Stone Logic

in #psychology6 years ago


Image Credit

The rock in your palm is smooth and cool
you think of swallowing it and 100 others
weight to fill the hollows, you think a rock
is a pill of the earth. Earth medicine?

The rock in your mouth is rough
it sits heavy on your tongue, grows warm
as saliva is the ocean level rising, teeth
clenched to hold the pill inside.

If you dropped right now, face first,
you think of how your teeth would crack
whether splinters of bone would lodge
in your lips and gums, blood coated kiss

crumbs of the earth sticking to the mince-
meat of your mouth, still held shut, blood
as ocean level rising. Slipper the pill,
let it slide down the esophagus. Let it stay

awhile in your belly while you lay in grass
and wonder if death will come for you.
But the stone is a Cadillac and all that happens
is you retch hard when it touches your throat.

The rock on the ground is fractured.
You turn it over looking for a sharp edge.
Finding none, you discard it and walk away.

This has been a throwback post. You know, just in case you missed it the first time!

Recent Posts

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Very good a poem, thank you very much @shawnamawna

Great poem, Shawna. Fabulous piece of narrative and symbolic poetry:)

I am curious though. I thought it was against the rules to post the same work twice. This is of course new for me. But it is good to know that older work that one is proud of can be re-posted.

I've never been told re-posting is against the rules. Only if you don't own it. This is original work written for Steemit, and I re-post a few pieces every 200 followers gained or so. There is a regular #tbt community of posters on Thursdays. I usually save my re-posts for then, but have been unusually busy at the front of this week and gave myself some grace. ;) I also choose pieces that had lower numbers of viewers or the opposite-- they were especially well received.

Thanks, Shawna. I am sure by now if it were against the rules ... the bots would have come for you. LOL. Yes thee a few posts I would love to repost as I get more followers:)Thanks for answering my question and ahve a great day:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62423.89
ETH 3202.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81