The Jackie Robinson of RodeosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #history6 years ago

howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas
where the "Cold Front" has been broken with 99 degrees F and
that's about what..46C? Anyway it's warm again.

Well guys while reading up on some Old West cowboy stuff I found an
article about another cowboy but from more modern times that I
was thrilled to discover and wanted to share with you, but this post
is just an introduction.

To give you a little background history, I last talked about the start of
the modern rodeos in the late 1800's which were made wildly popular
by the Wild West Shows put on by the likes of Buffalo Bill and those
guys.

Black cowboys were performing in those shows and working the
ranches all over but most were in Texas. There were over 5,000
black cowboys working the cattle drives so when the drives ended
these men worked on ranches doing what they did best and that's
when the ranches started competing with each other in cowboy
skills and from those was born the rodeo format.

like these guys:
black-cowboys-crop.jpg
source
There were no prejudices among the cowboys and no racism, part
of the Cowboy Code was to treat all men equally. Same in the Wild
West Shows.

But in the 1930's when the Jim Crow laws came in and the rodeo's
became commercialized with advertisers and more money flowing in
things changed dramatically.

For some reason the livestock holders who were furnishing the stock
for the rodeos were predominately racist. I have no idea why. Maybe
the big money advertisers were too and when the national rodeo
organizations were formed they put together a payment system so
that fulltime cowboys could make a living on the rodeo circuit.

EXCEPT...for black cowboys who were excluded from being paid.
at all. So we went from black cowboys being treated as totally equal
to suddenly being severely discriminated against!

Of all the stupid, ignorant, asinine thinking and hatred that was
going on here, it just makes no sense at all.

But there was one man who bucked the entire program, stood firm,
was determined to make it in this sick, twisted system and became
one of the greatest bull riders who ever lived and I'm going to tell you
his story in the coming posts. He's still alive and his name is Myrtis
Dightman.

here he is in 1967
HR_MYRTIS9_0718-819x1024.webpsource

When Myrtis turned Pro in 1964 there were 5,000 professional
cowboys on the circuit and he was the only black one. And ohhhh
boy did he go through it! It's an inspiring story of guts, determination,
courage and stubbornness that I think you'll enjoy.

thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy Texas
the gentleman redneck

ps- ya know...you might just be a redneck if:

Your stereo speakers used to belong to the Drive-in Theater!

texas-facts.jpg

Sort:  

I love determined individuals, they are here to make a mark on humanity and they do. Accolades to Myrtis Dightman.

howdy tonight @angiemitchell! I couldn't agree more, thank you!

99 F is 37.2 C according to my calculations.

Of all the stupid, ignorant, asinine thinking and hatred that was
going on here, it just makes no sense at all.

I would have to agree. And this kind of crap still goes on in a lot of civilized countries all over the world. I am looking forward to hearing about a man with great courage bucking the system. I always cheer for the underdog!

hhaha! yes Ma'am I love underdog stories too, that's what appealed to me about this one, a typical man would have quit and looked for some other type of work. thank you cecicastor!

You are welcome, @janton! Love these stories. Keep them coming...

howdy tonight at cecicastor! thank you so much, it;s nice to know and I will.

It sounds like this is going to get interesting. We need to come up with a name for your blog. I got called the Thank you economy guy in a post... lol.
We could call you @janton the comment cowboy, the fastest comments in the west...

ha! thank you sir, you are so creative and clever! plus a good singer, song writer, preacher, consultant, tech guy, on and on. I may not have the best comments but I'm fast!

LOL, Thank you sir, but I'm not all that. I'm at most average, at most of those things.

ha! I so agree with everything you say except this! haha. but I won't argue and I appreciate your attitude because most smart people think they're smarter than everyone else.

Hi there @janton , Are rednecks that old? like stereo speakers belonging to drive in theater ? that's too much for the rednecks i believe :D plus the cowboy hats rocked the post as usual (y)

haha! well not all rednecks are that old but Drive In speakers are, that's what makes the joke funny.

of course that was the case, this is what we do while making jokes, but redneck jokes are new for me and I am kind of enjoying these :D and let me tell you a secret ;) glen could've written a three paragraph answer to this comment even :D

ha! you mean he couldn't have limited himself to a three paragraph answer? I agree if that's what you meant because he would go into the history of joke telling and you would have a whole education about it!

hahahaha am glad i got to this comment finally, this made me laugh. I hope glen can read this too :D he could educate us about joke history writing a 500 words lecture on that :D He surely knows how to write :)

haha! yeah it's funny but true and a compliment because he's so awesome!

