Let us talk about curation trails and voting

in #steemit6 years ago

When I first started in Steemit I did not know about Voting power, Voting weight, curation rewards, and communities. What I did was spend a lot of time following people that I like then going through my follow feed and upvote posts that I like. This resulted in me voting for a lot of posts to the point that my vote did not have value.

Then in one post by a Steemian he said that people should efficiently use their VP and make use that it never reaches 100% or have it below 85%. I remember how smug I was and answered that I don't care about caring if my vote had value or not, it was my way of extending my support to the author that I liked his/her post. The author replied if your vote value when you upvote a post would be at 0.0001 do you think that you give value to his/her work? A post that person may have made for over an hour are you rewarding it properly? Are you giving proper love when your voting power is so low that your upvote is negligible?

image.png

From Unsplash - Tim Marshall

I was taken aback as in my mind it does make sense that if I worked hard for something I would want some value to an upvote. This is not a scarcity mindset. This is about rewarding people what is due to their hard work.

So I always check my voting power now either in Steemd.com or in Steemnow,com. I make sure that I don't go below 70% of my voting power so that I can always provide the best value I can give to posts that I like.

As I learned more, I learned about curation rewards, front running big upvotes to maximize your curation rewards and I learned a lot in The Curation and Engagement Leagues - Sponsored by @carlgnash and @paulag! by @abh12345

My general views on curation rewards (to score highly in League 1) are:

  • Vote before the big hitters, but not too early!
  • Voting in the first minute will earn you a curation reward of almost 0.000
  • Voting between 1 and 29 minutes will earn an increasing % of the curation rewards split - This value peaking at 30 minutes and remaining the same from this point onwards
  • It is commonly suggested that 15-25 minutes is the 'best' time to vote, especially on known 'power author' posts because they are likely to have more auto-votes coming in at these times - and you want to be ahead of these votes
  • Voting on good dtube/dlive/sndbox content, and utopian-io approved contributions (prior to the vote by @dtube / @utopian-io, etc) can earn some very good curation rewards
  • Voting on @ocd posts is likely to gain good curation rewards as founder @acidyo, and @anomadsoul support these posts after giving time for other accounts to vote - you will be in front of a couple of large votes here!

As you can see, a combination of many variables such as Steem Power, voting strength, voting weight, time of vote, and more, all play a part in the amount of rewards received.

So I look out for good content creators and help in submitting it in the potentials room in @promo-mentors

Then I learned how to make use of Curation Trails and Autovotes were good ways to make sure that I was maximizing my votes was not sitting idly and also to support some communities that I support like @thesteemengine and @promo-mentors because I trust that the posts that they will upvote will be of good quality.

This helped me in getting to 700+ upvotes made. Although I manually curate a lot it still also helps if you have a trail. You can check yours in this awesome tool by @ura-soul in Steemocean.com

image.png

Lately I have been thinking though of our dependence on Auto voting and curation trails. Certainly, it is understandable when we really can't spend 8-16 hours in Steemit and manually curate everything.
Yet when does automation become bad for the platform?

I was thinking as I observed that I am getting 50-150 votes and about 10-40 comments on my posts depending on the topic. A large part of the votes is from autovoters and some from curation trails. I am not complaining and I am very thankful for the upvotes but would also want to know if they really liked what I wrote or are they just after curation rewards.

Comments would be good as well. Although I have to admit that I don't comment on all posts that I vote as well maybe due to lack of time or that I can't add any comment of value to the discussion. I don't really want to leave a "Good Post" comment and appear spammy haha.

My fear would be there might be a time that posts will not have comments and all with be just auto votes and curation trails. I see these now in a lot of posts that gets curie and OCD votes. Let us not even get to posts that were just bid bot voted because they are just normally bot comments of votes.

Then there was the abuse that certain curation trails that happened which was brought up when it seemed that curie was following a community vote on certain users that was posting some very low quality stuff. This was brought to their attention because curie stands for exceptional quality posts and although they did not have a direct hand on it but just name curie has a certain effect on people. They promptly investigated and removed the votes.

