🎨 [Step by Step] - Process: Pink-Pearl Hamsa using Embroidery Beads / "The Forces of Evil can’t act wherever the Hamsa is" - By: Tesmoforia.

in #art5 years ago

"This is my religion: There is no need for temples; no need for complicated philosophy. Our own brain, our own heart is our temple; the philosophy is kindness."

• Dalai Lama •


Hamsa_Rosa_By_Tesmoforia_Noviembre_2018.gif

sun (2).png sun (1).png eye.png sun (1).png sun (2).png

Last month (10/18) I started practicing to "embroider and elaborate crafts with sewing beads".

So, without thinking too much on it, the first thing I wanted t try doing was a Hand of Fatima (or Hamsa).

I also did I record of the process in order to generate Pins for my new folder at Pinterest, Pins to link them with my blog here at Steemit.


« M A T E R I A L S »

sun (2).png sun (1).png sun.png sun (1).png sun (2).png

Hamsa_Rosada_Tesmoforia_Materiales_1.png

• Photos by @Tesmoforia, with a Lumix/Panasonic DMC-FH2.

lotus.png

• Embroidery Beads• Sewing Beads.
• Scissors.• Pink Felt.
• White Fake Leather.• White Interlining.
• UHU or non-scholar glue.• Metallic Base for the Broche.
• Pearls of different diameters.• Thin resistant white cardboard.
• Matching color thread with the selected beads.• Needles to embroider bridal veils.

• • •

For this pin/brooch/amulet test, I selected small solid black, solid white, pearled pink, pearled fuchsia beads, with 5 different sizes of pearls between cream, ivory and white; long transparent blue beads, golden and also translucent pearl pink beads. For the Hamsa border, I used small glass pearled beads.

[Note: An extra-thin nylon thread shall be used for "Embroidery Beads" but since I didn’t have one at hand, I used good quality sewing thread.]


« P R O C E S S »
• First Part •

sun (2).png sun (1).png sun.png sun (1).png sun (2).png

big_logo_2.png

"Complete Summary of the Embroidery Process!, it’s an original design, I didn’t take anything as a reference or guide for the inner pattern." - Photos by @Tesmoforia, with a Lumix/Panasonic DMC-FH2.

lotus.png

~ The process was long and meticulous ~

My opinion about this technique is that it is comfortable and nice, since it doesn’t require a lot of physical effort; however it does require a lot of mental exercise when you make your very own pattern and sequence for the figure:

• • •

You will constantly question yourself about which bead sequence would look harmonious and which wouldn’t, what kind of beads look better, and if the line you are about to add will match the color and diameter of the previously used sequence of beads.

• • •

I would also like to say that as you progress on filling it from the center towards the exterior, it’s advised to avoid tightening the seams to much between the beads, or leaving them too tensed, since this pressure is going to be accumulated, and the embroidery can start to get disfigured when you are close to finish.


« D E T A I L S »

sun (2).png sun (1).png sun.png sun (1).png sun (2).png

Hamsa_Rosada_5.png

"I felt entirely satisfied at this part. My very first bead embroidery was an absolute and stunning success." - Photos by @Tesmoforia, with a Lumix/Panasonic DMC-FH2.

lotus.png

After I finished the embroidery, I understood why this kind of brooches (on small size) can easily cost up to 40$ at Etsy.


« P R O C E S S »
• Second Part •

sun (2).png sun (1).png sun.png sun (1).png sun (2).png

Hamsa_Rosada_Tesmoforia_Materiales_2.png

• "Now it’s time to strengthen the figure and give it some support so it won’t turn out flimsy." - Photos by @Tesmoforia, with a Lumix/Panasonic DMC-FH2.

lotus.png

In order to give rigidity to the figure, I used 2 layers of cardboard for the insides, along with two layers of thick white interlining; I didn’t have UHU at the moment, so I used wood glue in this case.

Originally, this embroidery was going to be a brooch for clothing, but during the assembly process I decided to avoid placing the pin, and make it into a protection to carry in the bag, suitcase, or to place on your altar (if you have one).

lotus.png

Hamsa_Rosa_Tesmoforia_2.png

"It seems marvelous to me how the perspective and colors of my pink Hamsa change depending on the background. Here, I used two different jean fabric backgrounds." - Photos by @Tesmoforia, with a Lumix/Panasonic DMC-FH2.

lotus.png

This is how the figure looks like once you had cut the felt excess off around the embroidery, leaving nothing but a 2-3 millimeters space in order to sew the thread of beads that will unify the craft between the white fake-leather back (this last line is sewn with "Brick Stitch").


