My thoughts on Steemfest²steemCreated with Sketch.

in #my-notes6 years ago (edited)

The final day for Steemfest isn't here yet but I'm pretty much wrecked by now from too much drinks, sleep deprivation, and people, so here's a brief highlight from my pov in no order for those interested:-

  1. Connected with some non Steemit Inc developers. Making a note to increase support for @elear and @heimindanger's work to improve the Steem platform.

  2. Gained confidence in Steemit Inc's engineering team listening to their talk and Q&A session. Tbh felt kinda touched knowing they've been enabling so many of us on this platform.

  3. Didn't manage to go to every talk, but I think @sndbox's presentation should have been one of the "main" slots. IMO, they're doing great work, adding legitimacy to the Steem ecosystem. Very professional stuff. Any Steem developers should contact them for visual works. Also, note to suggest @sndbox to connect with @wmougayar and @elear. Inspire and funnel content consumers into taking active part contributing in open-source communities via content.

  4. @terrybrock's fantastic MCing is a great addition to Steemfest.

  5. Too many faces to usernames and conversations. Very overwhelming sometimes. In a good way of course. Way more people this year. If the event grows any larger, I would need plenty of Red Bull and a bigger brain.

  6. Finally had the great pleasure of meeting and conversing in-length with @sterlinluxan, @lukestokes, and @charlie777pt after discovering each other through our essays on Steemit last year. Pretty awesome finding connections through love of writing and communicating ideas.

  7. @joythewanderer mentioned a very interesting idea that devs should work on: stackoverflow for travel stuff. If you're reading this, remember to figure out your wishlist for such an app!

  8. Thanks to @knozaki2015, @bitrocker2020, @voronoi and @hansikhouse for taking care of my rather poorly planned trip. Much appreciated.

  9. Why so much alcohol? Lol. Never had speech stutter before with alco, but experiencing it this time. Kinda scary. Must be getting older. Note to control my intake even in such a fun environment.

  10. Some hiccups but overall @roelandp has done it again and even better venues this time. Also @sneak slayed the dancefloor with his really dope acid and techno dj set.

  11. @arcange promised special achievement badges for us who got lost walking around town trying to find the after-after party venue...

  12. Bought a new pair of shoes after like 4 years. Don't get high cut ever. Hell on my heels for the past few days.

  13. Most interesting talk for me is by William Mougayar @wmougayar. Can highly relate with his ideas of the token economy and the future of work. Check out his stuff!

Many more stuff but my brain is on the verge of shutting off now. Didn't take any good pictures at all, but here's a cute one during my flight earlier this week.

20171031_120023.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks Kevin for the pleasure of meeting one of the brightest and inquisitive minds in the Steemit community.
In every community of breaking edge technologies I've been involved the face-to-face meeting of people, we virtually relate always reveals exceptional human beings than we could imagine.
See you tomorrow for dinner after a nice sleep.
The best thing in virtual communities is to meet poeple in real life, the connection of the blockchain with the real world

@charlie777pt hi, I'd love to have been there! Cheers, my friend!

Awesome meeting up with you @charlie777pt. Yea some would debate that its best to have this piece of tech proliferate by focusing in online operations but id tend to agree that irl is where the action is at :)

Awesome details on the event Kevin, Luke Stokes is a totally great guy isn't he? You and him and many others have helped me just now reach 500 followers starting from scratch 5 months ago as a travel blogger. I did a shout out post of appreciation for those who've helped and supported my work here. I made sure to give you a mention as you certainly have been a positive influence and helped support my work. If you get a chance check out the post, but if not I totally understand. Steemit can be overwhelming for me and I'm just a travel blogger here. Your brain is probably spinning from all the info you just took in at steemfest. Just know your support is greatly appreciated. If my blog keeps going the way it has; I'll be meeting you in person at the next steemfest! Have a great day. - Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Hi Kevin, it was great to meet you and so many amazingly real but down to earth people with inspiring ideas. My brain is fit to explode with new app ideas.
I haven't written any code in years but meeting you and all the devs has put a fire under my butt to create something new and beneficial for the community.

There is nothing like meeting people face to face and as we discussed. It is incredible to me that the personas of the steemians we met totally matched their real life personas. Kind, passionate and smart.

It's not a very English thing to say, being that us Brits are so reserved but everyone who I interacted with were awesome including your good self.

I'm a bit of a lightweight on the booze too and the red wine was so creamy and delicious that I was pretty wasted yesterday but recovered enough for tonight's final dinner which a was a blast in the botanical gardens.

Here's to a great year ahead and look forward to next years #steemfest3

Bought a new pair of shoes after like 4 years.

Lol. damn dude... sure, there might be some wisdom in conserving gains and not breaking the bank upon the crypto windfalls, though surely it's worth getting a new pair of kicks at least once a year... :-D

Rok, I agree in principles, nevertheless in this scenario, thoughful consideration needs to be place in footwear preparation before the festivities begin

got lost walking around town trying to find the after-after party venue...

'Cause next year organizers will hard-fork SteemFest3* agenda to include the 'after-After-AFTER' party.....this could result in some serious walking around.



Optional Backup Name Tag for SteemFest 2018
source: nexusmods.com

** for other gear or implant preparation for SteemFest HardFork 2018 see my comment to @kevinwong below.....way, way below........just turn your mouse upside down and zoom-zoom the little wheel like a car for 30seconds and you'll see it =P

Haha u know my thought process lol..

Hi ~i'm korean I saw you at Steemfest.
Do you remember the steembanner I gave you as a gift?
I want to see you again next year at Steemfest.

Yes, thank you for the gift. And also the cool name card!

@kevinwong - Even in your sleep-deprived and not-so-alcohol-deprived state, you have managed to put together quite a list of observations and mental connects!! You certainly have a brain big enough and would not yet need an upgrade for years to come in my humble opinion
I have read articles and about Steemians you mention but your writeup gives me a feel of having met them somehow - perhaps because you have succinctly mentioned what value add they brought to Steemit and to the Steemfest interactions.
Thanks for the update. I hope I will get to experience it all some day in some future Steemfest when I gather enough rep and SBD to make it there.

Upvoted full

Regards,

@vm2904

Thank you for the updates. it must be great to meet the steemians in person. I am putting in down on my must do list to attend Steemfest3.0 no matter what.

hahahah! Well you make a good flyer even when you drink :) So awesome meeting you.

Likewise karen. Thanks for the acroyog experience :D

Good that you finally reveal you secret alias. I always had a feeling it could be you ;)

Awesome that you could make it to Steemfest, it's awesome to see the commitment of Steemit members.

I have seen some posts from @sndbox but I need to check it out more in detail because it would be fun to join such a creative outlet

Hope you get some good rest ! Cheers

It is very inspiring to read all that took place (alcohol aside). LOL

There seems to be a lot going on and I am convinced the non steemit developers are onto some hot ideas. I absolutely love the zappl concept and am willing to wait for them to work out some of the kinks in the system. That is going to be a major homerun for the steem blockchain.

Being one who is online and not at Steemfest, it is interesting the contract. There is a lot of negativity on here of late while all optimism coming out of Steemfest. I get the Tony Robbins rah rah concept but I do not believe that is what is going on. There seems to be genuine progress made on so many fronts.

There was even a rumor of a mobile wallet coming out in December....that would be huge....more than 50% of internet traffic around the world now occurs on mobile devices.

Thanks for your take on the events.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75