This also happened to a local community here in the Philippines that some votes were placed on just copy paste of some quotes. It was also investigated and reported.

Technology, I think is never inherently evil or abusive. It is the people that wield it that can make use of it for the good or for abuse.

I remember a comment left in a post of mine about redfishes that there should be a way that when someone upvotes a post then a comment is also needed. Although I think it is nice, it is not feasible for me.

What do you think? Is autovotes and Curation trails be stopped and we do manual curations? Will it be better for the platform?

ono-communityvolunteer.jpg

Footer by @ameliabartlett

SFL logo.png

I support @steemfreelancers

Centurion Mave.png

Click here for your Mannabase Income

Click here for your Kryptonia access for Superior Coins

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #131 (5/11/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

I am always happy when you feature my post! Much appreciated!

recharging VP....I keep mine 85% and above and had to spread some love, but I keep it that way for a reason ;)
I always have been a manual curator mainly because I like to steer my own ship though there are some great communities that do a good job in stewarding......I feel it is quality and good vibes over quantity and I PAY VERY CLOSE ATTENTION to people who are quick to be quite the Actresses and Actors on here so I will not join trails that support what does not resonate with me, thoughtful post , ;)

Thanks BA! Yes I am still at that point that a lot of my time is curating things that I find interesting.
Promo-mentors is one such Community that I know that it a mentor or scout submitted it for an encouragement boost vote then it is of good quality not necessarily curie standard but something that with more feedback from the mentors and more effort from the person they will be able to turn a post into that.
So in that way we are encouraging them to get better.

Hi Mav

It would be easy for me to say 'yes they are bad and should be stopped', but this is unlikely to happen and actually I think that some automation is useful.

Following good trails like curie, and providing small but consistent support is a good feature of auto-voting in my opinion. It is when the 'circle' is small, and that most/all VP is used in this manner that I think auto can be really harmful.

That's my short reply, lets see what others have to say. Cheers!

Agreed, very good choice...if I did one I'd pick The Alliance and a couple others like PYPT I believe has a version but other than that Manual all the way

Yeah some of the community trails are good in my opinion as well and is a good way of rewarding people who still does not have that whale vote regularly so that they are able to be kept motivated to keep creating posts and further engage the community.

I have to agree when it is small and would just upVote anything regardless of quality. I know that quality is subjective but we all know what a shit post is.

I manually upvote and comment but I also have curation trails set up for groups like newbieresteemday too. Funny enough, the two self-votes that showed up on Ashers league came from a curation trail for @helpie where I'm a member as well, so it automatically seems like I'm upvoting my own post. I like doing that because it helps the groups' upvote rate increase, but I hate how it "looks" too. I've got @friendsofgondor on curation because that's a cause I wanted to support; I only have it set for 5% but with a bunch of us doing it, the upvote value is worth something. I'm thinking a bit out load here too, because frankly, it's something I've been struggling with right now. I cancelled a few curation trails this morning but I'm not sure if it's the right thing to do.

With so much I do manually, I simply can't keep up with it all, so I need some set up on a curation trail.

So, I can see I'm not very helpful in answering your question here at all :) I think there's value in it if it's used right. I'm certainly not sitting at home doing nothing while my curation trails pick up the slack...that I know :)

Hahaha it's a nice topic to discuss and I think is a relevant thing because now there are more and more curation trails being done and I see some that have over a 100 trails and it doesn't reach 2 dollars ( last I saw it was about 1.10) so from the trail there is so many people chipping in their .5 to 5% and many have about less than 50 sp so the vote value is about 0.001 in most cases.

Yeah I do some curation trails as well because I believe in their causes. Yet majority of my VP is still through manual curation especially the Comments.

Yes, it's those 0.001 trails that I'm questioning myself!

