A Question for the Bid-Bot Owners - Dlike

in #dlike6 years ago (edited)
Because I know that all I can do is ask and nothing more, I wonder if this is a concern they are currently thinking about, or if I'm standing in the minority. I've said plenty of times before that as much as I don't particularly partake of the bidbots, I don't think that they are inherently evil, so don't worry, that's not what the conversation is about.



img src

I'm fully aware that some bidbot operators already have blacklists and actively try to do their share to keep the blockchain clean. A task that in many ways is not fully appreciated, as it gets people like witness @themarkymark demonized. However, I don't think any practitioner of honesty can look at the problems we have with plagiarism, spam and say in the same breathe that nothing needs to be done.

With the creation of the new platform @dlike I'm seeing a rise in the amount of spam on the blockchain. Funny enough we are only four days in, but visiting their platform would make my point very clear. Since this is not likely to get better, but actually worsen, I'm wondering if it would be the right move to request the tag #dlike be blacklisted from bidbots all together.

To me, it seems obvious that the low effort content will continue to be produced by the truckloads as the platform gains more momentum, and maybe there is nothing we can or should do about that. That particular conversation is debatable you could say. However, I think most of us would agree that we don't want one liner links anywhere near the trending page.

Is that reasonable? Am I being crazy for requesting such a thing? - I happen to think that my concern does not really come from some sort of idealistic mindset, but from a mind who likes to operate in reality. If we effectively end up with a trending page full of pintrest pictures, we are very likely affecting the potential valuation of the currency in a very negative way.

I say all this, and at the same time say that I may be completely wrong about my assessment. Maybe, the platform itself won't take off, maybe it won't make a difference, but maybe it will, and I think that warrants some thought.

I hope some bidbot operators consider my request...


Other posts by yours truly

• Dlike solves nothing - Making socks easier to put on
• Fakenewsd by my ISP provider
• What's the deal with Ulogs?
• Join me tonight for Songwriter Shop Talk Featuring @shookriya
• SteemPeak is pretty great, but I wonder if this will confuse the new users even more.

Sort:  

You raise a very good point, and I hope other bidbot owners step up and chime in.

From where I am sitting, dlike is a potential snake pit of spam. The only parallel I can think of would be that it's like treating every pin on Pinterest as having the same "value" as a 2000-word essay on Medium. It's basically bullshit.

Someone could spam 200-300 links a day (it's probably already being done/tried) and clog the blockchain with garbage.

On a greater scale, I guess the thing that bothers me is that it sometimes feels like every new app/front end that comes to market seems to represent ways in which ever LESS effort is required to earn a reward. Is that REALLY what this is about? A sort of "money for nothing" free-for-all?

The good news is buildawhale took the first step forward and banned the tag. Hopefully others will follow and I would encourage those who have a voice, those who have some token in the game (social weight, really) to speak up about this, because if we stay silent its bound to happen as you've very eloquently described.

dlike is a potential snake pit of spam

Shortest description that hits the nail on the head.

I don't get that dlike thing... As far as I have looked at it, it seems like a tool that makes it easy to claim other people's work as your own, and if so, it should be blacklisted of course.

bidding for votes is a chaotic process..... but if there was a system that would distribute the votes among the users based on a the scale of their contents quality we would have had a truly decentralized system..bid bots some times help the new users like me to grow a little bit faster.. but using bidbots like a business is another level of corporate thinking.. those who have more money do and will control the market...

I think in that sense Steem resembles the way the world works. Investors are usually at the top of the food chain, and maybe that's the way it should work in order for economic systems to stay liquid.

I don't personally use bitbots, but I don't demonize adults for making choices.

I think you are on point.

hopefully one will take the lead, and the other operators will follow...

Crossing my fingers!

Pointing out the problem is the first step in solving it. Good on you... I think this will inevitably work out the way it should.

That's the least they could do while they suck that sweet sweet nectar. Then again I'm not even sure I care enough.

I'm with you on dlike being "huh?" and what exactly the value proposition is... I'm waiting for someone to create a decentralized bag. (I'm sure this joke isn't original)

I guess I just responded to both of your last posts combined.

Another possible solution is for bid bots to return transfers above 2STEEM or SBD (for example) to posts that contain the #dlike tag, in which case, if it is plagiarism, it can be flagged and reported in a proper way preventing the problem from reaching higher and if it a shitpost, it won't get too much attention or impact.

And this creates even more "problems" and possible solutions. What do you think?

edit: Or perhaps, setting a limit of an X quantity of STEEM or SBD equal to 2 STEEM or SBD divided among the number of all the existing bid bots, it could viable, but requires a great amount of consensus.

that could be a compromise... very possible, yes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87