What about the engagement league? did he retain his number 2 slot again? I know who would've won of course

hey no one knows who will win this time with the new changes and metrics he put in place last week. I had a very powerful new friend who swore he was going to beat me and he worked very hard last week, he has a huge following and was commenting like crazy last week to beat me so he may have.
Asher still hasn't come out with the results yet but he said yesterday that it would be late today.

I don't know much about the history of jokes, so I'd have to look it up, like you could. At the moment, not that interested in joke history, so yo might wait for a while before I get to it. However, I probably will get to it at some point, so if you want to wait, you certainly can. :)

ha! I'll wait because no one fleshes out a subject as thoroughly or as skillfully as you do Glen!

We will surely wait, who doesn't like some free knowledge, specially by someone who explains everything thoroughly :)

I could probably write three paragraphs. Actually, I could probably write more, but that would just be showing off and no one likes a showoff. Right, @janton? :)

I'm not going to speak authoritatively on the subject of racism among the cattle ranchers and such, but I have heard and read that prior to the period of time of which you speak, black unemployment in America was as low as it has ever been, even lower than it was for whites. That, along with other things, apparently didn't sit well with some folks. I wasn't there, and I haven't read enough to figure out all of the reasons. I just know that black America was doing pretty good. White America wasn't suffering either, in my estimation.

So, it may well have been a part of this broader sentiment that hit the ranchers and the rodeos. It's amazing how quickly a herd mentality can take over, especially in the face of perceived financial hits. People tend to become all kind of stupid, ignorant and hateful when they think their own livelihood may be in jeopardy.

It's as poor an excuse to treat people unfairly for any reason, let alone a different skin tone, but there you go. And obviously, we still have the claims of it happening today, though it feels in a lot of ways the power has reversed and the minorities/victims are driving the narrative. Unfortunately, that can cause injustices, too, as the pendulum swings hard the other way.

thank you sir Glen, yes from what I've read there was not horrible racism in much of the country, except the South, after the Civil War, but blacks were expected to take low paying jobs like waiters and butlers and factory workers and such, but when they tried to move up in life was when they met all kinds of resistance.

Like Jackie Robinson breaking the color barrier in baseball. The ignorance is hard to comprehend and I'm so thankful we've come so far but man..why did it take so long and why was it ever so bad in the first place?

I can see it happening the way it did if we were any other nation but this nation was founded on truth and the Gospel! But men only followed part of the Gospel message for decades.
thanks Glen, excellent thoughts on the matter as always!

It's sad, but like most things, I think you can trace the roots of this to power, money, and somewhat self-preservation. Baseball is one of the more diverse sports in the U.S. Here, you have a pretty healthy distribution of whites, blacks, hispanics, with a few smaller minorities mixed in. But when Jackie Robinson began to play, it was predominantly white. So, when people of one particular blend sees someone of some other blend, they tend to get a little anxious, because they can see that as a whole, there are abilities and skill sets the second folks have that are superior to the first.

So, what happens? Instead of letting the second group compete on merit, they find all kinds of ways to keep it from happening, and take it to the extremes of prejudice, lies, innuendo, slander, etc. I think there's a reason why they say that the root of all evil is money, because it has it's claws fully gripped on racism and slavery (and from all sides of the equation).

howdy today this fine Wednesday sir Glen! I couldn't agree more. Hey has your wife ever experienced any prejudice here?

In Texas? :) Just kidding.

Well, she thinks she has. I wasn't there to witness it, so I don't know if the couple instances I recall were prejudice because she's from Mexico, or just because they were a little grumpy.

You ask her, though, she has, and I guess that's a cause for concern. So much of what we like to call prejudicial or racism doesn't really meet the definition, but when people start crying it, what can you do?

