Accepting That You Deserve Good Things

in #motivation6 years ago

I was out with a dear friend recently who later texted me a thank you for listening which included the statement that she didn't want me to have to listen to her. I told her I am happy to hear her. That's what friends do.

I'm a talker. It's easy for friendships to be one-sided for me. I tend to find a little groove of interest only to me and perseverate, a term for focusing in on and not getting distracted from a topic and which often is associated with autism and accompanied by pressured speech and/or monotone. I don't go monotone, but my speech does sometimes get pressured. I can hear it happen.

megaphone.jpeg

Here's the thing: perseverating is embarrassing. I feel relieved when I manage to be quiet and other people talk. I genuinely enjoy listening, troubleshooting, just being an ear, or supporting in whatever way is needed. It gives me all kinds of joy in my heart to get to be a friend.

But I don't get to be a friend if I'm the only one communicating.

Do I deserve to be heard? Yes. Being heard is a good thing. But I am not the only person who deserves this. Every person does. My friend deserved the time I gave her (and probably more, knowing how I ramble on). I appreciated her trusting me enough to talk to me. Communication is vulnerable work. Vulnerability between friends forges closer ties.

friends.jpeg

When people tell me they don't want me to have to listen to them, what I hear is that they are embarrassed or don't believe their experiences are important/deserve time/hold value. And I disagree.

Allowing yourself to be heard means accepting you deserve to be heard. In turn, it is embracing your own value. It is claiming space for yourself in this busy world and saying, "I too deserve good things." Also, "It is okay for me to claim good things."

It isn't selfish. It isn't thoughtless. And not doing so isn't beneficial. You just end up carrying too much.

boxes.jpeg

We all deserve good. We all deserve to recognize and claim the good that comes to us. It is healthy and safe to do so. It is not healthy or safe to deny ourselves, simmer until we grow resentful, turn that resentment inward as well and perpetuate a cycle of emotional self-harm through denial.

I want you to say to yourself and believe: I deserve good things. I deserve to have my feelings heard. I deserve to take up space.

And with this, remember that you can choose to communicate with compassion for yourself and whoever might be listening. You are worth the effort.

Anything you need to get off your chest? Drop it in comments. I am happy to support you.

xoxo,

Shawna

images from pixabay.com

Don't forget, best comment on this account or @nat5an each week gets 5SBD reward.

Recent Posts

APP.png

Sort:  

you are a true motivational speaker...Great post :)

<3 <3 <3 Thank you for this post. One of the things I'm working on is feeling like I don't deserve abundance (of all things, not just money). It's centered around the scarcity lie that capitalism feeds us to that we will covet things we don't need. I deserve to feel safe and secure in my material surroundsing. xoxo

You do deserve to feel safe and secure in your material surroundings. I hear and affirm this!

My SO is also perseverative, in speech and action both, so I know this experience well. And yes, we deserve good things.

It can be quite embarrassing, but it is also just another way of being. I'm grateful I can be aware of my perseveration to be present for others who deserve just as much of an ear as I do.

Awareness, as in many things, is key. With the SO, when she comes home from work, we'll have some time for her to recount the story of her day, before I talk about mine. To be fair, mine is also usually far less eventful, as I work from home, whereas she goes out to teach.

Teaching can be an energy overload. I am most perseverative after that type of engagement. I like that you have a system in place. My SO always makes sure to hear me. We are working on having him repeat back at intervals so I am less redundant in my speech. :)

I think people definitely deserve to be heard; although I have to confess that I have always been one of the "quiet ones," especially in groups. And I have also been "that guy" who just quietly got everything done while everyone else spent hours wrapped up in trying to decide who, what, when and how things should get "done."

Thankfully, I have found my "voice" in writing... it suits my pace of thinking, and it has a backspace key, which my lips do NOT!

Writing is a phenomenal way to communicate. I understand what you mean about it suiting your "pace of thinking." Also, that backspace key is a lifesaver.

Wow! You really know your way around words. I am new here but this is the best post I have seen yet!

Thank you. :)

Wow! You really know your way around words. That was very delightful to read. I am new here but this is the best post I have seen so far🙂

Wow! You really know your way around words. That was very delightful to read. I am new here but this is the best post I have seen so far.🙂

You are totally right.

We must not forget that we are humans being with intrinsic value and it’s the best if we cherish and appreciate our good qualities. Doing this will keep our self esteem strong, and allow us to go on live with a much more positive energy.

<3 "Cherish and appreciate." Yes yes yes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15