. See, I’ve always been a keen booklover, an avid reader. What can I say, it was always a big part of my life. And for the longest time, I used to look down on comic book readers. I used to think it was “lesser” literature, you know?
It was a silly view of things, but what can you do? And the truth is, many literature lovers have this misconception and often miss out on a lot of great stories, assuming that comic books are all action-packed, using small words and generally addressed to eight year olds.

But that’s simply not true, you know? And I’d really like to counter this view I was once guilty of, by talking of a few comic book series that really changed my mind about this genre.

1. Sandman Series


src

I have to start with this one because it was the first comic I ever read. I’ve always been a big Gaiman fan and there came a point in my life where I realized I’d read all his novels and all that was left was the Sandman series he created in the early nineties.

Originally, it spawned dozens of issues, but it has since been assembled into ten, neat books. It follows a wide range of characters, stories and events (from Lucifer to Odin, to random New Yorkers), but its main character is Dream, the lord of dreams (naturally) and one of the seven Endless entities (Death, Destruction, Desire, Delirium, Despair and Destiny) that govern our world.
The writing is incredible and all the characters are immensely well-written (but then, it is Neil Gaiman, so what can you expect?) and it deals with a lot of interesting concepts, such as mortality, duty and also, love. I could ramble on for hours and probably describe each book, as I’ve binged the series several times, but suffice to tell you the first one tells what happens when the Dream Lord is imprisoned by a cult, seeking to entrap Death, his sister. You can read the rest in the books and I highly recommend you do.

2. Hellblazer


src

Interestingly enough, my first encounter with John Constantine was a brief appearance in the first Sandman novel, which spawned another comics love affair.
John Constantine is this good bad boy. He’s an occult detective, who’s at the same time luckless and yet, extremely lucky. He’s clever and ruthless, but longs to do good and is always driven by a desire to see the greater good prevail.
See, I’ve never liked traditional good, straight-lace heroes, so John Constantine is right up my alley. He’s good without being sappy and he gets in a lot of cool situations involving magic, demons and the like.
Oh, and there was a 2005 movie adaptation starring Keanu Reeves and he was visually inspired off of English singer, Sting. What’s there not to like?

3. V for Vendetta


src

Yes yes, you probably know of the movie, but were you aware that before any of that, it was a popular graphic novel written by legendary writer Alan Moore?
As you can probably imagine, it follows the adventures of V, an anarchist sporting a Guy Fawkes mask who begins a revolution and seeks to overthrow the fascist regime that has been established in the world.
Alan Moore’s also written a bunch of other really cool stuff like Watchmen and From Hell, which you might also like to check out.

4. Lucifer


src

Again, this ties in really well with our post because it was a spin-off series based of a character that originally appeared in the Sandman series – at some point in the story, Lucifer grows tired of being the ruler of Hell and decides to abandon it, setting all the prisoners and all the tormenting demons free. He leaves the Keys to Hell to Dream, who is then forced to listen to various warring factions (such as the Lords of Chaos, angels sent by God, Odin, Thor and Loki, as well as many other deities) who wish to get their hands on the new keys.

Sandman very briefly explores Lucifer’s life after he leaves Hell, only mentioning in a latter book that he now runs a bar called Lux, where he plays the piano.
But the Lucifer series, written by Mike Carey, revolves around the fallen angel’s adventures on Earth (and not only). It deals with the issue of free will and how much of a choice Lucifer has in his own story and how much has already been decided by God.

Sound familiar? Yeah, that’s because the comics served as inspiration for the hugely popular TV series of the same name, starring Tom Ellis as the Devil who, a bit like John Constantine in our example above, is the bad boy with the heart of gold.


In this post, I’ve mainly focused on Vertigo comic book series, because, as it happens, I get a lot of those at my local library. But I would love to hear what comic books you guys like to read? Are they dark and occult, like the ones I’ve mentioned above?
Are they more traditional and superhero-focused?

Please share with us in the comments – your favorite comic books (series, if that’s the case) and why you came to love it. Who knows who else might see it, read it based on your recommendation and fall in love?

Authored by @honeydue

References: wikipedia

Sort:  

Wow! These comics you've curated here all seem really great!

