PROBIOTIC PREGNANCY

IMG_4928.JPG

Morning sickness is a term that must've been invented by a man! I have found few women who suffer only in the morning. In some instances this sickness is also not limited to the first trimester. In my case it lasted my entire pregnancy. I loved feeling the movement of my growing baby but that was as far as my pregnancy bliss extended. I was nauseous constantly. I could barely eat but the foods that I could stomach became my staples. The second my son was born the Hypermesis Gravidarum stopped. For many months I gave up eating the foods that had sustained me for 9 months.

IMG_4952.JPG

It is only in the recent months that I am again loving those staples. Sauerkraut and raw beetroot salad or beet kvass. It is popularly believed that sauerkraut originates in Germany. Indeed sauerkraut is a German superfood however it was the Chinese who invented this incredible fermented food nearly 4000 years ago. There are even historical records documenting the art of lacto fermenting vegetables which was spread by the conquering Mongals through Asia and into Russia, where it eventually arrived in Europe. Fermented food should be an essential part of our daily diet. It is essential for gut health and digestion as well as boosting the immune booster. The fermentation process is what produces probiotics. These good bacteria vary depending on the types of fermented foods. The word sauerkraut means soured cabbage. It is a most delicious fermented flavour and I can flatten half a bottle at a time.

IMG_2440 (1).JPG

SAUERKRAUT
1 cabbage
1 tablespoon himalayan salt (or good sea)
1 teaspoon caraway
1 teaspoon cumin
1/2 cup filtered water

IMG_7122.JPG

Soak the caraway and cumin in the quarter cup of water for an hour before making the sauerkraut. Sterilize two or three 1 litre glass jars. Save two or three soft leaves. Chunky chop up the cabbage. And put through a food processor to shred very finely. I fish out the hard bits and feed to my chickens. Place the finely shredded cabbage in a big mixing bowl. Sprinkle your salt over the cabbage.

IMG_7126 (1).JPG

Make sure your hands (and finger nails) are scrubbed clean for this part! I have always loved playing with my food. I really enjoy food preparation when I can get my hands dirty. It's one reason I love this recipe. The other reason is that massaging the cabbage is one of the secrets to a successful sauerkraut. It takes about 10 minutes to massage. You'll be amazed at how much liquid is released and how the cabbage softens.

IMG_7137.JPG

Once soft and slightly opaque you can add the soaked seeds. Keep the water for afterwards. Mix the cumin and caraway thoroughly through the cabbage. Then fill your jars. If there isn't enough liquid add the seed water. And here comes the second secret to success.

IMG_4951.JPG

Using the soft and sterilized end of a "stamper" (I use a long wooden spoon) press down the cabbage to release the bubbles. You need to stamp down the cabbage every day for the following three days. Using your saved cabbage leaves cover the shredded cabbage to ensure it is submerged. Put on the lids. Keep them in a dark place. The jars may spill water so place the jars in a saucer. Remember to stamp out the bubbles every day for three days. If you don't bad bacteria will quickly form and you will lose your sauerkraut. After your 3 days of stamping, leave the sauerkraut for a further 7 days. It will be a total of 10 days of fermentation in a dark cupboard before the sauerkraut is ready and you can place it in the fridge.

IMG_7142.JPG

Sauerkraut will store for months once refrigerated. That is if you don't gobble it up first! Probiotic fermented food is without doubt a superfood and it should be included in every meal. Despite eating very little during my pregnancy, I ate a lot of sauerkraut and my baby was born a robust 4.4kg little boy. He still loves sauerkraut and will drink the juice very enthusiastically. This delicious sauerkraut recipe is overdue a feature on #fruitsandveggiesmonday. So especially for sweet Lena and her fruitie contestants please enjoy the sauerkraut. This challenge of @lenasveganliving is my all time favourite and worth supporting.

IMG_9152.JPG

Sort:  

Ohh I remember being nauseous all day.. But blessed to have it only for the first trimester. I tried making sauerkraut but probably didn't make it right. I'll try again when I get some cabbage. Bookmarking this!

Ooooo. Let me know how it goes and if your kiddos like it.