« F I N I S H E D »

sun (2).png sun (1).png sun.png sun (1).png sun (2).png

Hamsa_Rosa_Terminada_By_Tesmoforia_OPTIMIZADA.png

"I DECLARE, BY THE NAME OF EVERYTHING THAT IS GOOD, PURE, PINK AND SUBTLE ON THIS UNIVERE, THAT WHOEVER HAVE THIS HAMSA WITH THEM WILL ENJOY DIVINE PROTECTION AND PERPETUAL ANGELICAL CARE." - Photos by @Vanuzza, with a Nikon D3200.

lotus.png

This powerful symbol has been following me since 2016; I had suddenly seen it in the designs on online shops clothing catalogues, I had seen it on YouTube videos, and overall it has appeared right in front of me at many places without me looking out for it (just as the silhouettes or bunnies, bees, and number 8).

That’s why, during early 2017 I dedicated myself to investigate what the "Hamsa" was about, and to my absolute surprise, it wasn’t what I was expecting it to be, it’s not a bohemian symbol or something trendy as the ´marihuana leaf´ or ´Che Guevara’s face´:

👉 The Hamsa is one of the most powerful amulets and protection symbols known in history 👈


• Some Interesting Facts •

sun (2).png sun (1).png eye.png sun (1).png sun (2).png

Hamsa_Rosada_Ayudante_Minino_Tesmoforia.png

"Mr. Kitty came closer curiously while I was taking pictures of the materials, and just as any good kitten, she laid down in the workspace. I love her." - Photo by @Tesmoforia, with a Lumix/Panasonic DMC-FH2.

lotus.png

This figure dates right from the time of Babylon (2000 and 500 BCE), appears on the "Ishtar Gate" (constructed on 575 BCE), and there has been records of this symbol on the Proto-Semitic Language, as the name "Hamsa" comes from a derivation of the Hebrew letter "Shin".

A fact that I like a lot! It was also exported to Europe, mutated, and adopted by the monarchy of the time in all its heraldry, its shields, flags and monuments, hidden in the Fleur de Lis.

• • •

• "Hamsa Stops Evil" is the first premise of this amulet •

• • •

"Loyalty and Trust" are some of its meanings; many qualities are associated with it:

sun (2).png sun (1).png sun (2).png

• Protects against the evil eye.• It's credited with healing powers.
• Hamsa calls for Patience and Wisdom.• Keeps all the people who doesn’t mean to bring us good away
• Protects against envy and bad wishes.• Protects from disease, earthquakes and floods.
• Protects home and family from calamity and disasters.• It avoids bad spirits and negative energies from getting inside home.

sun (2).png sun (1).png sun (2).png

I find this symbol imposing and complete, a hand with fingers joined in a stop act (like the hand of "Christ of the Mercy"?), with an eye in the middle where light comes out, which is circled by many tribal figures that seem to transmute anything that hits against it...

AND BY THE WAY: Until just a couple of years, I was completely oblivious of the "protection" topics, even when I have received a lot of those, gifted by family and close friends.

Today, all of them -excluding only 2- are broken, rusted, darkened or damaged. I always felt sad when "that pretty bracelet" or "that stunning pendant" gifted to me with so much love, wouldn’t last more than a month of usage... I even started thinking I would had "bad luck for accessories", but then one of my best friends explained to me what those were, why people were gifting so many to me, and why those would "break".

Needless to say, my perspective on many things and people changed since then.


tumblr_pbzcbcLIxh1x4w1eoo1_250.gif

"Me, completely proud and happy"

• • •

I’m so happy of FINALLY POSTING THIS PROJECT.

I have two weeks with a trembling eyebrow of pure expectative, since there are very few things I have made and I 100% like them, I’m my worst critic and I'm badly used to everything going well on the first try (so when this does not happen, I get half satanic).

I love my precious Hamsa, YOU CAN FEEL THE PAWAH BABY!, though it’s already with its new owner now :3c


Tesmoforia_2018_Colores.gif

Thank you so much for Reading!

