Looking for a future Dolphin

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

Whenever I get frustrated with SteemIt.com (the site, not the token)  It is due to a lack of diversity in stakeholders and curators.  I always want a greater spread of rewards and yet I fully respect the stakeholders using their stake how they want.

Recently I've realized I am supporting about as many people as possible within the constraints of my voting power and time.  I like to vote manually, so my support is sporadic to those I try to support.  I do want to support the growth of the user base, but I do not want to compromise my own ability to grow and earn.

An Experiment I Want To Try

One week and a day from now as an experiment I am going to delegate 1000 steem power to someone who wants to manually curate and grow their account.  I will delegate for one month.  (unless there is obvious abuse)  During this time the selected user is expected to self-vote, Hold and manually curate.  When I say self vote, I mean upvote their own posts and the occasional comment for visibility.  The point is to help the user build stake and encourage them to read and curate content that I may not even see or have any VP left to use on.  The user may use both upvotes and flags in their curation process.  GREAT NEWS @drakos has said he will match this effort, so either one winner will get $2000 or there will be two winners!  Thanks Drakos!  (He runs a witness, check him out)

At the end of the month, in return I would like you to share your experience with me via a post or conversation on Discord.  Did it help you?  Did you feel empowered to help others? etc.  How did it work out?  Why?

I do realize that someone could use the stake and power down after, either on purpose or because "Life Happens".  That's a risk I am willing to take. Aso the selected winner might trick me about manual curation, etc. etc.  That is why I am calling it an experiment.  Let's find out what can go wrong!

Obviously, this small timeframe and SP isn't going to make you a dolphin, but if you are serious about becoming one, it could help a little.  It also gives me something to think about while we wait for SMTs and Communities. 

My intent is to put a little bit of stake in the hands of someone who will use it with eyes on the site and curate.  In exchange they get a bonus on their own content as well.  The amount of stake is small and short lived, so there shouldn't be any lasting damage created.  Actually I have often thought if I held SteemIt, Inc's SP, this is how I would use some of it to spread the wealth without picking favorites.  Small, short term delegations.  So, let's experiment.  (I have no influence on SteemIt Inc., this is just for fun and entertainment)

So, there is the plan.   Let's pick someone as the LabRat in the Experiment:

Obviously if you want to be considered I am going to review your previous content and voting habits.  I only care about engagement not QUALITY.  I am also not inspired by hard luck stories, so if you need money for your dog's surgery my heart goes out to you, but that doesn't enter into this agreement.   What do you have to offer to growing your account and curation?   During the experiment I will likely check in from time-to-time, but I am terrible at micro management, so the concept is that you upvote what YOU like, not what I like.

And Yes, I did say you can and should build your own account also with the stake!  I want to see more stakeholders!!!!

Tell me who I should pick and why below.  It is fine to pitch yourself.  It's a short little experiment, we are not changing lives here.  :)

For those of you involved in Content groups, please consider a resteem!  (I rarely ask)

A good news UPDATE


@whatsup


Sort:  

Good initiative. As a bonus, I'm willing to match your 1000 SP delegation for 1 month to the chosen one. Or perhaps if you find two worthy candidates, I can delegate to the second person. Let's nourish those baby dolphins. What say you? 😀

Hey @whatsup and @drakos, I am also willing to delegate 1000 SP for 1 month. What do you say? 😎

The more the merrier. I have no objections.

Cool!

Awesome! Are we all delegating to the same person, or do you think it's better to choose 3 people?

Based on the response I think 3 would be great.

It is obviously your call and very generous of you, but I kind of wish it wasn't a 1/3 of your stake. Just because I want you to be a dolphin also. Of course your stake is your stake, but I wonder if maybe 500 sp would be a better amount. I know you are an adult and I am out of line, but I see a lot of people burn out by trying to support more than they can or should. Anyway, hit me up on discord under this name if you want to talk about it.

Yes, I also think that 3 people would be better. As for the amount of Steem Power, I have made up my mind already :) I'll message you on discord tomorrow when I get back home. Have a great weekend!

You guys are legends! I'm only new hear but if I had it, i'd help for sure!

Hey, I can't find you on discord, give me a ping as soon as possible.

Hey, @whatsup, I just logged in :) My nickname is irreverent-dan#4220

Way to go @irreverent-dan 💪

Posted using Partiko Android

I say that is awesome. If you are sure, I will update the post! :)

Hmmm, let me think...

Okay nourish me! 😂😂😂😂 Pirate's Dan will be more urghhhh!
Cat Pirate.gif

Yarghhhhh, I want that cat pirate as my new pet.

Sir we have one from GrumpyCat breed would you like to try it. 😂😂

that's amazing @drakos !!! both of you, @drakos and @whatsup, are incredible and generous <3 <3

GOOD LUCK to this project !!!

This got me laughing real hard.


Obviously if you want to be considered I am going to review your previous content and voting habits. I only care about engagement not QUALITY. I am also not inspired by hard luck stories, so if you need money for your dog's surgery my heart goes out to you, but that doesn't enter into this agreement.