I autovote people, but I also go back through my votes and comment on some of the posts. And many of the people I autovote post in promo channels on my favorite discord servers, so I will see a post later and comment after I already voted it, which is fine, too. I try to strike a balance between manual votes and autovotes. Using SteemAuto, I made my settings so that curation trail votes only happen if my VP is over 70%. And then I will go through and look for posts, and vote until my VP down to 60%, but not lower than that. There are good content creators I autovote because I trust they produce quality posts, and then I still leave room for voting when I come across a good post elsewhere. It's a balance, which I think is important.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts with this post! 😊

Great techniques there and combination of auto and manual voting that I also utilize.

There are certain days that I am not online and would be a good way that even if I am not that my Voting power is not sitting idly.

Until reading your post I did not care much about my voting power. I remember I read somewhere on Steemit during my first days here that it should not not go lower than 75. I did not really check it out or cared. After reading your explanation which makes perfect sense by the way, I will try to keep it above 85.
Thank you for another great Steemit educational post!

Thank you so much! I try to do my part in providing information to people :)

Yeah it was a mind blown moment for me when I got the reason why and it made a lot of sense.

I think autovotes and curation trails are here to stay. Once you get to a certain level, lets say about (50) you just don't have time to go read all the posts you want to. And you have to create community too and post also. I imagine there are those who are whales and Orcas who even have full time help assisting them. Anyway, thought provoking post. blessings.

I know what you mean when I was very active in community building and answering questions if newbies I spent 2-3 hours just engaging them.

That didn't really leave me a lot of time going through my feed and my very high dependency to Ginabot.

Although I tried there were just some people that I would miss out so I set up a system of part autovote, part manual curation to maximize bmy engagement and not forget authors that I believe in.

I use Steemdunk. Seems to work well. But I still must discipline myself to honor those who post and comment. Blessings.

having real people, consciousness, evaluate and upvote content would actually give an honest representation of evaluation of content, as opposed to autovotes and trails of blind upvotes. I have not used these services since I joined because that's how I view the ideal and proper way to do things. We would get less votes, but they would be real votes from peopel giving them because of the content. Bots and trails won't be going away anytime soon, or ever :/

I commend you for that as a lot, but of course not all dolphins and whales, use trails and autovote people they have taken a shine on and was one of the reasons I left a group before when one of the founders why it is so important. To get to the autovote list of a whale because once you do even if you post a shit post it'll still get an upvote and he demonstrated it by posting a cartoon image of poop and boom after 30 minutes there was an upvote. I left in disgust.

It is important for the platform to make sure that we upvote posts that resonate and of value to us. To read what people write and engaged.

While there are good arguments of automation I still believe we need to exert time and effort to manually curate. To use the excuse we are busy would be a disservice to people who take the time to write posts.

Yes at this point while still waiting if Hivemind will change things bots and curation trails are here to stay.

Personally, i prefer manual votes and i do not work with curation trails. they messed up my account twice and others that i know of too. yet there are those that swear by them and want to start groups that uses this as a part of their formula. i prefer manual as then i can read someone's work and comment too. sometimes i do not have time to comment and upvote, but hopefully people know that i did that action manually. i was wondering how some people get high curation awards without writing much! thanks mave

Congratulations ES for reaching the big 60 haha

Yeah I know that you are one of those people that manually curate.

There are sometimes that my curation trail and I only have 2 made me reach almost 80% but I looked at what they voted for and agree that it was worth the community votes so I have not removed mine.

What I do though is lessen the comment upvotes I do and wait for the next recharge of VP I have an do an upvote run.

thanks Mave! i wish i could make a CT work but twice now it jacked up so bad i couldnt commment or upvote for a week. hmmm i like your method. ive been on TSE auto upvote from day 1 and mbc mbc-meps

Thanks ES yes I think I am efficient in the use of my VP as I never get to 95%

sweet! so glad you are doing good! i see you all over the place, how do you keep your day job? LOL!!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 40 SBD worth and should receive 113 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I am there at the number of votes and hopefully I can reach 40 SBD hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99