[Vlog] Pissed off with #YouTubePartnerProgram? Try dTube instead

in #vlog6 years ago


Quick video on YouTube's controversial Partner Program... and the alternative that is dTube

Turning the screw

So I was reading that YouTube is tightening up the rules on what content can run ads. Not only do you need to have 10k lifetime views on your channel. You also need 4k hours of watched time on your video (in the preceding 12 months) and 1000 subscribers, for the 'privilege' of having crappy ads run on your content.

Broken model

These new thresholds elude to the fact that the existing ad based revenue model is broken. Fundamentally it is too susceptible to sybil attacks. Armies computer bots pretending to be humans viewing content.

Imbalance of power

Also the interests of business is outweighing and dictating the creative process. Anyone else notice how we're being subjected to more and more long-winded ad ridden videos?

dTube, the people's tube

However there are alternatives to Youtube that allow content creators to monetise their videos. Like dTube, that uses the Steem blockchain and stakeweighed voting to reward content creators with the STEEM cryptocurrency which they can trade for bitcoin and then their local currency. Or better will use STEEM to buy goods and pay for services.

Tokenisation

While social media sites like Youtube are trying to consolidate and centralise their power further, what they fail to realise is that cryptocurrencies are likely to decentralise power through the tokenisation of the internet.

Initiatives like Smart Media Tokens (SMTs) will enable (for example) YouTubers to create their own token to circulate around their community and exchange with others. The trick will be finding inventice ways to create value around these tokens however once that nut is cracked we will look back and laugh at days like today when corporations like Youtube dictated the terms on which we could create value for our creativr endeavours.

You can watch my vlog on this on Youtube

Or better still use the links below to watch on dTube!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Its only a matter of time before more YouTubers discover d.tube and the potential it has. The development has been moving along very well and that's great to see.. I think right now they are really waiting for the implementation of SMTs into the Steem blockchain. SMTs will allow them to do all kinds of things that are still not possible right now. I am really looking forward to exploring the possibilities that SMTs hold for all of us on this blockchain.

@thejohalfiles Yes, this will kill Youtube, you are correct. D.tube has lot of potential but by the time people realize it, it would be late!

i discovered this a few days ago and started to upload a few videos here, i think its a great idea!

Agreed - I have a friend who's an established stand up comic and creates a variety of high quality comedy content and I've been trying to get him to migrate it over piecemeal to dtube while working on new OC and releasing it on a first on Steemit/dtube basis. It's funny to me how hesitant he is - but I'm gonna keep on him about it. For the video content creator there's zero downside - worst case you're just doubling your exposure.

Yeah, I feel like for 'right now' it's best to post to youtube then embed to a Steemit post, so you can potentially double dip on the monetisation, without paying the DTube author fee, but there'll ultimately be this tipping point where enough users are regularly hitting up DTube for more video content that it will be worthwhile just to post to that platform.

Definitely seems like the team behind Dtube are going to be able to tackle any challenges that could threaten their growth.

I'm sorry to drop this in a comment section of someone else's blog but steemit doesn't have an official chat. I'll keep this quick. I'm trying to increase the amount of humorous content on steemit. It is the most popular tag on reddit and most other social media. There is a small group of very funny people who post a lot of really quick original memes and gifs. I was rewarding them as much as I could. I lost my delegation and I'm looking to keep the project going. I do a daily post called "What's so funny?" including all of the funniest content I find that day. If you have any interest in helping this to grow, please check out my blog and see if it makes you laugh and if you'd like to see it continue. If you would, I could use some delegation to help encourage them to keep going and to find more authors.

I'm on steemit chat if you are interested in chatting.

If not, thank you for your time.

yeah with youtube doing more restriction and setting the bar higher for content creators the push factor is only gonna get stronger. It would be awesome if steemit and dtube content can somehow get listed on search engine query but well it's back to google again.

Agree! I am a YouTuberand have a good size following and I am still growing but I need something else so all of my eggs aren't in one basket so I am glad I found Dtube I just started uploading here and its nice so far!

