Irrationally long thoughts

in #thoughts5 years ago

I was actually planning on having a little night off from Steem tonight and get some rest, yet plans have changed. My daughter fell off a chair at daycare and bumped her head quite hard and could be slightly concussed, which means that we have to wake her up a couple times during the night. Well, my wife has her last weekend day of study tomorrow so when I say "we", I mean "me". Much like when "we" renovated our apartment.

Well, I guess I get some time to myself to write a little more as it feels weird to only have posted once. I am going to attempt to make my posts a fair bit shorter, even if I have to post more often so that people can pick or choose without having to invest so much time into them as I feel that with so much going on, it is less likely people will be bothered to engage if they have to spend too much time. I see this as a bit of a shame , but I also understand it as I am crushed for time more often than not too.

I am not sure what a good length of content is as I tend to be wordy in conversation also but, I am not very good at focusing on one topic. This is fine for me as I have said before but, frustrating for others. I think in general though, writing forces me to slow down a fair bit and attempt to stay more on the rails of the topic, though I do tend to fail often at this too.

I have had some interesting discussions of late but many of them are blurring into each other as my memory is very poor when it comes to these kinds of things. It is funny though, as in one conversation someone was talking about knowing the right way and then acting upon it. The discussion tonight went into rational or irrational actors and they think that good decisions depend on rational action, but I think that there is very little utility in the conversation as rational decision or not, people behave as they behave in the moment.

One of the things that people don't seem to understand (in my opinion) about blockchain is that it doesn't require rational action to work, it just needs actions to be recorded upon it. Once the information mass builds and the feedback starts making loops both statistically and in culture, people start to change their behaviors and will justify the changes in whatever way they must or, be completely oblivious to the fact they have changed behavior at all.

I would suggest that most of our personal changes are far from our awareness for most people, even if they are fundamentally shifting the way we think and act. Our environment influences and shapes us and while we might notice some factors, most pass us by even though we start to break traditions and adhere to new paths. Human thinking is far from perfect and no matter the information available, we create various heuristics that take a "that'll do" approach to life yet do not notice even as the that'll do shifts for the better or worse.

The reason we create habits is because we are lazy and don't have the energy available or attention span to continually evaluate and process every decision we make. Essentially, we farm our decision making out to a personal algorithm we have developed so we don't actually have to make a decision, just recognize familiar and act according to the rules. We have made the habit, an imperfect and generally circumstance insensitive rule, our authority - even if it isn't in our best interest to do so.

The idea of rational decision making is that we act on what is in our best interest yet, are you or do you know anyone who acts completely rationally? Everyone knows, that smoking, junk food, sugar, various drugs and a host of other things are bad for us but it doesn't stop us from our vices. We all know that we should be investing something, yet most of us justify not doing it, even as we partake in vices that take away investment opportunity. So, are you a rational actor - are you acting in your best self-interest?

Most likely like everyone in this world who has limited knowledge, we narrow our immediate conscious decisions down to the information we have easily available, then temper it with our desires and wants, and finally allow habit to make most of the decisions for us.

Was this too long?
Habit.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Sorry you couldn't take a break and just have a night off. Feel bad for your little one as you just never know what is coming next. I am sure she will be fine and we get you for another night lol. I wouldn't worry what others say as what do they know. If it feels right then it doesn't matter how long or short it is.

Sorry you couldn't take a break and just have a night off.

Not the end of the world, probably should just work anyway :) She will be okay and I don't think it is more than a bit of an egg on the head but, it was this time last year she was in hospital with seizures so, i Don't take risks.

Big hugs for Smallsteps. I post more photos than I do words, but I still have the same worries. Are two photos enough? Are six to many? I see occasional posts with 30 photos. I tend to quickly scroll through them, even when I enjoy the photographers work.

Sorry to hear about Smallsteps
Kids will be kids. And they keep parents hopping .

Oooooh no its not to long, hahahaha
There is no happy medium. It is ether to long or not long enough. Have you ever heard anyone say “ that post I read yesterday was the right length, did you read it “

Have you ever heard anyone say “ that post I read yesterday was the right length, did you read it “

Unfortunately, my length is in all the wrong places :D

Then all you here is
Hell no , I am not going to read THAT. I like my posts edited. Hahaha
Yea I have heard that so many times. Then I woke up.