✨ 🍓 ✨ Happy, soft and creative day to all ✨ 🍓 ✨

✨ 🍃 ✨

🍓 Text and All Images’ Credit: @Tesmoforia 🍓
🚨 Please don’t take, edit or repost my content without my permission! 🚨
💌 Would you like to contact me? - [email protected] 💌
🍓 Translation by: @Vanuzza 🍓
✨ Separators: FlatIcon.com ~ • Gif´s: Giphy.com ~

All Rights Reserved / © T E S M O F O R I A - 2018

Sort:  

¡Hola @tesmoforia! Es un trabajo precioso no se si sera, relajante. ¿Cuantos dias tardastes en hacerlo? es un gran amuleto para protegernos de las mala vibras, gracias por conpartir toda esa información de "Hamsa". Cuentame ¿Como te sentistes con tu voto curie? ¿Has tenido otro voto curie? Que lo disfrutes, cariños y besos.

La verdad si fue relajante @celinavisaez, esta técnica no pide usar fuerza en las manos así que todo fluye suavemente (el stress viene en escoger cómo y dónde ubicar tanta pepita jajaja, allí si te pones como Vegeta a discutir con el fieltro).

Para mi es un inmenso placer compartir esta clase de información, porque forma parte de mi día a día, me llena el corazón, me ayuda a crecer, y en el camino me ayuda a conocer y conectar con almas afines 🎐
👌

✨ Y YO ME SIENTO EN LAS NUBES BABY, I MEAN, UN VOTO DE CURIE ES COMO LA MEJOR PALMADITA EN LA ESPALDA, como un "sigue asi gurl, lo estas haciendo bien" ~ ✨

Este es mi 4to voto de Curie y todavía me hace llorar de emoción, saltar y bailar como la primera vez (empecé en Steemit en Febrero de 2018, y aquí he tenido una recepción increíble, nunca recibí tanto cariño en otras redes sociales como me ha sucedido aquí).

💕 🌹 Muchas gracias por el halago, y un super abrazo para ti tambien (soy de Zulia por cierto!) 🌹 💕

tumblr_ormc77jtI11w8sgt6o2_400.gif

¡Hola amiguita @tesmoforia ! Disculpa que no te respondiera, me toco cuidar el nieto de dos añitos y no me deja sentar en la computadora, es muy travieso. Me alegra tus votos Curie, te lo mereces, por tu trabajo de calidad, los trabajos de manualidad son bastante relajante, a mí me gusta tejer a crochet, cuídate, que sigas cosechando mucho éxito, cariños y besos.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

✨ 🌻 💛 Thank you so much my dears! 💛 🌻 ✨

Amazing piece of embroidery, @tesmoforia ! I love the details and the step by step so much <3 I hope it will definitely keep you away from evil <3 <3 <3

Congratulations on curie, as well :D

I think what I precisely love the most about the post is that part, the “step by step” summary, I needed to find the way to show that while still looking dynamic and in one single package, like PEW PEW PEW, but without cutting anything pretty o3o)9 💖

I’m really happy seeing you here and knowing that you liked it, I’m full of motivation to continue creating pieces such as this one (OH MY GOD, YES, I DON’T KNOW WHAT IS CURIE SENPAI HERE BUT IT MAKES ME REALLY HAPPY, I wasn’t expecting it at all, I’m surprised! 🎆 -and very thankful- 🎆)

This is such a beautiful piece of embroidery. I think you made a right decision when you didn't attach a pin to it. It looks stunning on those different background. My favorite is the blue one in the middle. The colors pop up so nicely there.

I love your step by step photos. You included so many of them :) And the design is top! It's impressive that you didn't use anything to make it. You are very creative and you have great imagination. I can imagine that it takes a lot of time to create such pattern that is full of harmony and love.

40$ sounds like a lot but if you sum up the cost of your material, time and work that you invested I don't think it's valued very well. In Switzerland just the material would cost more than this but you couldn't send it for much more as people wouldn't purchase it. I find that art is still undervalued and that such gems like yours should be priced much higher! :)

Thank you for sharing your beautiful piece of work!

Hello @delishtreats! Omg, thank you so much for the compliments and for giving me your opinion, my heart is soft and happy from reading you 🌷 🌷 🌷

I love knowing you like the step by step, because I’m just experimenting with more comfortable and practical ways to present the process for these small projects without reducing their beauty or details, but that would correctly adapt to Steemit’s layout 👍✨

The design was completely improvised, but done with a lot of patience and tons of love, I needed this Hamsa to end nicely since my heart had been asking me to make it for weeks, and that’s why I gave it its respective time (I spent 4 days to finish it).