YouTube is becoming as bad as Twitter with it's censoring of content they do not agree with (political or otherwise). I hope Dtube can really put a hurting on YouTube!

YouTube is running adds on the videos they have demonetized. So, it's not that they think the content is not worthy for adds, just that they don't see any need to share ANYTHING with the creators.

And they also run ads below the player that you can't remove at all.

Yes, they run ads on the videos that they demonetized, and keep all the money themselves.

Stupidest thing I've ever heard! Luckily I'm not the guy to start a youtube channel ;)

I was just thinking the other day that I should start a YouTube channel and hopefully earn a little from it. Bummer. I feel bad for those who did put much effort into building a side income and now might not have it at all.

i am one of those poor guys... this is so unfair...

really ? I didn't know though... btw I am about to upload a music of mine there on you tube.... but this really scares me..wth....

I totally agree with you, DTube will take over youtube, or let us at least hope so!

great minds think alike, agreed, Dtube rocks

I will be removing all my content when they demonetize me and closing my account.
youtube-demonetise.png

Würde ich nicht tun, es ist zwar schade, dass davor keine Werbung kommt, aber es sind eben deine Werke und man sollte sie auf keinen Fall wegen Geld zerstören...

youtube empowers flag abuse, slander and censorship against anyone who does not promote their rabid feminist & SJW agenda. I will be using other platforms, but may use multiple isolated stooge accounts to host the video for embedding on my own website.

e.g. This particular video shows their inept shadow ban of my comments which also happened on my own videos. Here it is hosted using an incognita account not linked to my main.

Youtube keeps scamming their source of income

i changed to dtube...youtube demonetize my complete channel...

dtube upload video faster and faster

Dtube is a great idea, and has been making great strides, but they won't break through, unless some major performance issues take place, and some basic features (which youtube has) come to fruition.
Dtube runs terrible on any OS running Safari. Fails constantly, so unless you specifically open another browser to upload content, it's a pain. Also the performance is very lackluster; videos take forever to load, or don't load at all.
Another main feature holding Dtube back; lack of proper imbedding. You end up with a minnature thumbnail that people don't even know to click, and then it RE-DIRECTS. Most people don't want to leave the site in which they are browsing. A lack of functioning embedded player, I think, would be the first thing they come out with in the next update. Maybe they are doing this to cut down bandwidth cost.
I fully support Dtube, but it has a long way to go, and hopefully it gets there.

Give it time! Rome wasn't built in a day!

Or was it🤪

.

Most certainly was not

Agreed and hope Dtube can embed someday and improve and everything.

Me too!

Well said!

I think it's important that we all support Dtube, so that it can get to its "final form". I think the concept is great, but also still rather young. So of course they need people to test the service in order to work on the functionality and other aspects of it.
I basically see it just as steemit: It is a beta. It is like testing out a game and reporting things that you think are missing or reporting bugs (for example the problem with the embedded player you mentioned). I think that our feedback is the most valuable for the developers.
And as of now I think they will take into account what we say. Because they care, or at least that is how I see it.

I'm glad you have thought about this more that a moment. I am of course in steem and wish to promote it as we all benefit from building our community.

That said dtube does have some massive competition, Google has the best infrastructure, as much as we love this software it needs to be run on someone's computers. While they have global distribution of deticated server facilities and engineering teams.

Steem has to also build these kinds of relationships between people in order to compete with the Salery's corporations can offer. I think D.tube would have to pay for servers. IPFS is awesome but it's not quite at the same scale as YouTube.

While their demonetization is going to drive their demise we still have so far to go, I hope to contribute to the network by purchaseingg computers and earning crypto to host services! Like a good that lays golden eggs! Though a considerable investment it could eventually provide enough to provide for yourself and others too!

What if with @imlikett and you we run a campaign over here where all the funding goes to buy server space, I live in switzerland and hosting over here is quite competitive, though it does not matter where but rather a cheap and fast place. I know a server rack could go up to 300K but if some whales would support the cause we will do so much money.

These are all things that the creator of DTube said he is working on for the next update.

