Love in Condemned Spaces

in #life6 years ago (edited)

joey-banks-380271.jpg

The treehouse hung over an abandoned pool. We climbed it on sunny afternoons when we were supposed to be anywhere else. Three rotting planks up was aboard sitting in the V of the tree, a curve that looked mostly like a woman's breast, arms raised to either side and head tipped back. Up there, we bathed in sunlight and adrenaline.

Below us swam moccasins and toads. There were syringes in the bottom of the pool. On clear days you could see them through the murk. And there were plants, growing up from the bottom. We wondered, how had a condemned pool in the projects in Texas grown its own seaweed?

We loved the Keep Out sign that hung lamely by the gate. Our tree was forbidden not just because it hung over the pool, but because we had to step through the gate and skirt the pool's edge to reach it. Garbage was piled along the inside of the chain-link fence, propping in place. The walkway between the trash heap and the pool was barely wide enough for a skinny eight-year-old to pass through. I still don't know how my sister made it. She was chubby and eleven, but she picked her way lightly, admonishing me every time that if I fell in, she would let the moccasins have me and tell Mom I had run away.

I believed her.

Photo by Joey Banks on Unsplash

Recent Posts

APP.png
CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

loved reading it

Moccassins? snakes? God knows i'm going nowhere near snakes. (Nice story).

It wasn't as scary at the time, but in restrospect. . .

I guess, Kid's fear complex is less developed and they dont cognize fear triggers like adults. Long ago, I saw a toddler trying to touch a very little snake.

I love your writing style. It is so... real. (I'm not great with words when I'm trying to explain things like this!)

LOL. Well, I greatly appreciate the sentiment. Sometimes I just have to stop thinking about writing and go wherever it carries me. Today is a real day if you know what I mean.

i like Nice to read

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99