Hey! You are giving me some really important facts totally unknown to me: Frankly, I don’t really know how to place the right price for my work, so I try to guide myself with the prices of some other artisans who make similar crafts (I’m scared of placing a price that is too high, or too small) 💦

Thank you very much for leaving me this wonderful comment (I BLUSHED AND ALL), fills me with motivation to move forward! 💖 🙏

I like that you are following your heart. This is the most important :) And it's also visible in your work.

You need to place yourself in the market where you live. I don't know where you are based but 40 dollars might be a huge amount in your country. Which is fine and you can then ask for it (or even lower if it's really too much there). You should make sure that you cover your expenses and don't forget to include your time. I understand that you love what you do but if you wouldn't be doing this you could have done something different that would bring money too so you need to make sure that the time you spend on you embroideries is not for 'free' :) I was working in finance for many years, lol :D

It's been my pleasure :) Thank you for this adorable gif ;)

Wow, it sounds great that you worked with finances @delishtreats, I would’ve never imagined!

Currently, I live in Venezuela, 40$ was a lot of money some months ago, however, due the constant devaluation, it isn’t today.

People don’t normally buy this kind of articles here, most can become really stingy when calculating the artisanal work hahaha (nobody would give me even $10 for this Hamsa), that’s why I seek potential customers at other countries.

And all you say is really true, and I think that yes, indeed I shall consider if I will continue spending my time or not into create those things ; v ; since I don’t produce money with them, I would really like to sell them but I don’t leave in a place with enough market for that (maybe when I trek things will change)

I send you hugs, and I hope your weekend is marvelous 💕

@tesmoforia, that was beautiful. I like embroidery and beading. But i never think of combined both together. I love it so much. Your eye sight must be very heavy when you do this. Could see from the photo that some of the beads were small, you need have a good eye sights to get the beads in place. Hands with eye, what a good combination. and I always believe hand can do wonders and has superpower. All our power and vibrations were come from our hand.

"This is my religion: There is no need for temples; no need for complicated philosophy. Our own brain, our own heart is our temple; the philosophy is kindness."

This is my believe as well. As long as our heart do good, think good. It always is our temple. Thank you very much for your detail sharing.

Do you have any embroidery which shared in steemit as well?

🌺 Hi @oliviackl! I’m super happy reading you, and knowing my humble first try of bead embroidery seems beautiful to you 🌺

And yes, you are totally right, if you don't have a good ambient light, due the size of the beads, your eye should be very sharp and your sight will get very tired, but when I work those things I go out to the garden during the late afternoon whenever there's a nice daylight, that may not be too strong (I usually install a small camping table), and that helps me, I also have a powerful lamp that I turn on when I want to embroider at night, that way my eyes don't intend to focus so hardly 🌙 💜

I'm pleasantly surprised that you wrote a quote that I like to repeat a lot, the one that talks about the power of our hands and how we transmit it to what we make 🌟 🔮 ✨

And yes! I have other embroidery records on my blog here at Steemit, but of Cross-Stitch embroidery, from several months ago. For those, I followed patterns that I found at Pinterest and adapted them (/ouo)/ ~

Cross Stitch A - Cross Stitch B - Cross Stitch C

Hi tesmoforia, I need to give you a "High Five" hahhaha.. I love cross stitch. I have a lot of cross stitch sets bought online and quietly waiting for me start the project. The difference would be i didn't design the cross stitch, I bought the whole set included designed as well Hehehehe.. I am your admirer now, you design it yourself, wow.. You need a specific software to do it? I now try to complete a large scale cross stitch 140x52 11ct cross stitch. Hope I able to finish it.
I love all the craft which require strong eye sigh.. and now I have long sighted. When I tried to do cross stitch, I need lights and of course with glasses. :P Now i also into chinese knott hahaha..All also need strong eyesight.

I do believe hand very powerful, it make everything impossible to possible.