Agree - YouTube is destroying the niche market. Personalized content is going to be more and more important in the future. In addition to decentralizing the platform it is important to decentralize the content.

I have tried to post my content on @dtube but it never gets any views, I think Dtube just like steemit has a discovery problem. It is REALLY hard to find people that are not already popular.

Yap I was thinking the same, like if all the famous instagramers and then all the famous youtubers come to steem, then where is the benefit for the rest who are trying hard to be noticed? I would like to see a community not that focused in money and popularity, I still want a place to share deeper thoughts in many areas rather than people doing stupid things for likes.

I've no doubt that 'deeper' content will have it's own niche in Steemit. However on platform is not going to stop pop culture taking a disproportionate slice of the pie.

Indeed, as long we have a balance in the community and do not forget what was the idea behind steem, I think we could all live peacefully next to each other.

DTube and Steemit both improve discovery and initiative live Steemit Communities could help with that. However as with any creative endeavour half of the challenge is finding ways to reach your audience. Steemit/ DTube won't change that however it will offer more opportunities to smaller contributors than most other platforms.

Ive been on YouTube for about 8 months now, maybe 10. Their discovery is a little better but only because of SEO and suggested videos. Over that time I have about 3k subscribers. It isnt a lot but I am proud of it. I would love to do something on DTube but I dont think my content interests anyone so I have just been sticking to my photography on here that has been doing pretty well for me. I do think DTube can be a huge platform and I could love to create anything but I just dont know what I could do. It seems like people in to cryptos are popular but that isnt something I know a whole lot about.

Only thing it worries me honestly is that whales are already taking huge pieces of the pie, but I trust on the Witnesses system and I see a nice future for the platform if managed correctly.

Exactly my thought too..but nevertheless I will keep pressing until I am noticed.

Dtube rocks!

The more youtube creates policies that punish creators the bigger opportunity is created for those on Steem. Youtube makes it seem like they are giving you some gift by allowing you to monetize as if they aren't keeping a majority of the proceeds.

Steem and dTube are revolutionary and are returning the power of creating content to the creators. Thank you for the information and your opinion on this matter. We need more people like you to help spread the word of Steem and dTube.

There is still one thing about DTube that few users are paying attention to. DTube reward system. While after (which is quite impossible for most content creators to reach 10k lifetime views on their YouTube channel plus 4k hours of watched time on their video (in the preceding 12 months) and still a 1000 subscribers) after reaching that milestones the content creator is able to monetize forever as it's content get more and more views. On DTube by the present reward system after 30 days, it does not matter how many more people watch your videos, you will never get paid again.

Good point however it would be good to analysis the 'long tail' on Youtube videos and see just how much comes from views in the first week and how much revenue is generated from later views.

I do think that the rewards system will heavily dictate the type of content uploaded to dTube. E.g. I can see it being a popular place for Topical videos not so popular for things like music videos.

great point. People are starting to realize they don't want someone else to filter the world for them, handle their money, or control their personal lives. Platforms are by people and should be for people.

You are right @nanzo-scoop. Youtube monetization is no more attractive now.

I do think dtube is the future, however I got quite frustrated with the upload process. Many times my videos wouldn't load after multiple times trying them. Also, often when I go to click on vids they don't work (your one does).

I so want it to succeed, I hope he gets more help and investment to make the channel awesome :-

Cg

I've noticed it has major problems running in Safari. Whenever I try to upload something, I have to be using chrome, otherwise it fails.

@imlikett Everything has a major problem running in safari! :-D

Cg

Yep dtube needs a lot of work and today's user will have to adopt an 'early adopter' mentality when using it.

Heimindanger has done a great job thus far, I agree investment in what is really good prototype is what is needed.

He absolutely has done a fantastic job and I don't want to put down his efforts in any way, it's just if it is to grow, he needs help. Imagine if it gets to a tenth of Youtubes users and views? That will require some major maintenance and upgrades.

I will give it another go, because I do love having an alternative, and just trying to do what I was doing before and post on both until dtube becomes dominant! :-)

Good to see you rattling back around again :-)

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87