Great way to make an @whatsup's idea better!

We're using the same icon lol

That is funny! Thanks pixabay.

Now that is awesome to witness!!!

Aweaome, the experiment is growing! Cheers @drakos 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...

I’d love this delegation to not only help myself but give back to the community because my Motto has always been engagement which is the key to success I’ve learned being on steemit for the past 1 year

Hello, @whatsup! I am newbie. I'm only one month on Steemit. I am an artist. I wanted to publish my artworks, but decided not to hurry. I decided to wait a few months and look around better to understand what rules the community functions. And what did I see?

I observe here many artists of more talented, more purposeful, more workable than me. And I see that they get very few votes for their unique content. I think a lot about this injustice.

I did not want to publish my recordings for another month or two. And I will not do it. I will spend the delegated power on the help and promotion of my new friends.

I am ready during this month to look for talented artists daily and help them.

Maybe I will have to publish one post. I will tell in it about my new opportunities, let other artists easier to find me and tell me about their art.

Most of all on Steemit, I do not like when the authors themselves vote for their own comments. I hope I will not do this.

It is known that power is changing people, but I hope to remain myself and spend efforts to help others.

WASSSUP, @whatsup? :D
I have the perfect candidate for you, and speaking of "diversity", SHE is first and foremost a female, graduated from a Minnow Program, is helping me run my MinnowBootCamp and has other diverse things about her.
@eaglespirit is my nominee, and I have not told her about this yet.

😊 😋 😎

She is an awesome curator, has (too) High Standards (we argue about this all the time, I have a knack for finding "diamonds in the rough") 😊
She will likely be my first grad from my yet-undisclosed-dolphin-boot-camp program, natural outgrowth from the #minnowbootcamp, Don'tcha Think?

😎

yay! thank you for this and sooo funny because I just applied. 😓😁

Whew, I was worried that you might balk at the
"self voting " requirement

;-)

@mbc-meps nooo i just started doing that for the asher thingy and i'm willing to give it up hehe

...anything for a Price...

😊 😋

@mbc-meps oh snap, afraid to know what that means. :p

Wow, that's tempting!
I just woke up to find my Voting Power having decreased to < 0.01 for a reason I don't know about and to find this post resteemed into my feed.
I feel like applying actually since I always get into discussions about political stuff which are avoided by many others from the German community largely but matter so much since the group of right-winged Germans on this platform is ever increasing.
BUT (a big but) 1000 SP is such a great number. I could even do with half of that. And most certainly there would be 3 other people who deserve that delegation.
Another objection: I don't selfvote. Neither on posts nor on comments. This is a German thing maybe but I didn't come to Steemit for money (nor for arguing with the right-winged, that is).
Thanks to @timcliff for the resteem, I will resteem the post myself now, may the delegation find the right user.

If your voting power went down while you were sleeping you should go to steemd and check why. Someone might have accessed your account.

It is important to me that the person I delegate to builds their own account. So let me know if you are interested Self voting is a requirement.

I made up my mind. I won't apply myself but I'd like to suggest three German language accounts:

  • @asperger-kids who is doing a lot of curation work right since the start and is undergoing a transgender process now
  • @limesoda, an Austria-based company investing a lot of time and soul into development of the German community
    @steemarity, a charity project co-initiated by @limesoda and run by a group of university students

As for my voting power, nothing has changed but the exchange rate SBD <> USD, I think. Other users confirmed that.

I love how honest this post is. No sugar coating. As much as I'd like to pitch for myself, because who doesn't want the 1000SP delegation right? Haha. But I'd like to pitch for mermaidvampire.

In terms of engagement, she has been very active in Steemit. She runs different contests and distributing all the SBD reward to those who joined. Its always an "everybody wins" kind of contest.

She's very smart and generous with what she has learned. She actively answers the questions of the newbies in our group chat. Some of the things I learned about this platform, is because of her.

She always tells us to love Steemit so it loves us back.

She's on Steemit day in, day out. Interacting, creating posts, reading and learning. Even when she's on dialysis. She has kidney problem by the way, so she spends half of her time in the hospital, but that doesn't hinder her from being active in this community.

I know she would do a lot with that 1000SP delegation. Please do check her account and discover how awesome she is.

Thanks for reading. This is what I saw upon waking up. Good morning from the Philippines 🇵🇭☺️

Loading...

Wow! I am so speechless upon seeing this. First of all, thank you, I am so grateful of everyone's thoughts on me and wow I am excited about this opportunity. I have seen delegation stuff like this but never did I think I will be nominated and I will always be shy to nominate myself in one. But since this is happening, let me gather my thoughts for a bit and make an introduction. Thank you all so much.

Excellent, I will check her out! Love the suggestion.

@mermaidvampire is a perfect one to be delegated with 1000SP. Sir you may check her profile if you have doubt why we suggest her.