For instance, I don't think stereotypes, in and of themselves, are racist. There's a reason why those stereotypes exist. However, things begin to turn when someone claims that all of a people are this way or that. Aside from being false, I think it's pretty much statistically impossible. There's just too much diversity within any community, no matter how homogeneous, to say, "They all do this" or "They're all like that."

Still, there will be some tendencies, physical and personality traits, and social constructs that many will share. That's not everyone, and you can't treat people based on that stereotype until they've proven it as individuals. You still end up treating them on a case by case basis, though.

sir Glen, well you SHOULD treat them on a case by case basis. the only exception that I can think of off the top of my head is Mormons. haha! just teasing. Hey did you post anything today and if you did was it something that a commoner could understand?

I'm getting the idea, since this is a question you frequently ask, that you don't spend a whole lot of time scrolling through your feed. :)

And I'm not sure what you mean by commoner. Do we still have those? I thought they went out in the late 19th century. Although I guess they may have lurked around into the 20th Century.

I have two posts so far today. The first is a statistical report on my progress in July. The second is a very short news bit about the price of STEEM and SBD hitting $1.

I'm currently contemplating a third for the freewrite.

I wish members of the church could all be lumped into one, but alas, we too are head strong and pigheaded at times. Some don't even really want to associate with the doctrine as it stands, but stick around with the hopes of getting it changed. It truly is a strange world we live in. :)

sir Glen..ha! well I do spend time scrolling through my feed but somehow I miss things, I have no idea how. My mind is on something else or whatever, I don't know but it's a fail safe for me to ask if you've posted so I know for sure.
I even got Ginabot so I would be alerted and that hasn't helped that much, I still miss postings of people I'm following so sorry if I ask that but I'll probably keep asking it so I don't miss your posts.

The feed gets frustrating though because so many people resteem stuff that I don't care about.

the commoner question, to me there are several classes on steemit. I'm a commoner in the sense that I can't comprehend technical data and posts about technical things so I consider myself a commoner in those areas.

Hi @janton. Looking forward to more stories about the rodeo cowboys.

howdy there sir cryptoandcoffee and I'm glad you commented because i gotta to over to your blog, thank you!

Oh boy. Looking forward to it. Equality until the elites get involved eh? Some things never change.

yeah..anytime the government or the elites get involved, or maybe that's the same thing, things get screwed up for the regular Joe sixpack pretty fast it seems!

learned something new from your post
waiting for the next

thank you ..sir or Ma'[email protected]'m so glad you liked it. more is coming thanks.

I had a summer job repairing those speakers. It is amazing the damage you can find on drive in speakers

The only bull rider I know is a smart (except for the bull riding) young black Man. He is a hard worker, and I hope he doesn't get hurt! He's a good kid. :)

sir smithlabs...I don't know if the fact is true or not, perhaps added for dramatic effect for the article but I read that bull riding is the most dangerous sport in the world!

I would believe that, you gotta be a little nuts....

I have tried to talk the kid I know out of it, but he loves the rush! I just pray he doesn't get hurt! :(

smithlabs, how old did you say he was? if he's doing it for awhile he'll be hurt in some form but hopefully nothing serious. maybe he'll grow out of it when he gets a few more years on him.

Late 20s, old enough to know better, but too young to care. He is smart, so he'll figure it out.

smithlabs I'd say he needs to take after you but that'd be terrible advice! well, late 20s is getting old for a bull rider, that's a very young man's sport, more like a teenager's sport.

SO, I should quit? :)

He seems to be moving into putting the meets on, maybe backing out of doing the Riding? Hope So.

now that's a smart move and he CAN follow you and your wisdom and experience in that vein, there's some big money promoting.

Fascinating post, Jon.

Yep...more confirmation of what I have always heard and suspected. The real racists in this country have always been the elite. Holds true to this very day.

yes sir you are so right, big surprise! haha! but now the elitists just want everyone dead.

Yep. They will continue trying to foment a race war as part of that plan, too.

howdy sir mepatriot on this fine Saturday! surely that won't happen. I think, generally speaking, that the younger generation has no racist tendencies at least from what I've seen.

I agree, but the elite keep working on it anyway. Like I said, they have been outed as the real racists.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97