Aww, I didn't even know the TV series Lucifer started off as a comic! And how I love that series! Tom Ellis with the British accent on there is simply bliss!

I'd see how many of these I can get, thanks so much 👍

I read a lot of literature, mainly novels and non-fiction, I've read very few comics in my life but it doesn't mean I don't like them, I really do like them, but like you've said I consider them lesser literature too and anytime I want to read I go for 'realer' literature. I'd see what I can do about this, seems I've been missing a lot.

@nevies

Posted using Partiko Android

I get it :) I usually need to be in a specific mood to really get into comics, but yeah, it's always good to keep your eyes peeled. Never know where good literature might pop up.

Yeah, Tom Ellis is amazing <3 I love that show. And seeing as you do, too, I'd really recommend starting with the Sandman series, since Lucifer was his original idea (well, you know what I mean :D) so you might enjoy that as well.

Great post. I think it was a good move to rescue comuc books from the low lit box.
I love comic books, the good ones. As it happens with every genre, there are tons of crappy ones too, but those no not define the genre.
Comic books have been an important part of my life. I learned to read when I was 4 or 5 using comic books instead of ABCs, and it was a Kaliman comic book that hooked me since then.

I became a regular reader and collector by the time I was 7 or 8.
My favorite were, Kaliman, Aguila Solitaria, Orion, Tamakun, Arandu, Fuego, and Memin.

Later I read thee american ones. The mainstream super heroes and more recently I read some of the dark horses, now classics, that you have listed.
I'd add Watchmen as one of the best, if not the best ever published.

I think the dark horses are a lot better than the mainstream-y superhero books, honestly. :D I've never been much of a superhero fan, tbh.

That is so awesome that you grew up on comics :D good for you! Thanks for the comment!

Interesante el tema de los cómic, me llamo la atención tu comentario de la serie Sandman, es cierto, los cómics sirvieron de inspiración para muchas personas.

Nice article - I'd recommend the Alan Moore run on Swamp Thing if you've not read that yet. I'd also recommend the new series Canto if you can find it...a very gnostic book in these gnostic times. Thx again for the share

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, Alan Moore is such a master. Uh, I hadn't heard of Canto, but will keep an eye out for sure. Thanks! :)

Hi, @adsactly!

You just got a 0.32% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Oh, you reminded me of my childhood! I was a comic book fan. I borrowed them from an aunt to read them and I could spend hours in the room reading them. I was a fan of Kaliman, Arandú, Green Lantern and Memín. With this last one I not only cried, I also laughed; so I learned to appreciate the comics that made me laugh. I looked for them and then collected them and even exchanged them with friends. I must admit that I had forgotten my past as a comic reader until I saw the series THE BIG BANG THEORY, which led me to see in Sheldon Cooper, the Nancy of that time. They say that to remember is to live. Thank you for sharing, @honeydue

Oh that is so cool <3 I always wanted to be a big comic book fan, though I could never really get that much into it, you know? So cool you used to collect them and exchange with friends :D

I can say that I never underestimated the cultural value of comics (printed or audiovisual). Because of my personal interest and my profession (literature teacher), I devoted myself to strictly verbal and formal literature.
Of course, I belong to a generation well before yours; so my references are others, which I will not reveal at all (like "Superman", haha!). I was always interested in the works of the brilliant intellectual and cartoonist of the comic in Spanish that was Quino (for example, his "Mafalda"), or Asterix, Olaf... I read lake of "V for Vengeance" (after the film).
I don't follow the current comic for reasons of time and real possibilities of access in my country (Venezuela).
Thanks for your post, @honeydue.

HA Superman's a classic :D I had not heard of Quino before this, but will now definitely look for his work as he sounds great. Thank you for the comment, Jose :)

@honeydue, In my opinion Comics are those aspects which boosted the Imagination to great extent with the fun effect.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm one of those people! I don;t look down my nose at comics, I can see it involves artistry and insight, but none of them have pulled me in. This post might just change that, because I LOVE the one frame from Lucifer: "the ready combination of perversity, despair and ennui-- really is unique" today's world (the part I know) to a T!

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71