Old Funny Sketches I Drew as a Kid in the 80s

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I just came across some old sketches I did when I was about 11 or 12 back in the 80s. Obviously I am no professional artist by any means, but hey, it's actually not too bad!

SNARF.jpg
My interpretation of characters by artist Larry Elmore

When I was a kid, I wanted so badly to be a cartoonist. In fact, in elementary school I spent all of my time in class doing stuff like this rather than my homework. I suppose my education suffered quite a lot because of it.

Check out this hilarious fancy sloth:

IMG_2183.jpg
I'm too sexy for this drawing

For some reason, I have piles of these drawing pads with only 1 or 2 drawings in them. I remember not wanting to draw on the nice paper so I would save it and sketch on notebook paper instead.

Whenever I think back to those days, I remember a kid who was so carefree and really didn't care what anyone thought. Well, I did care what girls thought, I suppose, but for the most part things just slid off of me. When I look at these old drawings they really make me laugh and remember a much simpler time.

Looking at the next drawings, I think I may have been a bit ahead of my time! Is it just me or do these guys look kind of like modern cartoon characters?

20150724_173303.jpg

This one looks straight out of Family Guy to me. I suppose Seth MacFarlane is pretty much my age, so it would make sense.

20150724_173337.jpg

But then I come back to reality and look at what my wife was doing at the same age back then:

IMG_7554.jpg

So that was a self portrait she did when she was around 12 or 13 years old. So sure, I guess there is a reason why one of us is a professional artist, and the other programs computers.

Of course talent can only take you so far! Going from being an okay artist, to being a good or even a great artist takes a lot of hard work, effort and dedication to your craft - which I never put in the effort to achieve. And well, she did!

Sort:  

Not too bad ?? Pretty damn awesome in my book. For any age.

Thanks for sharing @nuthman !!

Hehe, thank buddy. Appreciated

Wow man these are really great draws for a 11-12 years old kid, you only needed to explode that pontential jajaja because you were in a good road.

but your wife kicked you ass 😜

Lol totally true

Dude, these are awesome! I especially like the last two characters.
IMHO comparing what you were doing with your wife is a bit of an apples to oranges thing. As an art teacher, if someone’s parents came to me and said my son did this(your work) and my daughter did this(your wife’s) I would say they’re both really talented, just with different interests.

Hey, thanks man. That's very nice of you to say. I have always felt that I have some natural drawing talent but never really developed it. When I pick up a pencil these days, it's like I've never held one before. My hand actually gets fatigued just making a few shapes!

I suppose it is true what they say; use it or lose it!

@nuthman haha! Very nice sketch dear. Didnt know that you are good at drawing also. Did you make some sort of comics back then? Very pro hands by the age of 11-12 mate! Yes mate talent can get you way beyond you imagine. Your hard work and unique imagination will pay off soon! I would watch to see more of it! Keep it up mate.

Posted using Partiko Android

I used to draw comics all the time back then. Sadly I have lost them all. Who knows, maybe some have survived! I want to start drawing again.

Yes..... Very wise idea.. U know, a artist never dies! I m with you, I think it will ne a great start if you create a comic series... Dont you think?

Posted using Partiko Android

We'll see. Maybe!

You have a good hand for sketching @nuthman and I bet you can do a great painting as well with the use of brush and a canvass.

I would like to teach myself how to paint! I have never painted anything. I think it would be completely foreign to me, but who knows, maybe I could develop a skill at it.

These are great, I love finding old sketches I made. I have always sketched and drawn. It's like reading old journals, finding old sketches.

Yeah, I wish I could from a lot more of them! A lot of the stuff from my childhood got lost in storage and also when the basement flooded one time.

Drawing is a good pastime. I paint in intervals, last year I experimented a lot with watercolours, but at the moment I write exclusively. Your teen drawings reflect what you were interested in and it's nice to see kids just picking up pens and trying. It's true, your wife is way ahead of you and a comparison is pointless. Everyone has their own talents. You certainly had potential and if you had encouraged it, you would now be many developmental stages further. Art is just as hard work as any other work in which you want to achieve something. So your interest in art has let you get to know your wife and you support the artist scene. That's very good, because that's what art needs: Interested parties.

It is true. I think that a lot of people are born with a lot of talents, but it is up to them to put in the effort. I never put in any effort to get better; I just jumped from one thing to another having fun with it! I am okay with that, though. It's funny though, because at my age I still have no idea what really interests me enough to put a decent amount of effort into.

As a career, I have been a computer programmer and game developer for years, but to be honest I really don't enjoy it anymore! I think that is why I am dipping my feet in the water with art and maybe a little bit of writing. I also have done a bit of sound design. I suffer a lot from blank sheet syndrome which is no fun!

Hah, you clearly have a natural talent for drawing. At least keep on doodling a bit every day -- it's a mind booster, I tell ya!

Thanks! It has been so long since I've drawn anything. Who knows what kind of mess I would make nowadays.

This may seem like I'm pushing a bit, but hear me out:
I've stopped trying to draw anything since middle school, until recently. I have minor hand tremors and the poor quality of my early scribbles has discouraged me from trying to improve -- I had no motivation.
But my recent reads about motivation and the neuroplasticity advantages of learning a new motor skill pushed me to try and adapt -- whether it is with mouse or an old second-hand tablet I try to draw with short, small strokes. And heck, while my efforts have mostly resulted in an upgrade from "hideous kindergarten scribble" to "baseline unskilled person" -- drawing is just fun and satisfying. You may also find that taking a 5 minute break to scribble up something can be a great refresher for the brain.

Try starting with just a little -- can't hurt, right?
favicon_02.png

@nuthman, In my opinion, you've done effective work in past, and in my opinion we have to include the Fun Aspect in life.

And you were awesome artist and these art pieces are not less in any forms and i hope and wish that you will continue it now too.

Yes, old days are really carefree and Childhood is precious moments because we always stay burden free.

And whenever we access in those times through our Subconscious Imagination then for sure it gives great essence.

Wishing you an great day and stay blessed. 🙂

Thanks for your comments. Sometimes I wish that I had kept drawing because I did enjoy it. But now it feels weird because my wife is so good it makes everything I do look really amateurish. I know it's a bad reason, but it's kind of like going to a night club and dancing with a professional dancer. It just feels awkward.

But we must find ways to stay creative, otherwise we can go crazy!

Welcome, yes, all these points are considerable, but i always feel that if we have something as interest then for sure occasionally we can give some time, in that way you can connect with your old days. Stay blessed. 🙂

Looking at old drawings causes a lot of positive emotions and memories! It was very interesting to read this post!

Thank you, my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95