🤣 🤣 😜

Nice post, very interesting. Not too long, the only thing I spotted was also but, maybe should be but also, ?
https://www.grammarly.com/blog/parallelism-with-not-only-but-also/

can't find it in the text but I freewrite and don't worry too much :D

Nice, it was good reading!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ahh poor small :(

Have you always had a bad memory for discussions or do you need to sleep? XP Only asking because my memory has been shocking due to lack of sleep (if I want more work time it's the only thing I can give up) and we don't want to develop dementia which is apparently a thing that can happen? x_x

This is actually in my range of "short" because a) I can still read pretty quick (but not as fast as when I was at uni and really had to or I'd never get through the required reading XD) and b) it fits on my screen (once I've scrolled down past that adorable sad little face).

She woke up this morning so, all good :D

My memory started fading as a late teen, it used to be pretty good. I have hypothyroidism that affects it heavily but was only diagnosed a few years ago - damage is done. The doctor thinks I likely had it since mid-teens.

I will try to aim for this kind of length perhaps :)

Kwinky dink. My son fell of a dock today and whacked his head. We too are worried he is concussed as he immediately after crying and the egg forming.. wanted to sleep.
I’m sure he will be ok... but quite a fright. Wishing your daughter no probs healing too.

I never mind your lengthy posts by the way, at least not when I have time to read them 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

I hope he is alright. We were told by a doctor (my bro-in-law) that to check during the night and make sure that she is moving, not just breathing. I didn't wake her up but I did get her to turn over. It seems really alarmist these days, I smashed my head a lot as a kid and I am "fine".

Yeah, his mom is certainly an alarmist... I think it in the hardwiring though. But he is fine. This is the dope this morning. Proud of his shiner 😂 for sure he will have many more a head bang.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I hope the little one is okay :) I'm sorry she hit her head...

As for what's too long, I don't know. In this digital era, it seems impossible for people to focus for more than 1000 words and even then, it s often too long. I guess it depends on the subject.

But I get it. I often talk/write too much and I try to reel that in, especially in conversation (as opposed to fiction), because I want the other person to stay engaged in the conversation, don't I? :)

because I want the other person to stay engaged in the conversation, don't I? :)

The only thing someone else can help you with is to provide reflection of yourself to help understand a little better. Of course, you can provide a reflection for them too. So yes, you want them engaged because you are selfish vain ;P

Often true, though not always :D

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm doing a non-scientific study. I've recently been mixing up a few longer posts with something short that people can relate to quickly.

My short posts do twice as well as the longer ones.

Also for me not rambling is a task, so sometimes I actually spend more time on the short ones, deciding what my main message is takes time. lol.

None of this should relate to you though as we have different followers and different styles.

It all relates. I just don't find much value in the short post I write for myself as there is not as much exploration. While it might be better for engagement and votes, I feel I get less out of it personally and for me, this is still my blog and part of my processing of the world. If I start writing for other alone, I lose the intrinsic value I get out of it.

I should mix it up a bit but I think it would mean writing as much as I do and then, a couple short ones extra :D

Look. If the sentence in which you claim you'll try to make a shorter post takes up 3-4 lines... You'll never succeed :')

I am going to attempt to make my posts a fair bit shorter, even if I have to post more often so that people can pick or choose without having to invest so much time into them as I feel that with so much going on, it is less likely people will be bothered to engage if they have to spend too much time.

Virtual hugs for smallsteps, bumping the head is not fun, and from what I read in your reply to cryptoandcoffee there's some bigger worry behind that bump and I hope none of that is the case and she's her happy self again tomorrow <3

Yeah, I suck at brevity and while I am terrible at convincing people, eventually most end up doing what I suggested in the first place. ;D

She will be fine I hope. I can't stay awake much longer so will have to crash and set an alarm.

Children are resilient <3 Sleep well for a short while :-)

It doesn't matter if your writing is long or short. It doesn't matter if it's good or bad. What matters is that you show up when others don't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11