Yup she is a solid bet that also does a lot of contests and engagement in the platform.

I also suggest@mermaidvampire for this category..She has a big heart to everyone..❤hope you willconsider her too.

+1
I am also @underground's older bot account ;)

Awesome, @mermaidvampire deserves it sooo much! Awesome friend & fellow steemian!

Helping @mermaidvampire is like helping an entire community because she shares everything with everyone. She has a big heart. I hope she wins this.

@mermaidvampire is a wholehearted steemit users, I agree that she deserve the 1k sp delegations, She can help a lot of minnows redfish and inspired them to keep going. She's brave, good steemians, talented and a fighter for life.

Yeah, I know for a fact she helps a lot of red fishes like herself and it's not just red fishes from a certain country, she helps anyone. A little boost and extra SP can help her in her cause. If I have much, she will be the first person I'd delegate it to. Please help her. Thanks for this opportunity.

Please do check her account...

@mermaidvampire is indeed highly recommended for that 1k delegation. I hope you will consider her.

Her awesomeness truly inspire others. I also nominate @mermaidvampire for that 1k delegation.

Our community, Steemit Achievers will be full support behind @mermaidvampire. She simply rocks it, selflessly. She believes in the platform and its beauty and she is out to share and help despite the limited resources she has. She helps even if she needs help herself. A tough cookie she is, despite her chronic illness of kidney failure, she is all positive and a ball of sunshine. 1k SP will not only help her but will help a number of red fishes that rallies behind her, including the hundred heads in our SA family. Thank you and more power to you @whatsup and @drakos.

@mermaidvampire really deserve it, even she's also a plankton she really wants to boost other planktons by hosting a contest. She has this daily,weekly and monthly contest check her profile and some blogs how deserving mermaidvampire to win this delegation.

@mermaidvampire is one of the smartest persons I have ever encountered on Steemit... a super duper active lady that has a good heart helping newbies thru her witty contests for all users to interact and she´s very successful on this niche. She deserves the 1K SP delegation, give those to her and she will prove to you how she´s helping the community. I trust she can do it for she has the capacity to move steemians to get out of their hiding and join the fun.

I support and agree with you @meetmysuperego @mermaidvampire deserve this delegation so she could extend more help to minnows.I hope @drakos and @whatsup check more about @mermaidvampire.She is so awesome.

Hey whatsup!

Just wanted to let you know that we manually curate everything on the @informationwar account. It is stevescoins/openparadigm/wakeupnd/truthforce that go through #informationwar #politics #news and some other tags looking for content that fits our mission of fighting the Information War.

If you were looking for someone to delegate to or follow our curation trail that would really help us build our effort :)

*raises hand.

I can tell you for sure I'm very serious about becoming a dolphin. With the resources I have, I'm doing my best to make it happen and a 1k SP boost would definitely help.
I know you said quality wasn't your biggest concern, but excuse my self horn tooting just this once and I can say in general the quality of content I create is high. It's not particularly diverse, but the quality is high.
I've also brought several other high quality users on the site and plan to continue to do this in the future.
I'm proud of my curation record and I'd love to be able to do even more to help others grow as I help myself as well. I think I have a nice balance of these two efforts.
Regardless, I think it's super awesome that you're doing this, and it's one of those things that I think makes this whole system awesome.

I am using this platform because @midlet coerced me. He was insistent with his persuasive argument about the benefits, and the opportunities. @midlet is multi-talented with additional skills if he chooses to share them on this platform. He loves art as well as illustration, but he is just as gifted as a martial artist having competed and won at a young age in an international competition. I believe that @midlet would make excellent use of your contribution, in my humble and accurate opinion. 😁

Yes! I would like to show my support here as I think @midlet is both knowledgeable about the platform and genuine in their content and recommendations. He is an active and thoughtful voter who also consistently generates fun, engaging and informative content, sharing his art expertise and creative ideas with the rest of us. As someone new to Steemit I can say he has done a lot to help me get acquainted with the platform and find my community. I think he is exactly the kind of user that would promote maturity and growth in this environment, given the opportunity.

One of the reasons that @midlet would be a great choice as a future dolphin is because he is a walking breathing billboard for Steemit. He took the time to assist me with learning much of the platform and gives great honest feedback when commenting on various blogs.

He is not just concerned with getting upvotes but also establishing quality relationships and sharing his technical expertise. He would certainly bring the diversity that you are looking for and is someone who understands how to build and retain the community.

Glad to hear it, I will be checking out applicants as the post makes the rounds. :)

i wannaa also vouch for @midlet :D he's very friendly, VERY talented and very engaged with the platform. a great steemian !!

i also wanna say that this is an awesome initiative you are doing <3 very generous and i look forward to the reports and blog entries about this drive in the future :>

I definitely wouldn't be on Steemit without lots of coaxing by @midlet myself. I highly recommend him.

What a fantastic initiative, and great way to give back to the community. Eager to hear how your experiment goes, and all the luck to the baby dolphin!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11