🎉 HIGH FIVE! 🎉

At one point, we all gather tons of Cross-Stitch patterns saved and waiting for us to try them 🐞 👌

And no, I don’t design them myself, at least not in a computer if that’s what you mean. I just change some elements from different patterns I have found at Pinterest and I calculate everything by hand, marking the spaces on the fabric 💡

A 140x52 size is very big! Cheers and good wishes for you to finish it successfully! 👏 💚 🍀 ✨

Yes very big.. bet need 1 year to complete it.. but i love the sense of satisfaction and achivement when saw the final result 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi tesmoforia,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

This is completely unexpected (I’m super surprised!), I would have never expected that Curie Senpai would like this post OAO 🏆 ✨ 💦

💕 Thank you so much for taking me in consideration and for your super awesome support! 💕

(>uvu)> I wish the Universe will multiply all the good you do for the creators and entrepreneurs from this Internet oasis ~ 👌 👌 👌

[Still dancing, celebrating her new Curie]

That is really beautiful handcraft. I love everything handmade, myself I am knitting and crochet but always impressed with embroidery. Love your pattern, All-seeing eye is one of the symbol that you can see in my different ancient nations and it is really something impressive. You work is done with a lot of love to details and the color choice is done very well, love that background color too it matches to the pattern of eye. Beautiful handcraft!

I feel truly excited reading you @stef1, thank you so much for your gentle words; it’s great to know that you aren’t just a painter and illustrator, but also you know how to knit and crochet! You have a lot of muses in your spirit, how wonderful 🌠 🌠 🌠

I really like to know you are familiarized with this kind of crafts and that you also know the symbol. I’m very happy to know you liked the pattern, I just followed my instincts and waited for the best outcome, doing it as you say: 🎀 with a lot of love 🎀

💐 Tons of Hugs! 💐

I think I need to create my own Hamsa as soon as possible. I need wisdom and all the good vibes it brings! 😄

This is my first time knowing about Hamsa and with your embroidery work, it even sounds more appealing to me. You did great combination of the beads. I love the pink aura dominating it with the bright blue contrast of the eye. And I did not realize it is a small one which is very cute until I saw the photo with it in your hand. With that size, it can be pinned anywhere - used as brotch, accent on bags, etc. Really nice! Thanks for sharing it here. 😊

Hello @macoolette!, it’s wonderful that this post has allowed you to know about the Hamsa symbol, take it as signal of the universe that maybe you need it as an amulet at this point in your life ~ 🔮 ✨

I’m so happy to know you liked this piece’s aura and color contrast; and you are completely right, the size was intended for it to be used as a brooch on jean jackets or our bags 💕 🎒 👗 👌

I bookmarked your post so I can come back to it for reference when I get the time to make my Hamsa hand. Hopefully soon... 😊

What a lovely post! I admire the way you have it arranged. Your beadwork is beautifully done. I have beading directly onto leather, and I love working with beads. Your color choices are wonderful!

Thank you so much for your gentle words @melinda010100, I’m so happy I tried this technique; I didn’t expect it to end so pretty 🌈

🌠 Wow, you embroider directly on leather, that’s awesome! 030 🌠

My hands do not work well enough these days to be able to do this sort of thing anymore. But here's one I made years ago. image

🌹 🌟 THAT'S WONDERFUL! 🌟 🌹

I want to learn how to do that!

Great job Melinda (o7o)/ 💕 💕 💕

Oh wow @tesmoforia! This is really beautiful! And I can imagine how much eye and mental energy has been poured into this brooch. I love the beads and colour combination. The pink is really sweet and the eye is very catchy. Thank you so much for sharing with us the process and the the information about the brooch. I love how you presented your post, the photos and everything and I love the happy pink birdie you :) And thank you for sharing with us some tips too on the stitching tension.

Do you know #needleworkmonday? It's a community of people who love needleworks - knitting, crocheting, sewing, cross stitch... every craft where a needle is involved is welcome. Each monday we show each other (and the world) what we are working on, what we plan to do or what project just has been finished. You can see all the posts at our community account @needleworkmonday :)

We share our love and passion for the needle arts and value comments and advice. With people from all over the world involved there is a vast pool of knowledge to be shared. Why don't you take a look when it's #needleworkmonday again and join in the fun with your beautiful projects?

Hello @marblely!, thanks to you for giving me such a pretty and sweet comment, I’m so happy to know you liked both the Hamsa as how the process was presented. It means a lot to me 💖

And no, I didn’t know about the #needleworkmonday tag neither its initiative, OMG I will follow it right away! 💎 ✨

It’s fantastic to know artists of needle and strings are organized under a same tag and dynamics, that’s so great! I will start using the tag and saving my posts of this kind of work for each Monday from now on, I’m really excited 🌟 👏 🎨

💐 Thank you very much for this valuable information! 💐

Yay! Yes yes, please join us every Monday :) It is really fun for us to see each other's work.
And if you would like to share your needlework on other days, just use tag #needlework :)
See you soon! :) <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62