Dlike solves nothing - Making socks easier to put on

in #dlike6 years ago

Have you ever thought to yourself - "Man, how awesome would it be if I could make the job of putting on my socks a lot easier!" - Of course, I'm sure you all have. I mean, let's face the truth here, you have to use your hands, bend all the way down or even worse lift the foot towards you, and then what? Push your foot through the sock?




I know what some of you might be thinking, and let me dispel those notions. "Why would someone need a whole separate tool, to put on a sock?" - Well, obviously you only say that because you are a privileged sock enabled user, unlike many others out there. So, you judge from the point of view of someone that does not struggle putting on socks, and you can't see the value of this revolutionary device.

Just try to think of the possibilities here, they are simply amazing. Imagine, you wake up early in the morning knowing that you setup your sock putting device the night before, so that you don't have to bend almost at all for the first few minutes you've woken up. You could just get off the bed, hang your feet outside the bed, and slide your feet right into the sock enablers.

SCIENCE!!!!


For the longest time thousands upon thousands of people struggled to put on their socks. They had to find ways to use their hands every single day like archaic nomads. Abandoned by the elites, these people sometimes had to walk around barefoot around their house, or even worse use flip flops. But... not anymore!!!!


Ok, now getting serious about this...

I've been attempting to wrap my head around the idea of proof of brain for the longest time. The concept has evolved within my own mind over the months and to be honest with you it does not hold any utopian tinge anymore. The value of content is probably not defined by the specific quality or veracity of a post or argument. But more by the value that the community deems it merits.

Steem's Blue Paper.-

Proof of Brain: Smart and Social Tokens
Token systems that reward users as they contribute to a token-based community system require mechanisms for establishing and evaluating content’s social value: we call this “Proof-of-Brain.”

Mechanisms for Establishing and Evaluating Content's Social Value


A bit of a mouthful, but it should get some of the mental gears rolling. This is to say that, as much as it might be hard to determine a specific set of rules, parameters and such that would fit all definitions of value. It's probably much easier to determine when something is the antithesis of value itself.

We can without much work point out obvious things that without a doubt have absolutely no social value:

  • Hate Speech or Internet Trolling
  • Fraud or Plagiarism
  • Spam

It's probably precisely for this reason that flags are suggested as an obvious reaction by the front end applications that interact with the Steem Blockchain, being Steemit.com the one most should be familiar with.



If apps are developed


For the Steem Blockchain they should be designed with the intention of adding value to the blockchain itself. In other words, if they remove value from the blockchain or encourage activities that reduce value, then no doubt they are not serving the intended purpose.

Any dapp that encourages spam and plagiarism, is in my view an attack to the value of the Steem currency.

So, What is Dlike's unique value proposition?


That's exactly what I'm attempting to find out. Because it seems to me that the only thing it can do, is to encourage more spam and plagiarism. Maybe I'm missing the boat on this one, and maybe someone can give me a solid reason why this would not be the case, but I'm having a really hard time thinking otherwise.

Let's not forget about Anti-Spam initiatives


And all the resources spent daily to combat the very same activities @dlike is enabling. What would be the role of @steemcleaners then, if the who point of @dlike is to share links, pictures and content in general that does not belong to the one who is posting?

Again, I guess I'm being either too myopic about it, or I have completely the wrong impression of what social value means as well. In which case, I should probably reconsider some of my positions on the importance of quality.

What's next?


Are we trying to become an over bloated blockchain of mainly spam? A sea of repetitive garbage of the likes of the very same platforms we "escaped" from?

I sincerely hope, that @dlike does not take off. I also hope that @ned and the Steemit Inc team does not consider even for a second delegation to an idea designed to increase spam, and enriching the developers who came up with the "social flu".

I'm sorry if I seem harsh, but like many of you, as a Stake holder, I feel it's my duty to speak up when something does not seem right. And to me, their 15% cut for posting and the "value proposition" are two terrible ideas made into a sandwich.


Other posts by yours truly

• Fakenewsd by my ISP provider
• What's the deal with Ulogs?
• Join me tonight for Songwriter Shop Talk Featuring @shookriya
• SteemPeak is pretty great, but I wonder if this will confuse the new users even more.
• Helpienaut Meeting 7/2/2018

Sort:  

Hey, wait... what about the socks thing? I wanna know if a person has problems putting on socks, and this tool makes it easier for them... How do they get their socks off?

Naw... the rest is good info, even if I'm too new to really know all the nuances... carry on...

The sock tool is the best!!! hahahha

There's no doubt the tool is cool. But, I'm serious about a tool to take socks off.

After, a long day of physical labor, it's sometimes hard to find the energy to bend this old body over far enough to pull of my dirty old socks. It actually becomes a matter of which is more uncomfortable, to bend over groaning and peel the socks off, or just leave them on a little longer.

Sometimes it takes at least one beer for that decision to be made.

I thought dlike was a joke, especially when they mention they will use DTubes payout method because people like it... Taking cuts isn't what content reposters like or want.

For this dlike will be following the most lovable dtube.rewards idea

edited to replace content creators to content reposters

I'm surprised to see some whales supporting it... are we crazy? I mean... What am I missing?

Everyone but our one and only <3

I have heard that the original form of Steemit allowed link-sharing. I don't think it's a bad idea to reward link-sharing, but I do believe it should take a backseat to original content.

As far as I can tell, @dlike has not taken any initiative to set reasonable maximum accepted payouts on posts made through their app. As long as this continues to be the case, I will remain opposed to the app and automatically skeptical of any posts made through it (similar to my feelings regarding dMania).

Browsing #dlike by trending is extremely discouraging. Most of the rewards are from bidbots but still, this is not good.

the tag is already crap... and we are what? one week in...

Honestly don't like dlike

I d(nt) like it

make we should make a dhate.io

a blog about all the things we don't like!

hahahaha

but then if you flag - x - is + confusing, so you upvote or you flag what you hate... (scratches scalp)

But Meno creating your own content takes so much effort...

:p

I'm being mean, right?

hahahha

I also don't understand the purpose and value behind @dlike. You make some very important points here...and I hope it does not take off either! It will end up ruining it for those of us who actually strive to create original content because it rewards theft.

Idk what's gonna happen in the long run, but if they get a big delegation, I intend to make a lot of noise..

Just looking at the tag feed and the comments being posted by the owner are making me intensely angry! I want to make a lot of noise too...because they aren't taking the negative feedback into account and only appear to be answering the comments and review posts that have mindless worship. It's so very blatantly a selfish grab for power and money that it makes me feel sick. There is nothing about the project that is designed to make steem better. It's a breeding ground for scammers and spammers and will only end up ruining what those of us who actually care about this place are trying to build. I am just fuming!

buildawhale just banned the tag... i hope other bot owners join..

Dlike isnt serious. Its like me writing the "Fix trending" post and asking for devs to make it.
Its not serious.
The idea of Dlike was as i see it... A kind of chnage in post listing. Sure.. That would be cool but i dont think it will come to fruition or anything close to it.
Its just a steemian having an idea

idk Silent... i mean, look at it.. its doing its thing..

https://dlike.io/

and... they are donating funds already...

people are using it.PNG

Oddly enough. I read the comments there and even the author said... I need devs to make this, its just an idea.

You got a 22.36% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @meno!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89