Congrats you won the daily Gogreenbuddy upvote worth roughly 50 cents! Keep writing like this and you will keep winning!

Wonderful! Such a blessing. Thank you once again @gogreenbuddy

One of my favorite foods when I was growing up! Although, I never made my own, my grandmother did, besides many other fermented foods such as pickles and green tomatoes from her garden. Now, when I see all your wonderful photos, I am really craving it, so I have to make something with sauerkraut soon, lol. Your did a great job my Dear! Very informative with great instructions and I love all the image, especially the first one. Sooooo adorable 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Thank you for your sweet comment Lena. And what a special memory of your grandmother! Mine mostly just made sugar loaded deserts and cakes! I think we have so much to learn from the older generations who used to eat and cook from their gardens. I still have a lot to learn about canning when we have such veggie bounty. That little hand is very helpful. He loves picking the calendula - we have plenty - and it inspired me for my sauerkraut photography


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

It is surprising that you were able to eat sauerkraut during your pregnancy as it is a strong flavor. I only tasted it once, it wasn't bad, but I am certain the homemade variety would taste so much better.

Homemade is totally different @moneymosey. I must admit I couldn't stomach anything else with a strong flavour. Possibly it was the saltiness I needed

I LOVE Sauerkraut! Ever since I was very young, I remember loving everything sour ... yellow mustard, vinegar, pickled eggs, anything pickled actually :) and I still do! I never realized it was so easy to make, albeit a bit time consuming :)

Thank you so much for sharing @buckaroo!! This one's going to c-squared for sure :)

Lynn apparently it is part of our personality, or rather genetic makeup, that we prefer certain flavours (sweet, sour, bitter, spicy etc) I also love sour. And always have. Love pickled everything. Thank you so much for the submission

I had no idea it was part of our personaity @buckaroo! That's really cool :)

And you're so welcome about the submission too.

Oh!! This look delicious! I can hardly wait to try it. I'm a huge fan of sauerkraut ! Thank you so much for this recipe!

My pleasure @dswigle! Hope you get to make it

That’s so awesome! I never knew how sauerkraut was made. Its interesting that this was your staple while pregnant. A lot of my girlfriends had nausea with at least one of their kids and all had very specific things they could or couldn’t eat. I always found that to be so fascinating; our bodies are incredible machines.

Thanks for the step by step instructions on how to make sauerkraut. I’ll definitely give it a go sometime. Great entry @buckaroo !

@puravidaville I could pretty much eat nothing! Some women who have Hypermesis get hospitalized, sometimes for most of the pregnancy. It's no joke. Funnily enough I usually don't like eating really cold things but I loved icy cold water. I mostly just ate oats, sauerkraut and raw beet salad for the entire time. So, yes, our bodies are incredible machines. They are capable of surviving severe punishment.

Yea, I had a girlfriend who couldn’t eat nor smell chicken, another who never liked root beer before but craved it throughout her pregnancy and my best friend carried saltine crackers with her everywhere because her nausea was an all day event. I didn’t envy any of them during their pregnancy but the end result was the same for all of them; a perfect healthy little human.

That is all that we desire. Our little bundle in perfect health. Although I think the severe nausea usually dictates the desire for more!

Well you killed it. You conquered your pregnancy and now you have a perfect angel who I hear loves his veggies… great job :)

Very nice info to know

Yay.. thank you for sharing this recipe @buckaroo 😊 I read and heard about that fermented cabbage (but I can't even remember how to say sauerkraut😊) this remind me to "kimchi" from Korea.

I get used to try eating that little hand in first snap but I manage to read your post completely😄 can we add cayenne too?

@cicisaja why not cayenne? Maybe the fresh cayenne pepper will work to give it a nice flavour. I would love to make kimchi. I love it but it's the one fermented food I've never made. That has cayenne and gives a delicious flavour

I'm gonna try the saurkraut 😉 if I can make candied bilimbi.. why not trying this one 😉 I knew someone in my husband family who loves that too, and they love hot flavour. Do you think I should add the cayenne pepper from the start or later before I keep it in the fridge?

No definitely from the start. Add it with the seeds

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34