Sunday Prayer

in #poetry6 years ago

tanja-heffner-300859.jpg
Image Credit

My religion is a weighted blanket by a roaring fire
if not the sun pulling tears from my skin.
I believe in the power of destruction; I shred
muscle fiber to gain strength, I burn paper
full of truths I no longer need,
ashes and ink anoint my rebirth.

Sunday let me worship from my couch
channel belief through fingertips,
unlock wounds with plastic keys and light
pressure so as not to bleed out too much
as others have, making the mistake of leaning
into histories of women without teeth,

of pasts without presents.

And so my prayer beseeches the goddess
of cushions and covers, body heat and flame
that she might comfort me when I feel,
render me whole when I break
sewing titanium into my fractures,
hiding weapons inside my smile.

Recent Posts

Don't forget, best comment on this account or @nat5an each week gets 5SBD reward.

Steemit Bloggers
Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

wow this is simply beautiful, remains me of maiden, mother and crone, of the great circle of life. Thank you for sharing this xx

Thank you. I'm feeling a bit of exhaustion plus magic today.

Love this! The whole poem, so much wisdom and beauty. But the first line gets me. Comfort. Retreat. Yes!

Thank you. Sigh. Comfort.

That was extraordinary. I appreciate your talent about poetry. I love this one so much. Thanks for your sharing.

Thank you so much!

The emotions interwoven in this piece
Spreads like epidemic but it's peace
What wounds of a woman can't be healed
By the soothing balm of prayer
Sent like incense in the morning
Like dimmed sun rays in the even

Firing up your bones like bombs in the east
Sending whispers of hope
Echoes of faith
And dissolves perplexity in the midst of hate
Sending love in chords of snow
Cold but warm in coals of smiles

This is beautiful ma'am, i guess its a trademark now for you.
But i'd love to ask, your writings, are they about you or how you feel??
Whats your style, whats your drive?
Whats your MOTIVATION ma'am?

This poetry is stunning. @shawnamawna.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85